We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Pizza Was Good; The Service Not So Much”
Review of Stone Oven Pizza

Stone Oven Pizza
Ranked #72 of 83 Restaurants in Nags Head
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Pizza Was Good; The Service Not So Much”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The Stone Oven used to be in Tanger's Mall and was pizza headquarters for us. This was our first visit since they moved and I doubt if there will be another one. The pizza was good, thin crust completely done, with fresh tasting ingredients and a very tasty sauce. The view and location looking out onto the Sound was awesome. The service, however, was some of the most neglectful we had on our trip.

We visited on a Saturday afternoon and the place was almost deserted. There were 2 older teen females behind the cash register intently focused on their phones. We seated ourselves, that was o.k. with us, but then it took quite awhile before one of them came to take our order. After our meal was finally served and I had paid the bill and started towards the door, I had to stop and convince our waitress that, yes, we had already paid in cash and no, she did not give us a receipt. In short, go for the pizza but be prepared to endure the lack of service. Enjoy it but you won't be seeing us there again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    18
    14
    11
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilson, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Went to Stone Oven Pizza in Nags Head, NC last night. Got a Pizza Supreme. Was so good, (great thin crust) I went back tonight. Very good pizza and good friendly service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dont get delivery from here!”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We got pizza delivery from here while on vacation and it was terrible. Worse than frozen boxed pizza. The sauce on the pizza had no taste.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SandTrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Conway, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Yuck”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I just don't get the positive reviews unless they are relatives pf the owners or they really, really love crappy food. Realize that it is the Outer Banks off-season, but this was pretty bad even for a not-particularly-fussy diner. The place was empty save for the two children running through the dining room and a surly, disinterested teen sitting at the bar busy with her cell phone. "Are you closed?" I asked. She thought they were open. All I wanted was a take out menu, which I brought back to the car for hubby to peruse. He decided that a Greek salad would be ok, and went in to order it. Unfortunately the adult who eventually came out of the kitchen told him there was no Greek dressing because he "was having trouble getting it". Yeah, I see how such an exotic condiment could be a problem being so scarce. Anyway, after the teenager and younger kid fought over the cash register we went back to the hotel to relax and eat. Pretty crappy, limp lettuce, too many onions, mushy tomatoes. Glad we saved pizza for another night. Avoid this place.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayakgirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wish We Could Rate this Zero”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

We were tired and starving but we couldn't finish our food. The calzone dough tasted sour as if the dough may have gone bad and the interior was raw. It was also unbelievably salty and covered in nasty parmesan ( like the cannef kind.) My husband's sub was on bread with texture of a hot dog bun and some of the meatstill had the plastic from the wrapper on it.
The wings wete fine. We wasted our money.

Helpful?
Thank Laura_L224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stone Oven Pizza also viewed

Nags Head, Outer Banks
 
Nags Head, Outer Banks
Nags Head, Outer Banks
 
Nags Head, Outer Banks
 

Been to Stone Oven Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing