We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs an Update But friendly Staff”
Review of Colonial Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Colonial Inn
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We recently stayed at the Colonial Inn. The front desk staff was very friendly, however, the motel itself is in desperate need of a renovation. The location is great being right on the beach with private access and next door is a pier. However, dogs are allowed at the hotel in every room, so most likely you will hear dogs barking through out the day and night. Also, the rooms are a bit damp because of the humidity and only room air conditioners and the bathrooms need new tile as ours was completely cracked and felt a bit dirty. Perhaps we didn't get an updated room that others were speaking of. Again...great location and I know the new managers are working to update the hotel in the winter. They should also make a policy on the pets so that there are parts of the hotel where pets aren't allowed.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Amber M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua R, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Amber I truly appreciate your feedback. It is certainly our policy that only part of the hotel is pet friendly. I sincerely apologize if this caused any inconvenience. I can also assure you, as you stated, that the owner is working diligently to ensure the property is upgraded. He made significant upgrades this past year and plans to continue to do so in the coming off season. We do hope you return soon and I will certainly let the staff know how highly you spoke of them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 324 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the efficiency out back. Cute room. View of the ocean nice. Very good spot for surfing next to the pier below. Katie at the front desk was really nice. We had problem with the AC. She had it taken care of quickly.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua R, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. I appreciate the feedback and we hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I can't say enough about the helpfulness and knowledge of the staff. In booking "blind" I was hoping that we wouldn't be staying in an out of date place. The registration went smoothly and the folks couldn't have done a better job of directing us to local attractions and restaurants. The motel rooms were clean and the location of being right on the beach couldn't be better. The motel is long past its prime but is worth the price.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua R, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Jim I appreciate your kind words regarding our staff. Ownership of Colonial Inn changed hands just under two years ago and have been going through phases of upgrades and improvements. We do hope you will visit us again soon and see what all we have improved. I will certainly share your kinds words with the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

After doing a lot of research, I found Colonial Inn. It had great reviews, despite having only a two star rating. For the great price we deciced to take a chance, and we are glad we did. The motel is older, but the rooms have been updated, repainted, new mattresses, etc. it was clean and the staff was friendly. Katie was GREAT! she is very cheerful and helpful and just a fun person. She gave us great tips on where to eat, and she did not steer us wrong! The motel has its own beach, too..a short walk from the rooms. Would I stay there again? You bet! And we usually stay at 3-star places. The room was small, but I was not there to stay in a room, but to enjoy the outer banks. Which we did.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua R, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

We all appreciate your feedback. I am elated you had such an enjoyable stay. It is so nice to hear our off season renovations were a success and we are already planning upgrades for next year. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

You should know at the outset that the Colonial Inn is a no-frills type place. It has rooms, parking and a continental breakfast. It even has wi-fi if you're so inclined. That said, it also has an absolutely amazing location (it's right on the beach next to the Nags Head Pier and a block away from Lucky 12 Tavern which is where we'd have spent our nights out if not for other obligations) and, based on our interactions with them, an incredibly helpful staff. Katie and Hagen were incredibly friendly and absolutely beyond helpful. If there was a place we wanted to check out, or something we wanted to do, they helped us find it. We were only there for a weekend, but already determined that when/if we go back to Nags Head, that's where we're staying.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DukeOfMadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua R, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. I will be sure to share your review with Katie and Hagen. We hope you are able to return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This was a great place to stay. The staff were super friendly in helping out. It was very clean (which is a major concern when staying in a hotel). It was right next to the beach. We will be staying here again on our next visit!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mable D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua R, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

We have certainly worked very hard on this property and it is so nice to hear your kind words. Reviews like this help motivate the staff by letting them know their hard work is paying off. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The view was beautiful. Ocean front, quiet and relaxing. The employees were respectful and nice. The young lady at the front desk was very helpful and friendly, Karla. I will be returning at the end of the summer. It was a safe place no noise or problems. I enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: Corner Apartment quiet beautiful view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua R, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

I will certainly pass along your kind words and appreciate the feedback. I am certainly blessed with a wonderful staff. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
5.1 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
3.6 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
889 reviews
4.1 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,595 reviews
4.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#9 of 13 in Nags Head
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Inn

Address: 3329 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9267
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range: £58 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonial Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonial Inn is nestled at MP 11.5 On the oceanfront right next door to the Nags Head Fishing Pier. The hotel offers many different room types to accommodate every need. We are also pet friendly! There is a seasonal outdoor pool, a private beach access, refrigerators and microwaves in every room, as well as LG flat screen TVs. We also provide free YMCA passes at request, and free WIFI for our guests. We offer discounts for AAA, AARP members and run specials throughout the year. Historical sites, gift shops, and the outlet mall are just minutes away. Jockey's Ridge State Park is half a mile south and the Wright Brother's National Memorial is less than 4 miles away. Lucky 12 Tavern is in walking distance, and Tortugas' Lie Shellfish Bar & Grill is half a mile north of the Colonial Inn!If you are looking for Old World Charm in the heart of Nags Head, the Colonial Inn is the place for you and your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Colonial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Nags Head
Colonial Motel Nags Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing