We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mom and daughter weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sea Foam Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nags Head
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sea Foam Motel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Edenton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mom and daughter weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

My husband and I stay here every time we go to Nags Head. So easy choice when me and my daughter wanted to go to the beach. Loved being on the beach. Jennettes Pier was wonderful. Air conditioner was cold, cold, cold!! Ice machine is awesome. Loved the beach gazebo. The people staying that weekend were so freindly. Found out some were neighbors! Close to Sam and Ommie's. Great Breakfast!! Tanger Outlet Mall just down the street on the by-pass. Didn't go swimming, but the pool looked nice. The staff was very nice. We asked for cards and a blow dryer and received both with a smile. My daughter and I decided we are going to do this every year at the Sea Foam! Had a blast. Price was great!

Room Tip: beachfront first floor......the best. Walk out onto the sand, keep the door open and you can hear t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    89
    16
    18
    19
See reviews for
88
67
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

My family wanted a quick 3 night stay on the ocean for a good price. This place was built in the 1940's ad does not seek to compete with luxurious, modern accommodations except on the concept of location. With that in mind, we couldn't have asked for more. The location is incredible. Within walking distance is Jenette's Pier, plenty of restaurants, ice cream shops, and beach supply stores and even a small tackle supply/grocery store. Because of the closeness to the beach, our children could walk back to the room quickly to get a snack or forgotten items. I have been coming to Nags Head for my enter life and have just now found out about this gem. If you are looking for something more modern and a similar location, plan on spending twice as much or more. If you want a clean room, AC, a pleasant staff, and an ocean front room for an unbelievable price, check this place out.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xbriankramerx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morrisville, NC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

This was my favorite hotel on the Outer Banks but on my two last visits, my experience was much less positive than previously. The property does not appear to be maintained as it should be and it is getting really iffy. The bathrooms and room furniture are very tired and many outside areas could use a coat of paint. In addition, we have had the same problem on the two last visits with noisy neighbors (soundproofing of rooms has always been poor at that motel). Talking to the neighbors did not help and since the office appeared to be closed at night, we had no recourse against that. I hope that management will bring back that property to the level of quality that we can again enjoy. Until then, we'll pass.

Room Tip: If you book a room on the first floor, a dune will block your view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank go27560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manns Harbor, North Carolina
Level Contributor
108 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

This is a cool, but old school motel. Our room was on the first floor, pool side and quite affordable to be "on" the beach in August. The mattress was new and very comfortable. The room was clean although this IS right at the beach and it IS very old, so do not be surprised if it smells musty. I stayed in this motel in the late 1970's. It's layout is still the same. It is right on the beach, so even the pool side rooms are just seconds from standing at the edge of the ocean.

If you are bothered by a bit of peeling paint and a few musty odors, this is not your place. If you want a more authentic Old Nags Head experience, give the Sea Foam a go!

Room Tip: Second floor ocean front have the best view but all rooms are seconds from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopewell, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

great place,good service,very clean only thing that could of used upgrade was the beds,little too soft,and kinda short for 6 feet or taller adult.had nice clean pool,shuffleboard and cornhole games ,fish cleaning station o
and two ice machines

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

Like stepping back in time. Loved the staff and other travelers. Not a slick modern chain hotel, but a unique treasure. Highly recommend. Oceanfront room was wonderful and we enjoyed our stay. Great location to stores and restaurants too.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PR M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coldwater, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

We first stayed here in 1988. Have stayed here since 2000 for a week in July. We don't stay for a luxury room or a Ritz type atmosphere. We stay for the Beach, and the Pool and just to enjoy the OBX experience. I could go into a list of small complaints, but they are minor compared to the enjoyment we get from the location. Our families biggest complaint is they could update the TV's for evening viewing. Not many huge changes since '88 but this is a National Historic Landmark. When a issue has come up, it was taken care of promptly. It is was it is, a basic room with a great location and an awesome Beach, and clean pool.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DTK57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
0.5 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
#13 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
3.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
9.3 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#8 of 13 in Nags Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Foam Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Foam Motel

Property: Sea Foam Motel
Address: 7111 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9127
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 51
Also Known As:
Sea Foam Hotel Nags Head
Sea Foam Nags Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing