We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“On the beach, but not the nicest place to stay in Nags Head.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colonial Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Colonial Inn
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“On the beach, but not the nicest place to stay in Nags Head.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

Our first time in Nags Head we stayed here with another couple. They made the reservations and I didn't check tripadvisor, lesson learned. We stayed in one of the large rooms with two bedrooms.

This review is easiest done with a pros and cons list.

Pros:
On the beach
Nice pool area
Gas grills to use
Staff friendly
Free coffee, juice pastrys and muffins for breakfast
Pet friendly rooms
Close to the boardwalk and restaurant

Cons:
The hotel is old, built in the 40's, and it shows in old fixtures, bathrooms and beds as well as wall A/C units.
Limited parking, only 1 car per room, the lot is very small for trucks or SUVs and the overflow parking is 1/2 mile away.
Our two bedroom suite did not have A/C in the bedrooms which made it hot (note, ask the staff for fans, which they provided and helped some)
Wife saw a roach in the bathroom.
I felt it was over priced for what you get.

I won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FredtheRedFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colonialinnmotel, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
We are sorry that your stay was not what you thought it would be, Yes we are an older motel, celebrating 65 years in Nags Head. We honor that and are proud to have been here for that length of time. Also, we began renovation projects with our new owner this past spring and are continuing that this winter as well. We, as a whole, try to give each customer the best experience. The staff works hard to keep very clean rooms and to provide what you need. We do regret the dead bug in your room and apologized for that at the time of your stay. As we explained, we are sticklers for pest control here as we (as well as everyone else on OBX) sit on the sand and bugs are inevitable, but had just had our schedule treatment. We hope that you may in the future give us another chance. Thank you for giving us your comments so that we may strive to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    94
    52
    33
    32
See reviews for
122
104
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Altoona, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

From the first time I called to inquire about staying here, I was very impressed with the friendly staff. The pool was great & the beach was perfect. Our room had 2 queen beds & was just a liittle small for 3 girls, beach chairs, luggage, and all our necessities. Two days into our stay, I asked Kerry the Manager what the next largest room would be and she moved us to the Deluxe room which had the 2 queen beds, a sofa bed, and loveseat which made the rest of our stay perfect. Kerry and her staff are awesome! We would dedinitely stay there the next time we go to Nags Head.

Linda G

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colonialinnmotel, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 22 July 2012
As always we strive to make our guests stay the best possible and we had a lovely time with you guys! I am so happy that your stay was great and hope you will return to us soon, thank you so much for taking the time to comment!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penns Park, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

I have been going to the colonial in since I was about 10 I am now 46. I love the location of the hotel. The pool is always clean. The room I stay in is always 4B. It is right next to the pool. Although sometimes in the evening it does get a little loud at the pool area. There were a few bugs in my room this year in the kitchen cabinets and some mold on the cabinets that was also there last year. I can overlook that since you are at the beach and it is humid. the housekeepers are very friendly and I always like to see my friend Anna there (She is one of the original housekeepers). The only thing that bothered me this year is one of the receptionists who has been there for a few years has a bad attitude almost an I dont care attitude.She was out right rude most of the time. Never smiled. If you asked her something she made you feel awkward. I think a younger friendlier receptionist would be a nice change. It almost made me want to complain to the general manager who is very nice and who helps the housekeepers when they are short handed. All in all I had a great time.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colonialinnmotel, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 22 July 2012
Hey there! Thank you for your wonderful comment about us! I do apologize for the front desk and am evaluating that situation. I love when you and your family come to see us and we all can't wait for you to come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

staff is very friendly i booked the room as soon as i talked to them on the phone she made me feel like i would be very welcomed there. the pool area is very nice and clean has grills,tables,lounge chairs. i had a ocean front room with my mom it was her first time to nags head. the room was very clean & large. the only thing seperating you from the ocean was a sand dune & that was also nice. from inside our room you can here the waves crashing on the beach. a short flight of stairs down and you are on the most beautiful beach i have seen on the east coast and i have seen many. right next door there is a pear & restraunt that some night has live music and you can here it when you sit ouside on the porch. every night my mom & i sat ouside relaxing it was so peaceful at the hotel. quite and relaxing just what i was lookiing for. the hotel has been around for many years so the look is alittle older but the rooms are clean & i slept great. maid service very nice and always had fresh towels each day. just a fun place to saty PERFECT location also. can not wait to visit again next year!!! thanks again
ashley la salvia

Room Tip: ocean front or pool side is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ashley l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colonialinnmotel, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 22 July 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words! We so enjoyed you and your mom! We miss you guys already! Come "home" to us soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

The Colonial Inn is exactly what you would expect of a 65 year old inn on the beach. We stayed for 4 nights and had a great time. The staff was very friendly and helpful, our room was clean and attended to daily, the beach is only a few steps away and the pool is clean and not crowded. We will definitely go back and bring our dog next time! It's a perfect location to enjoy the OBX.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colonialinnmotel, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 22 July 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We can't wait for you to come back and bring the puppy too! We so enjoy our four legged guests as well as the two legged ones!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

One really has to experience the Outer Banks to appreciate the beauty of it all. If you are on a bit of a budget, the Colonial Inn is a nice place to stay. It is not a 5 star property by any means, but it is pretty nice all in all. The rooms are a bit small, but the staff is wonderful; shopping and about all you need is within walking distance. The Nags Head Fishing Pier is right next door, and the beach is withing spitting distance. It's a short drive to the Wright Brothers Memorial, and about an hour or so to the Cape Hatteras Lighthouse. If I ever get back to this area, I might have to stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the back (close to the Beach). It's quieter and a little more secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Thank you so much for writing this comment. It helps us greatly to have the good and the bad so that we know where and how to improve. We are very happy that your stay was enjoyable and hope very much that you will return to us again soon. Thank you again for being so kind!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centreville, VA
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Colonial Inn Motel is one of my favorite spots in all of OBX! I have stayed at a number of motels up and down the Outer Banks of NC, and Colonial Inn Motel is by far my favorite. The staff is courteous and friendly, the kind of folks you would enjoy chatting with at a family BBQ. These are genuine, hard working people who go out of the their way to make sure your stay is enjoyable. My wife and I got engaged over Memorial weekend 2011 while staying here and a lot of our wedding guests stayed at Colonial Inn Motel with us before and after our May 2012 beach wedding just down the road. We consider Kerri, the proprietor, a good friend.

For those who might complain about a bug in the shower or a fly in your room, guess what? You're at the beach and that's simply part of the experience. That said, the rooms at Colonial Inn Motel are clean and smoke free, a big plus for non-smokers. Keep in mind that this place is 65 years old and carries that charm, so the parking spots and the showers are a little tight fitting for trucks and butts. Both fit just fine regardless! The pool is refreshing and they even offer up two gas grills. This year they served popcorn for the Fourth of July fireworks, which take place right off the Nags Head Pier 100 yds off the beach and right next to your room. They also had a poolside hotdog cookout during the day on the 4th that was a lot of fun. The continental breakfast of pastries, coffee and juice is another nice option. Plenty of brochures of things to do are also available at the front desk.

The location is great! The beaches are wider in Nags Head, with less people than Kill Devil Hills, Kitty Hawk, Duck and Corolla. There are plenty of great restaurants within 5-10 minutes drive and the Nags Head Pier Restaurant is right next door with great food at a reasonable price.

A big plus for us is the Dog Friendly part, having two very friendly large labs. Just make sure YOUR dogs are good around ALL other dogs, because you will encounter people with pets here and they will have the opportunity to interact. We like to take our pups to the beach early in the morning and then late in the evening. Beach Patrol generally enforces leash laws between 10 am and 6 pm, but be smart and put your pooch on-leash if you see the headlights driving on the beach in your direction.

The rates are fair, the service is great and the people treat you and your pets like family. My family give Colonial Inn Motel 6 thumbs and 4 paws up!

Room Tip: Room 1 is a nice apartment style place with two separate bedrooms. Room 30 has the best view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colonialinnmotel, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 22 July 2012
We are so grateful that you guys took the time to make a comment for us. We couldn't be happier for you guys and congratulate you again on your marriage! You and your family are very much a part of ours and we hope you come for every anniversary so we can share in the wonderful love your family has for one another. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
5.1 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
4.7 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
#13 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
3.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,339 reviews
3.3 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Inn

Property: Colonial Inn
Address: 3329 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9267
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonial Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonial Inn is nestled at MP 11.5 On the oceanfront right next door to the Nags Head Fishing Pier. The hotel offers many different room types to accommodate every need. We are also pet friendly! There is a seasonal outdoor pool, a private beach access, refrigerators and microwaves in every room, as well as LG flat screen TVs. We also provide free YMCA passes at request, and free WIFI for our guests. We offer discounts for AAA, AARP members and run specials throughout the year. Historical sites, gift shops, and the outlet mall are just minutes away. Jockey's Ridge State Park is half a mile south and the Wright Brother's National Memorial is less than 4 miles away. Lucky 12 Tavern is in walking distance, and Tortugas' Lie Shellfish Bar & Grill is half a mile north of the Colonial Inn!If you are looking for Old World Charm in the heart of Nags Head, the Colonial Inn is the place for you and your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Colonial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Nags Head
Colonial Motel Nags Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing