We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our OBX Home”
Review of Colonial Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Colonial Inn
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Colonial Inn Motel is one of my favorite spots in all of OBX! I have stayed at a number of motels up and down the Outer Banks of NC, and Colonial Inn Motel is by far my favorite. The staff is courteous and friendly, the kind of folks you would enjoy chatting with at a family BBQ. These are genuine, hard working people who go out of the their way to make sure your stay is enjoyable. My wife and I got engaged over Memorial weekend 2011 while staying here and a lot of our wedding guests stayed at Colonial Inn Motel with us before and after our May 2012 beach wedding just down the road. We consider Kerri, the proprietor, a good friend.

For those who might complain about a bug in the shower or a fly in your room, guess what? You're at the beach and that's simply part of the experience. That said, the rooms at Colonial Inn Motel are clean and smoke free, a big plus for non-smokers. Keep in mind that this place is 65 years old and carries that charm, so the parking spots and the showers are a little tight fitting for trucks and butts. Both fit just fine regardless! The pool is refreshing and they even offer up two gas grills. This year they served popcorn for the Fourth of July fireworks, which take place right off the Nags Head Pier 100 yds off the beach and right next to your room. They also had a poolside hotdog cookout during the day on the 4th that was a lot of fun. The continental breakfast of pastries, coffee and juice is another nice option. Plenty of brochures of things to do are also available at the front desk.

The location is great! The beaches are wider in Nags Head, with less people than Kill Devil Hills, Kitty Hawk, Duck and Corolla. There are plenty of great restaurants within 5-10 minutes drive and the Nags Head Pier Restaurant is right next door with great food at a reasonable price.

A big plus for us is the Dog Friendly part, having two very friendly large labs. Just make sure YOUR dogs are good around ALL other dogs, because you will encounter people with pets here and they will have the opportunity to interact. We like to take our pups to the beach early in the morning and then late in the evening. Beach Patrol generally enforces leash laws between 10 am and 6 pm, but be smart and put your pooch on-leash if you see the headlights driving on the beach in your direction.

The rates are fair, the service is great and the people treat you and your pets like family. My family give Colonial Inn Motel 6 thumbs and 4 paws up!

Room Tip: Room 1 is a nice apartment style place with two separate bedrooms. Room 30 has the best view of the...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ted D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colonialinnmotel, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2012

We are so grateful that you guys took the time to make a comment for us. We couldn't be happier for you guys and congratulate you again on your marriage! You and your family are very much a part of ours and we hope you come for every anniversary so we can share in the wonderful love your family has for one another. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
There are newer reviews for Colonial Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2012

Went there for a wedding this past spring and had an absolute blast. The rooms were real clean. Plenty of parking. Internet access had no issues. The staff were super nice and always had a smile. Restaurants, bars and general shopping all within walking distance. Heck, the fishing pier is right there too. And for being a beach front place you can't pass it up. Definitely a choice place to stay when visiting OBX.

Room Tip: Definitely get the 2nd floor ocean facing rooms. They are all beach level and provide a great view.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

We so enjoyed having you here and hope you will bring your entire family next time and have some more fun with us! Thank you so much for your kind words and we are very happy that you enjoyed your trip. We look forward to seeing you again very soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We had a blast loved the rooms and the service and people were great!! We will deffinatly go back no questions asked!!!

Katie n.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherineneuberth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colonialinnmotel, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2012

Thank you so much! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

My husband and I have been going to the Colonial Inn for about 12 yrs now and in the 12 yrs we make several trips from a long weekend to a 3 week stay. I would like to give my thoughts of how we feel and hope that it will help you make your trip to Nags Head a trip to remember.
The Motel: The Motel was built in 1947. At that time when it was built the Outer Banks had no idea that it would become a vacation spot that it is today. It's very laid back, you meet people that become a great friends from all over the east coast. The Colonial Inn is well known in Nags Head. Even though She is old (65 yrs) She has an New Owner (Monte and yes we have meet him) that understands what she needs for the 21st century. This past winter he started his renovation. He started with thing that need more attention and I have been told this coming winter he will finish the rest. Rooms:The room are very clean for a motel built yrs ago and has been updated with Hairdryers,coffeemakers, microwaves,
refrigerator, the rooms with kitchens have all your BASIC needs. New TV's in each room ( in the apartments for large family's they have multiple TV's ) new carpet, nice landscaping in the parking lot. The pool area is wonderful. Plenty of space for you and if you want to have a cookout by the pool they have 2 gas grills.
Parking: 2 downsides about the parking. 1. The parking area was made for 1940's and 50's vehicles and not for the large vehicles we drive today so the parking is VERY tight on the WEEKENDS. 2. They do have a over flow parking lot a 1/2 mile up the road and you have to have your own transportation to get back to the motel. Colonial Inn has 38 rooms and 38 parking spaces.
Maid Service: The maids try really hard to make your stay wonderful. They service your room everyday. The most important thing I want to say about Pinky,Anna and Martina is if you have something in your room of value you have NOTHING to worry about. You have that piece of mind when you leave your room for them to clean.
Oceanfront: They have 6 oceanfront rooms which you can see the ocean if you stand up. They have a very large Dune in front of the ocean to protect the motel from servere weather. You do have a VERY nice walk way to the beach.
Restaurants: You have 2 in walking distance. Lucky 12
( Great Pizza) and then you have the Pier House Restaurant next door which has great food.
In closing I hope this review will help you when your looking for a place to stay. Just remember if you are looking for a 5 star place to stay then this is not the place. However if your looking for a place to kick your feet up and hang out with the average middle glass then you will love the Colonial Inn, Because the way I see it you go on vacation to have fun, enjoy the beach, go shopping and enjoy the great seafood. Not to seat in a room all day. One more thing If you have a problem feel free to speak with Office Manager Kerri and I bet you will be impressed how quick she tries to address it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

In reading your comments we just wanted to say "WOW", thank you! These are the kindest words and we hope you know that you are family, as all our guests are, and we can't wait for you guys to come back down "home" again. It was very touching to read what you wrote and all of us very much enjoyed these words. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

While I have stayed worse places, this ranks up there as one of them. Our
room/ apartment felt dirty, to the point I did not want to sit on the
furniture without a towel underneath. Our room was right off the pool,
which worked for us since we have two small children. However, this was
also where all the smokers congregated. So everytime we walked out of our
room, we walked into a cloud of smoke. The price was exorbitantly high for
the quality. They offered a continental breakfast, which basically
consisted of store bought mini-muffins, coffee, fruit and juice (which the
machine was broken). As I was getting coffee in the "office," very small
space, I overheard the person working the desk on the phone talking with
someone about needing them to come out that day because they had bombed two
rooms twice and still could not get rid of the fleas. I would pass, unless
you don't mind paying a lot of money for poor accommodations.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Butterflies_1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 July 2012

I must apologize that your stay was not what you had hoped it would be. I only wish you would have come to us about the amount of smokers outside you room and I would have taken care of that for you. Also I do want to clarify that we do offer more than just muffins on our continental breakfast, however it is a continental breakfast. Unfortuneately at this time we are unable to make a breakfast with anything such as eggs or bacon. We strive to make sure that every room is cleaned to a high standard here, again I wish that you had expressed your issue to me while you were here so we could have rectified that for you. I can only ask that you give us another chance in the future. Thank you for your comments as we strive to be better every day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We have started an annual trip and this was our 2nd visit to the Colonial Inn. We have a great time each time we visit. Some renovations have taken place in the past year. The carpet is new and nice neutral colors. The bedspreads leave a lot to be desired, they are brown and drab looking. I come to the beach to relax not feel blah! Bright colors to brighten up my day would be better. We had 2 cars this time and because of 2 wedding parties booked on the same weekend we had to park one car in the overflow lot which is only 3/10 of a mile away. If we had any problems while we were there, they were taken care of right away! (like one of us accidentally dropping a toothbrush down the bathroom sink) The manager and staff are always great! I would recommend The Colonial to everyone!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank momtochjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 July 2012

We truly enjoyed having you all here and thank you so much for your wonderful comments! As always we strive to make everyone's stay enjoyable and want you all to feel like family. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We stayed in room 1 which is actually an apartment with 2 bedrooms and a living room. It has a small kitchen. We technically had two rooms and had two vehicles. They would only allow us to have one parking pass!!!! The "overflow" parkIng lot is 1.5 miles from the motel! Not walking distance!!!!!!! When asked about it they said it was ok because the police patrol it. But u know how that is....the police usually only tell u your vehicle has been tampered with and not preventing it. The parking lot is no where near a lot of people! It's beside a go-cart place open like 30 years ago and a small restaurant be side it. Our room had dead bugs in it!!! Gross! It also had a big hair ball in the bathroom floor! Don't stay here! Save your money and stay somewhere better! There is no deal here!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 July 2012

We apologize that your stay was not to your staisfaction, we did explain to you at the time of boking and when you came to the office that we unfortunately have one space per room for parking. Our overflow is available to everyone and is only 4/10 of a mile from us. We also offer transport to and from if requested. We also have regular pest control here and apologize again for you finding evidence of that while you were here. We hope that you will give us another chance in the future to accomidate you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
5.1 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
3.6 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#12 of 13 in Nags Head
181 reviews
4.1 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,567 reviews
1.8 mi away
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
#13 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Inn

Address: 3329 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9267
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range: £76 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonial Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonial Inn is nestled at MP 11.5 On the oceanfront right next door to the Nags Head Fishing Pier. The hotel offers many different room types to accommodate every need. We are also pet friendly! There is a seasonal outdoor pool, a private beach access, refrigerators and microwaves in every room, as well as LG flat screen TVs. We also provide free YMCA passes at request, and free WIFI for our guests. We offer discounts for AAA, AARP members and run specials throughout the year. Historical sites, gift shops, and the outlet mall are just minutes away. Jockey's Ridge State Park is half a mile south and the Wright Brother's National Memorial is less than 4 miles away. Lucky 12 Tavern is in walking distance, and Tortugas' Lie Shellfish Bar & Grill is half a mile north of the Colonial Inn!If you are looking for Old World Charm in the heart of Nags Head, the Colonial Inn is the place for you and your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Colonial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Nags Head
Colonial Motel Nags Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing