We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant and affordable”
Review of Colonial Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Colonial Inn
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Montréal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant and affordable”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

My boyfriend, brother and I stayed in a 2-bedrooms cottage in June and we had a really pleasant experience. The rooms were clean, air conditioning worked perfectly, staff was helpful, our location wasn't noisy at all, the beach is footsteps away. The only little deception, and it is minor, is that the complimentary continental breakfast wasn't that good : muffins that are more cakes than muffins, microwavable eggs, commercial bagels, a few fruits, bad coffee. But it was another reason to go eat at the Pier restaurant just beside, which serves excellent seafood and breakfast. I would definitely return to Colonial Inn, and that's great because they offer a 15 % discount when you do so.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolineF22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua R, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. I apologize that our breakfast wasn't what you were looking for. We are continually working on this area to meet the needs of all of our guests. I appreciate the feedback and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    96
    53
    35
    32
See reviews for
126
105
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gretna, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We have been traveling to the OBX for years and have stayed in local hotels, motels, and rented beach houses. We were only able to come for a couple of days this time, and we were bringing our dog. Our spur of the moment getaway turned into another memorable family vacation, thanks to the Colonial Inn. We loved it here!! :) It is well kept, the staff is super-friendly and accommodating. We stayed in a room with 2 queen beds, sofa bed and loveseat. The room was large and comfortable. AC worked great. Microwave and small refrigerator in every room, flat screen TVs. Free Wi-Fi is provided. It is quiet here, even though it is right on beach road. Access to the beach couldn't be better. It is has the quaint, old timey feel of beach days long ago. Nags Head Pier right next door. The pool is pristine, propane BBQ grills, lounge chairs and patio deck table and chairs provided for guests to use. The continental breakfast is comparable to larger hotels, if not better. Large muffins, Danish, breakfast burritos, waffles, French toast, bagels, fresh fruit, juice provides something for everyone. Coffee, fresh fruit and bottled water are available 24 hours a day. A storm kicked up on our second night, and they provided coloring books, crayons, playing cards, candy, fruit cups and water to our 10-year-old granddaughter to keep her occupied in case the power went out. The cable went out and they called to have it fixed immediately. Our TV still wasn't working, and Linda left the front desk to personally come to our room and fixed it! It is close to everything in town - shopping, restaurants, mini-golf, etc. There are park benches on the covered front porch outside of each courtyard room. You park right outside your room. The parking lot is tight, but that is something to be expected. The motel was built in 1947, and has withstood the storms of time. It is well-kept, clean, and they are working hard to complete upgrades. If you are looking for a comfortable, laid back place to stay, Colonial Inn fits the bill. I would rather stay here, than one of the fancier high rises. Been there, done that. My family was very pleased with our experience at the Colonial Inn, and we are looking forward to returning.

Room Tip: We stayed in a roomy Deluxe, 2 queen and sofa bed room on the courtyard. Covered porch with park be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loretta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua R, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. I will certainly pass along your kind words to our staff and we hope to see you again soon. We have certainly put a lot of effort into improving and upgrading the property. Reviews like yours help us to know we are on the right track.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2013

My family and I stayed 5 days, but we wish it had been longer. The staff was helpful and friendly, our room was clean, and the free wifi for the girls was wonderful. The property is old but has charm. We'll be back for another visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua R, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Leaving is always the worst part. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. The staff works very hard on a daily basis to continually improve both ourselves and the property. We do hope you are able to return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pollocksville, NC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Very accommodating staff. Only negative was room was a bit small, but I knew this going in. Was a one day short stay but enjoy my stay. Very good restaurants nearby. Price was reasonable. Motorcycle friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua R, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. Our final upgrades are going in as we speak with new bedding, window treatments, and wall art. We hope you return soon. I will share your review with the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

On our second trip to the Outer Banks, we opted to take our two aging dogs with us rather than boarding them. The high reviews on this place for the price got our attention, so we reserved a room for the duration of our stay in NC.
The old adage of "you get what you pay for" isn't lost on me. We generally stay with the Red Roof or Motel 6 chains, so we aren't too hard to please. Here, if you're traveling with animals, you do not get what you paid for. Their pet fees are $25 per pet, per night. If I'd have known that, this experience would have never happened.
The rooms have some updates, but I noticed that the doors lack deadbolts and don't lock automatically lock when the door closes. Our door had a light to medium-duty striker plate placed atop two older plates to shim it into place against the deadlatch. Behind that, the door frame was split. Having determined the room to be only marginally secure, we kept our valuables in the trunk of our car when we left the room. I also observed that there is no ventilation in the bathroom. In the kitchenette area, a household surge protector supplied power to the toaster, coffee maker, and the electric ignitors on the gas range.
I have no problem conceding that the motel has nice, well maintained, easy access to the beach and fishing pier, complete with a beach shower. The apartments are roomy and adequately furnished. The pool area is also nicely decorated and maintained, and the pool water is pristine. Two propane grills are provided for the guests' use.
The flaws I have detailed wouldn't even bother me so much if not for the outright predatory fees we paid for our dogs. And if a guest loses a key, it's a $75 charge for a replacement. We are taking unusual precautions to avoid that situation. In short, the poor rating comes down to value. It was nearly $800 in total for 4 nights in an aging property in a very congested area of Nags Head. It's not bad if you are traveling without pets. If not, look elsewhere or arrange for local boarding.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OhioFlyingBrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua R, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
I sincerely apologize for what seems to be a negative experience. With regard to our room doors and locks I can assure you this is in the works to be upgraded. I appreciate the positive feedback in regard to maintenance, housekeeping, and front desk staff. The team does work very hard. Our pets fees are based on the median average of what pet friendly hotels in the area charge along with the additional costs and risks incurred from pets being the rooms. I can assure you are pet fees are not for profit but for maintenance of our pet friendly rooms so that each guest is able to enjoy the same quality of stay as the previous. I hope that you will follow us on social media and/or our website for upgrades coming this week. I will certainly be addressing the maintenance issues mentioned in your review. Again we apologize and sincerely appreciate the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nags Head hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Colonial Inn has a great price tag! We paid about 70-80$ per night. A deal for an ocean front hotel! BUT I would have rather slept in the parking lot.
The room we stayed in had wood paneling on all walls and the ceiling.. it felt like sleeping in a coffin. And the whole room smelled strongly of mildew. We checked out a total of 4 rooms, in 3 of them we found multiple cockroaches... not very comforting. The AC/Heat only worked on the AC setting. Which wouldn't have been a problem had the high temp for a couple days been 60-65 F.. and the nights were freezing.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua R, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
I appreciate your honesty and feedback. I do notice that the room you stayed in is one of three rooms we did not remodel due to the previous positive comments regarding the pine paneling. I am noticing now that this paneling is dark and isn't conducive to a beach atmosphere. We will change this to be the same as the other rooms right away. Some final touches on rooms will be completed this week and next including new bedspreads, window treatments, and wall art. We will post pictures as soon as this is complete. I am very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay and I sincerely apologize. I hope you will follow us on Facebook and/or our website for the final round of upgrades for this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2013 via mobile

Very close to ocean. My room had 2 very small windows, one viewing parking lot and one viewing an old creepy house or something. In the room it was spacious with big beds. Lighting was terrible it was seriously so dark in this room. The shower head was ridiculous as was the water pressure. It was basically a leaky water hose. The maid banged on the door loudly and tried to come in multiple times at 9:30 while we were still sleeping. Tried to put the do not bother us sign on the door but it was covered in a sticky substance. Will not be returning.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alyceinwonderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua R, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
I am extremely sorry to hear about this. Your experience is unacceptable and will be addressed. It is not our nature to "make excuses" and please do not consider my response that as I sincerely apologize. We are still working diligently to complete our upgrades/renovations to this property as quickly as possible. We have several rooms still on the list to be completed. I will address this with the entire staff and work to resolve these issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
5.1 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
4.7 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
3.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
4.1 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
2.7 mi away
Outer Banks Inn
Outer Banks Inn
#9 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Inn

Property: Colonial Inn
Address: 3329 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9267
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonial Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonial Inn is nestled at MP 11.5 On the oceanfront right next door to the Nags Head Fishing Pier. The hotel offers many different room types to accommodate every need. We are also pet friendly! There is a seasonal outdoor pool, a private beach access, refrigerators and microwaves in every room, as well as LG flat screen TVs. We also provide free YMCA passes at request, and free WIFI for our guests. We offer discounts for AAA, AARP members and run specials throughout the year. Historical sites, gift shops, and the outlet mall are just minutes away. Jockey's Ridge State Park is half a mile south and the Wright Brother's National Memorial is less than 4 miles away. Lucky 12 Tavern is in walking distance, and Tortugas' Lie Shellfish Bar & Grill is half a mile north of the Colonial Inn!If you are looking for Old World Charm in the heart of Nags Head, the Colonial Inn is the place for you and your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Colonial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Nags Head
Colonial Motel Nags Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing