We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful little place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colonial Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Colonial Inn
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
1 review
“Wonderful little place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

When we first walked in the room, I was alittle concerned it might be too small for our family of four (we had a double queen) but for the price we paid, you cannot beat the great service, cleanliness and location! I also read in the previous reviews that they were remodeling their rooms so I already knew we had one of the rooms that they had not remodeled yet (which was ok with us). The room definitely served its purpose; provided a comfortable clean place to shower and sleep. We were not planning on sitting around in the room our entire vacation so the size of the room became less of a concern to us. The staff was amazing and extremely helpful, the continental breakfast was very simple, but good. Many people mentioned the parking (which was pretty tight) but there always seemed to be a spot available...we never encountered any issues with that. Overall, our family had a really great time at the Colonial Inn and we will never forget our first visit to the Outer Banks...it was truly a great experience and we will definitely be going back! If you are looking for a clean, simple and comfortable place right on the beach, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ranh9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua R, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
I sincerely appreciate your kind words and so happy to hear your first trip to the Outer Banks was memorable. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    94
    52
    33
    32
See reviews for
122
104
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Granite Falls, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed here on Saturday, August 10, 2013. We had planned a trip on the spur of the moment and we had a hard time finding a place with a vacancy. I could see why this place had an opening!! It is a dump! We found a dead roach outside of our room. The room was small and dark with very little lighting. We had a problem with our toilet. When my husband went to tell the front desk, they acted like we were bothering them and seemed unwilling to help!!! The parking here is also terrible with very little room to move your car around. The free breakfast is just some muffins, bagels, breakfast burritos that you microwave and coffee. I will honestly say that I will never stay here again!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EBC1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua R, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
I sincerely apologize you did not enjoy your stay and am truly concerned with the issues you have mentioned. Items such as this are not acceptable. While the Colonial Inn is an older property I do not excuse some of the items you have mentioned. The owner, management company, and myself work diligently to make improvements and have a lot planned for the winter. I do hope you will consider the Colonial Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nags Head hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Overall, our experience at the Colonial Inn was a good one. The staff is very nice and very helpful. In a pros and cons list, the pros would be location, pool, short walk to beach, price, and staff were all awesome. The cons would be leaky bathroom ceiling, odd smell in some of the rooms, old furniture and carpet made it seem like it was dirty even though it was a clean room. All in all, it is a great value and even though we were not very happy with our room, the accommodating staff, location, pool and price makes you want to come back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mcbb2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua R, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
I sincerely apologize you didn't enjoy your room. We are constantly working to improve the rooms so that everyone enjoys every aspect of their stay. I do appreciate the kind words and will certainly look into your concerns. We hope you are able to return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

We normally rent a cottage, but this summer did not have a whole week to spare, just 4 days. We chose, based on a friend's recommendation, the Colonial Inn. Just the basics, no frills, but reasonably priced, and clean. A quiet place, a bonus to us. The beach can become a little crowded though b/c there is a public access next door to the Colonial. The Nags Head Pier is right next door, where you can dine over the water. If you are oceanfront, you get to see/ hear the Piers' musicians on their deck mid-week afternoons. Not head thumping music, but reggae and Buffet style tunes. Very nice! The housekeepers were excellent, esp. Martina, and really, the whole staff so friendly. The oceanfront room we stayed in with King bed was very tiny, so were so relieved we didn't bring our dogs. If you do bring pets (or are claustrophobic), consider the larger units. Parking was not a problem for us, but the inn was not full. The few minor concerns we had , we reported after our visit in a survey, and Joshua the owner could not have been more appreciative/receptive and eager to address. If you want value, and attentive staff - people who REALLY care, stay here.

Room Tip: ask for a larger room. There were more than a few thunderstorms during our stay which required us to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua R, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
I truly appreciate the kind words and as said when we spoke I sincerely apologies for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. I do have to say I am not the owner, just the General Manager, but I sincerely appreciate your willingness to work with me. We realize that each and every day someone is spending their vacation with us, a time and period they have looked forward to the entire year. When it isn't perfect, we want to know. That is how we improve. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky Mount, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed a week with the good folks at the Colonial Inn. We had the room with our 2 dogs, with a kitchenette and a view of the ocean. It was so nice to be able to eat your meals and look out over the ocean. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We arrived as they were having a bad electrical storm. We were told right off that the cable was out and no internet which was no fault of theirs. We were told the companies responsible were already working on it. Our tv in our room was fried from the storm but before the evening was out we had a replacement. Cable was fuzzy for a day or two but again no fault of Colonial Inn. As far as I know there is no one here on earth that can control the weather. Then again who stays in their room to watch tv when u r on the beach. The room was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. U r right on the ocean right beside Nags Head Pier. Just a few steps and u r steps away from the ocean. If u r looking for a fancy place then this isn't for u. It was plain, simple and clean. I know a lot of the reviews complained about the parking but we had no issues and we had a SUV. there was always a parking space available. We had no problems with the plumbing, water or fleas or bugs as some reviews state. If u r looking for a simple plain little place to stay then this is it.

Room Tip: When make reservations be specific about what u r looking for... ex...dogs, kitchen, top floor, bott...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua R, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Linda this is so refreshing and certainly appreciated. We do work very hard each and everyday to ensure everyone's vacation is enjoyable and more importantly memorable. We hope you are able to return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenandoah Valley
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

The Colonial Inn has seen thousands of guests and dozens of hurricanes but it's still here and doing well. If you're used to 5 star accommodations you probably shouldn't be in Nags Head anyway. This is a great little place that harkens spirits from the past when these barrier islands were known for fishing more than anything else. The staff is friendly and the rooms clean. Location to the beach is ideal and on close proximity to other attractions on the island.
We did encounter a small setback but after speaking with Josh, our inconvenience was taken care of promptly and professionally.
We will stay again in hopes the thunder and lightning perch themselves further out to sea.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 11bravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua R, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
The storm that hit was unfortunate however I truly appreciate your understanding. Colonial Inn certainly has a lot of history and we will work hard to see that this continues for years to come. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

My husband and I stayed for a week in July--first year minus children in 30+ years--and had a very enjoyable stay! This was our 11th time at the Colonial and each time has been a wonderful experience, and this was no less enjoyable. The staff is quick to remedy any problems and very hospitable. It was nice having a person in the office 24 hours a day--a change from the past. The same housekeeping staff has been there each year, so there is continuity and it's as though we're returning to family! Pinky and Martina are wonderful. Joshua was open to suggestions, and very likeable. He has made the "old" place more inviting and comfortable. The addition of the new photographs and the new window treatments and bedspreads as well as the fresh painted walls updated and brightened the rooms. While more renovations need to take place, such as new carpets, we're sure that the Colonial is in capable hands. The flat-screen TVs are nice--one in every room of the apartments. Kitchens are functional. The large pool is a nice alternative to dipping at the beach. The main drawback is the lack of sufficient parking. We look forward to next year's vacation at the Colonial.

Room Tip: Elderly should get a ground level room since stairs to apartments near pool are narrow and steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua R, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Kathy I truly appreciate your feedback and enjoyed talking with you. It is refreshing to all of us here for the hard work and continual upgrades to be noticed. Stay tuned to our website and social media sites as we continue to improve. Next year will be hear before you know it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
5.1 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
4.7 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
#13 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
3.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,338 reviews
3.3 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Inn

Property: Colonial Inn
Address: 3329 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9267
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonial Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonial Inn is nestled at MP 11.5 On the oceanfront right next door to the Nags Head Fishing Pier. The hotel offers many different room types to accommodate every need. We are also pet friendly! There is a seasonal outdoor pool, a private beach access, refrigerators and microwaves in every room, as well as LG flat screen TVs. We also provide free YMCA passes at request, and free WIFI for our guests. We offer discounts for AAA, AARP members and run specials throughout the year. Historical sites, gift shops, and the outlet mall are just minutes away. Jockey's Ridge State Park is half a mile south and the Wright Brother's National Memorial is less than 4 miles away. Lucky 12 Tavern is in walking distance, and Tortugas' Lie Shellfish Bar & Grill is half a mile north of the Colonial Inn!If you are looking for Old World Charm in the heart of Nags Head, the Colonial Inn is the place for you and your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Colonial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Nags Head
Colonial Motel Nags Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing