We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In Desperate Need of Renovation”
Review of Colonial Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Colonial Inn
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“In Desperate Need of Renovation”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This hotel is overpriced for the accommodations. Only In Nags Head can they get away with charging such high rates for such mediocre rooms. This place is in desperate need of a renovation. The furniture is outdated. The rooms are old, musty smelling and in terrible shape. The bed linen is dingy, the bathrooms are suspect looking, and the are conditioner is on it's last leg. Stayed there 3 nights and never had hot water. The only saving grace this motel has going for it is the staff. From the maids to the front office staff, everybody is super friendly.

Room Tip: Located on a busy street. You may hear less noise if you get a room in the very back of the motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua R, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Bobbie - I am very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. I can say the owner has put a lot into renovating this hotel while keeping its character. Most of the furniture was purchased in the spring of 2014. We are planning more improvements this off season as well. As for our pricing we try to stay as relative to our competitors as we can. I do personally apologize you didn't feel you received what you paid for. Our hot water system was completely replaced in 2012. I will certainly look into why this was an issue for you and not fixed during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    97
    53
    38
    36
See reviews for
131
108
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Avondale, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We had 11 adults and 8 kids in 6 different rooms. The kids had a great time being able to go to the pool and then the beach without having to get in a car. The staff was extremely friendly...especially Bo. He is a great employee to have at the front desk. He was very friendly and helpful. He made us feel welcomed.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mark I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily C, Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Mark, we are so glad we were able to accommodate your large party. We are glad that you enjoyed your vacation with us and thanks so much for your kind comments regarding staff member Beau. He certainly is great with the guests and has a lot to offer as an employee and a person in general. We are so glad the location was convenient for you and your family. We look forward to your return, and thanks so much for the review of the Colonial Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faber, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Booked a two bedroom apartment (Still have the confirmation sheet) stating that the bedroom holds two queenside beds, When I checked in, I was told that wasn't what I booked. Staff was reasonably friendly about the matter but it was definitely a take it or leave it situation. Room was clean but dated. For two adults to sleep on a fold our couch does not make for a great trip. Parking is tight and crowded. Again, staff was nice but there is definitely a problem in their booking procedures.

Room Tip: no advice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua R, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Jim - I certainly remember this situation as the staff did let me know about it right away. I found the issue root cause of why this happened and been able to fix it from happening again in the future. I hope our gesture helped to rectify the system mistake. I apologize for any inconvenience and hope you were still able to enjoy your time at the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I liked this hotel. We had 7 people in our party and the spacious apartment with 2 queen beds in 2 bedrooms and a large kitchen/living room were perfect. t's not fancy but everything was clean and comfortable. Who needs fancy when you spend most of time at the pool, fishing off the pier or on the beach! Being next to the pier made it very convenient for fishing for my husband and brother. The pool was clean. The only thing I didn't like were people lingering outside our door late at night on the shared balcony/walkways. Overall, it was a good inexpensive hotel for a vacation at the beach!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pattyohhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily C, Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Patty, we are so glad you and your party enjoyed the apartment and your stay with us! We are glad the pier was easily accessible and worked well for your party's needs. In addition, we appreciate the comment about the room being clean and comfortable. Thanks so much for your review Patty, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed in a 2 br apt by the pool in July. The staff was very friendly and the cleaning service always had everything done by the time we came back from the beach. Convenient to everything and the rooms although older had everything you need and clean. Loved it!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flucos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily C, Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thanks so much for your review! We are so glad that everything with your stay was to your liking including the service, the room and we certainly hope that you will join us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My roommate and I stayed at the Colonial Inn again this year. It is a very comfortable place, very clean and well kept. I love the fact that you can put a chair outside of your room and relax. We made reservations for next year, when we were checking out.
The 4th of July fireworks on the Fisherman's Wharf were the best. The Inn had front row seats for guests on the dunes (this is the only time it is allowed).
The parking is a little dicey, but it is part of the charm. You just have to be careful, that's all.
Having a vehicle you can easily maneuver helps also.
Fabulous location with great prices, and super staff.
There are quite a few restaurants within walking distance, which is convenient. And of course don't forget that beach! Love walking on the beach!

Room Tip: the rooms on the south side (room 14 side) get less sun, which was perfect for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily C, Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Nancy, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Colonial Inn!!! Thanks for all your kind words and we appreciate the review! We are so glad you have already booked for next year. We are excited for your stay in 2015 and we are glad the prices fit your needs, and the location as well as the staff! Thanks again Nancy and hope that you have a wonderful rest of your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This motel is not a Hilton...but I don't think that's a bad thing. The rooms are not what you would find in a nicer hotel, but since this isn't a Hilton, the employees are able to be more accommodating and flexible than in any full service or even, self-service hotel. There are pool toys provided in the pool area, residents are allowed to hang their towels over the balcony, and one can chain a bike nearly anywhere. The front desk workers were so accommodating - they even bought a big pot for us to boil our crabs in when we asked. ...I would definitely stay here again based on the service alone, not to mention that the hotel is on the beach, on the bike path, and has an 8' deep pool. I do wish a continental breakfast was provided, but our apartment had a refrigerator, so we bought cereal and milk to eat each morning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily C, Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for your review of the Colonial Inn. We do appreciate your feedback. Thanks for your kind comments regarding the staff. No, we are not a Hilton, but we certainly take pride in our ability to please our guests and we take extra time and pay extra attention to the needs of our guests because we are a smaller property. We are glad the pool was to your liking! Have a great summer and we hope that you will return at some point to see us again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
5.1 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
3.6 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#10 of 13 in Nags Head
179 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
863 reviews
4.1 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Inn

Property: Colonial Inn
Address: 3329 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9267
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonial Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonial Inn is nestled at MP 11.5 On the oceanfront right next door to the Nags Head Fishing Pier. The hotel offers many different room types to accommodate every need. We are also pet friendly! There is a seasonal outdoor pool, a private beach access, refrigerators and microwaves in every room, as well as LG flat screen TVs. We also provide free YMCA passes at request, and free WIFI for our guests. We offer discounts for AAA, AARP members and run specials throughout the year. Historical sites, gift shops, and the outlet mall are just minutes away. Jockey's Ridge State Park is half a mile south and the Wright Brother's National Memorial is less than 4 miles away. Lucky 12 Tavern is in walking distance, and Tortugas' Lie Shellfish Bar & Grill is half a mile north of the Colonial Inn!If you are looking for Old World Charm in the heart of Nags Head, the Colonial Inn is the place for you and your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Colonial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Nags Head
Colonial Motel Nags Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing