We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fin 'N Feather Waterside Inn
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront(Nags Head)(Great Value!)
US$283
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$229
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
RodewayInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colonial Inn(Nags Head)
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$345
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$320
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
First Colony Inn(Nags Head)
US$404
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surf Side Hotel(Nags Head)(Great Value!)
US$284
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn(Kill Devil Hills)
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$292
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$267
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn On The Ocean(Kill Devil Hills)
US$287
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$239
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
15
15
15
8
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
15
15
8
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroad noisequeen roomcoffee makerroanoke islandone night staycomfortable bedkitchenettesinksoundpetdispenserprosconsbeddingshampoo
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2017

Booked one week in advance through Expedia for a standard queen room at a rate of $89 (plus additional $20 in taxes). Primary criteria for us was pet-friendly and nice water location. I think 3 things are critical to "overnight" property stays - Location, Sleep, and Shower.

LOCATION: 5/5. Right off the road and on the water with some picnic benches and fenced off ground where pets can do their business (and provided bags to clean-up).

GOOD SLEEP: 4/5 Reasonably comfortable bed/ bedding and quiet (although we did not use the old-school wall mounted AC unit, which are often loud).

SHOWER: 4/5 Hot with good water pressure. A little small and real basic toiletries.

Other Comments:
- Just as they advertise, there is no one there. A day before our arrival we received a key code for our door, and it worked just fine. Yep, just as the pictures show, the rooms are accessible outside by the parking lot. Rooms are beach basic but clean. Our bathroom was very small but functional. There was a fridge and microwave, flat screen TV, ceiling fan....and Keurig coffee pods BUT no Keurig coffee machine (doh!).

Overall, it was cute, worked great, and exactly as advertised. Would I want to spend a week long vacation here, no, but for a weekend or one night stay, this is a great bargain and simple.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank usflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

There’s no on site management & when you call the # you get a nice person that says they’ll help but they do nothing. The room is full of mold & mildew I’ve been sick for days. We couldn’t find another place to rent everything was booked solid & we had our dog so I basically stayed at the beach & pier for 2 days & only showered there. Even housekeeping was aware of the problem & said the rooms updates had been approved to fix the mold issues it was awful!! I have asthma, nobody should stay in this place is dangerous for your health!! They said they’d compensate but told booking.com nothing of the sort. I’m stuck paying for this dump!!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Yvonne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

I was a guest at this property for one night as I had business in the Outer Banks, and was very surprised by many things. First, there was no "front desk". When ready to "check in", you call a # and they send you a six digit code to get access to your room. The exterior paint was old and weathered, the concession area was "out of order" and the room meant for two people had only two medium size towels, two wash cloths, two hand towels and a bath mat. Shower water pressure was OK and the room appeared to be clean. On the plus side, there was a nice mini-fridge, flat screen TV with cable and free wi-fi. If you drink coffee, there was a Keurig in the room with six cartridges. I was allowed early check-in at 3:00pm (regularly 4:00pm) , but was greatly disappointed that they wouldn't budge on their 10am check-out time...even though my vehicle was the only one in their small parking lot. Additionally, as a female traveling alone, the motel room door opened to the street and there was no deadbolt or other protection in place from "inside" the room...therefore anyone with the code would have had easy access. Not good.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

We have now stayed here several times and overall it's been a good experience.
The Pros:
Keypad entry that you receive in advance
A dock and sitting area on the water in the back
Location
Clean rooms
Competitively priced in comparison to anywhere else in OBX
Refrigerator

Cons:
Front desk help is limited
Housekeeping is limited
If you don't crate your dogs in the room they can get the handle of the room to open
All rooms of similar bed are not equal - as in this past time we had a large bathroom and the last time the room we stayed in the bathroom was a box.
It's truly a little beach motel that's great for the price and pet friendly. If you are looking for a ton of amenities and a concierge this is not the place for you.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank wlc297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

This property has been adequately reviewed about the pros and cons. It is a bare bones place to stay . . .ours was the smallest unit and actually had no place to hang anything. It did have a refrigerator, microwave and Kuerig and a nice view of the marsh. We booked at the last minute and on the booking sites I check there was very little to choose from. It was adequate because all we did was sleep there. However, it wasn't exactly a bargain and I would look harder next time!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank fiver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews