We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced”
Review of Colonial Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Colonial Inn
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Chesapeake, VA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Stayed at the Colonial Inn for one night, Saturday, July 28 and paid $193. I rated the cleanliness poor because of stains on the bed spread and dirt on the floor of the bathroom. I gave the room an average rating because it was very, very small, had warped paneling, no exhaust fan in the bathroom, an alarm clock that didn't work, and a generally worn appearance offset by good use of the available space including a large flat screen TV, a small table and two chairs, a microwave, and a refrigerator that actually froze the bottle of water I put in it. Sleep quality was very good. We had a comfortable bed with a good air conditioner that provided just the right amount of "white noise". The location is excellent, right on the beach. Service was also excellent. Without going into details, Kerri (manager) was the best. I rated the value poor, because I don't think our experience was worth the price we paid. The parking is so ridiculously tight that I actually had to get in on the passenger side and crawl over the console. Kerri says they are in the process of renovating, which is good, so perhaps I'll give them another try in the future. It wasn't a terrible experience, just not worth the money I paid.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McSlaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colonialinnmotel, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 12 August 2012
We thank you for your comment as each one helps us to improve in some way. We are in the process of trying to plan a renovation of the parking, however it is difficult when you only have so much space to work with. We are also planning another in room renovation this winter in which we will be updating the rooms such as painting, linens, etc. We do hope that you will return to us next year and view these improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    96
    53
    35
    32
See reviews for
126
105
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Listen, this is a basic beachfront hotel. If you are looking for something high end, you should look elsewhere. I've definitely been to fancier places that had more modern features, but not nearly at this price point. The location is excellent. It is a calm place to bring the kids. The people who work here seem to really care about the place and that you have a nice time and that is really what I want out of a beach trip. I would gladly recommend this place to friends and family who just want a clean room by the beach with everything you need.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiljoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colonialinnmotel, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
We thank you so much for your kind words. As we have stated before, we are 65 years old and very proud of that. We also pride ourselves on striving every day to make sure your stay is the best that it can be. We again thank you and look forward to seeing you return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2012

I had a good stay there. The room was enough for me. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location was execellent. The only problem that I had was the parking was cramped and risky...............................................................

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tbreazeale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colonialinnmotel, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful comment. We understand about the parking and are in the process of trying to remedy that issue. We thank you for staying with us and hope you are well and safe in all your endeavors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

My gf and I are regular beach go'ers but we normally stick to the Topsail area. Decided to spend this weekend trying something new. We found this place on trip advisor, got pretty good ratings and decided to give it a try. The good points about Colonial Inn is the great staff, the fact that they're pet friendly and the location is right next to the beach. It's in a great central location close to shops and food! The downsides are that it's really dated. Everything inside the room was dingy, felt a little damp and smelt aweful. It needs an update and extra deep scrub. The view is non exsistant but that's not really a huge issue because the beach is 5 steps away. The parking sucks and you might get a door dinge if your neighbors aren't careful. Last but not least it was far to expensive for what it was. If we visit again we'll be looking for somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colonialinnmotel, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
We are so sorry to hear that your stay was not what you expected. We always strive to make every effort to make your stay the best it can be. Again we understand that parking is a problem and are in the process of trying to change that issue. As we have stated before, we sit on sand and it does happen that we will have a damp feeling here. It is mainly due to the humidity and sand. We also are in the process of renovating and continue to make improvements. We hope that you will give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nags Head hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Wapakoneta, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We have stayed at the Colonial Inn atleast 3 times now I think.We love it there.The location is perfect being right beside a pier/restaurant/bar and steps away from the beach.The pool is perfect too, but the ocean is still our favorite place to relax.The motel staff are awesome.They will do anything they can do to make your stay great.We bring our 20 lb cat on our trips with us because we know he is always welcome.He sits on the table in the room and watches the people walk by the window.If you enjoy good conversation, you can go to the motel lobby and someone will tell you interesting stories about the area.We will continue to stay at the Colonial Inn as long as we are going to the Outer Banks.My only complaint was the receptionist that checked us in was rude and less than friendly.She was there a few times when we went in office.She needs to be replaced.The manager is very friendly and she's the reason we will go back.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colonialinnmotel, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Thank you so much for your comments, you know that we think of you as part of our family (kitty too). I am sorry to hear that the front desk did not treat you well and am in the process of rectifying that now. I am happy to hear you had a great time and we look forward to seeing you and kitty again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Our first time in Nags Head we stayed here with another couple. They made the reservations and I didn't check tripadvisor, lesson learned. We stayed in one of the large rooms with two bedrooms.

This review is easiest done with a pros and cons list.

Pros:
On the beach
Nice pool area
Gas grills to use
Staff friendly
Free coffee, juice pastrys and muffins for breakfast
Pet friendly rooms
Close to the boardwalk and restaurant

Cons:
The hotel is old, built in the 40's, and it shows in old fixtures, bathrooms and beds as well as wall A/C units.
Limited parking, only 1 car per room, the lot is very small for trucks or SUVs and the overflow parking is 1/2 mile away.
Our two bedroom suite did not have A/C in the bedrooms which made it hot (note, ask the staff for fans, which they provided and helped some)
Wife saw a roach in the bathroom.
I felt it was over priced for what you get.

I won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredtheRedFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colonialinnmotel, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
We are sorry that your stay was not what you thought it would be, Yes we are an older motel, celebrating 65 years in Nags Head. We honor that and are proud to have been here for that length of time. Also, we began renovation projects with our new owner this past spring and are continuing that this winter as well. We, as a whole, try to give each customer the best experience. The staff works hard to keep very clean rooms and to provide what you need. We do regret the dead bug in your room and apologized for that at the time of your stay. As we explained, we are sticklers for pest control here as we (as well as everyone else on OBX) sit on the sand and bugs are inevitable, but had just had our schedule treatment. We hope that you may in the future give us another chance. Thank you for giving us your comments so that we may strive to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altoona, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2012

From the first time I called to inquire about staying here, I was very impressed with the friendly staff. The pool was great & the beach was perfect. Our room had 2 queen beds & was just a liittle small for 3 girls, beach chairs, luggage, and all our necessities. Two days into our stay, I asked Kerry the Manager what the next largest room would be and she moved us to the Deluxe room which had the 2 queen beds, a sofa bed, and loveseat which made the rest of our stay perfect. Kerry and her staff are awesome! We would dedinitely stay there the next time we go to Nags Head.

Linda G

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colonialinnmotel, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 22 July 2012
As always we strive to make our guests stay the best possible and we had a lovely time with you guys! I am so happy that your stay was great and hope you will return to us soon, thank you so much for taking the time to comment!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
5.1 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
4.7 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
3.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
4.1 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
2.7 mi away
Outer Banks Inn
Outer Banks Inn
#9 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Inn

Property: Colonial Inn
Address: 3329 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9267
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonial Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonial Inn is nestled at MP 11.5 On the oceanfront right next door to the Nags Head Fishing Pier. The hotel offers many different room types to accommodate every need. We are also pet friendly! There is a seasonal outdoor pool, a private beach access, refrigerators and microwaves in every room, as well as LG flat screen TVs. We also provide free YMCA passes at request, and free WIFI for our guests. We offer discounts for AAA, AARP members and run specials throughout the year. Historical sites, gift shops, and the outlet mall are just minutes away. Jockey's Ridge State Park is half a mile south and the Wright Brother's National Memorial is less than 4 miles away. Lucky 12 Tavern is in walking distance, and Tortugas' Lie Shellfish Bar & Grill is half a mile north of the Colonial Inn!If you are looking for Old World Charm in the heart of Nags Head, the Colonial Inn is the place for you and your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Colonial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Nags Head
Colonial Motel Nags Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing