We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really Good Pizza”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of New York Pizza Pub

New York Pizza Pub
Ranked #18 of 81 Restaurants in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Pub, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Virginia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Really Good Pizza”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We have eaten at the New York Pizza Pub on a number of our visits to the Nags Head area. The pizza has always been good, and it was good on this trip. However, two members of our party chose a meal other than pizza and neither of them was impressed. Therefore, my advice is to go for the pizza. If you are looking for something other than pizza go somewhere else.

The service was okay - about what you would expect in a pizza restaurant.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank BankerLady123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    114
    34
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pizza and Jazz”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Pizza was some of the best I have had in a long time, the crust was perfect and the topping were very fresh. We had a new waitress who was obviously well trained as she was flawless in her service.
The Jazz musician was awesome, could have listened to him all night long.
If you are in the mood for pizza, it comes highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peterlauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Neither Especially Good Nor Especially Bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We went for the pizza but ending up ordering spaghetti. It wasn't especially good or bad and the sauce was not especially tasty or flavorful. Service was adequate but our enjoyment was lessened by the loudmouthed table of 12 half way across the room who were celebrating some sort of occasion as loudly as they could while watching a hockey match and eating . I understand that there wasn't much that management could do but until they paid their bill and left, their cheering and yelling did not make for a pleasant meal.

In all fairness I will state that we intend to return the next time we are in the area to sample the pizza and see what the atmosphere is usually like before scratching this place off of our list.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best pizza on the Outer Banks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

My family ordered from here our first night on the Outer Banks. True New York style pizza with big flavor. We have tried several pizza joints on the Outer Banks and none come close to this place. In fact, I would put it in the top five pizza places I have ever tried, anywhere.

Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitty Hawk, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“As good as the pizza gets here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is one of only two places down here that has good pizza, Slice being the other. perhaps the fact that the owners are from New York helps. Can't speak to the rest of the menus as we are always carry out pizza customers. Friendly, competent staff!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank racerman50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New York Pizza Pub also viewed

Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Been to New York Pizza Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing