We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location and views”
Review of Owens' Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Owens' Motel
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Birmingham
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent location and views”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Owen's Motel while exploring OBX. We rang up and booked over the phone and asked about the various rooms. We decided upon the ones with ocean views. Upon arrival, the helpful lady in reception speedily checked us in and gave us our room key. Our room was number 9 on the 2nd floor. Initially I wasn't impressed with the way the motel looked, as I felt it looked a bit run down. We opened the door and both wowed at the size of the room and its amenities. Opening the door on to the veranda gave us amazing views of the ocean, up and down the beach and Jennette's Pier.

The room was clean and well presented and the bathroom was of a good standard.

If we visit OBX again, I wouldn't hesitate in booking in for another few nights.

On the negative side, the AC in the room was very noisy and did little to cool the temperature of the room. No problems though as we propped the room door open with a chair and had the veranda door open. A nice breeze passed through the room cooling us down.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pacmania1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    34
    28
    27
    10
See reviews for
36
49
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013 via mobile

We visited the area for a long weekend to explore OBX, and found the Owens Motel to be clean, welcoming, accommodation. Rate seemed a bit expensive given the limited amenities; however, most lodging in OBX is pricier than other NC locales. We stayed in the single-story building across the street, which was quiet and convenient. The rooms are dated; however, given the relatively low price, and proximity to the beach and Jeannette's Pier, we weren't expecting much. If you are visiting Nags Head on a budget, give it a try.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Walt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Ohio
Level Contributor
97 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

I have never stayed in a worse place. This hotel is dirty, bug infested and disgusting. Please avoid this place at all costs! I ave never seen such a crappy place! The pictures quaint, but believe me it is far from quaint, it is gross! Do not stay here!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amyjsloan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nags Head hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

I was surprised by the blue painted paneling, the white wicker furniture, and the truly tiny bathroom. I was more surprised at the stench that hit me when I opened the refrigerator to unload our cooler. We were given the opportunity to switch rooms or switch refrigerators with the room next door. Since we had already moved in, we thought the appliance switch best, especially since the other room was dark and completely old school wood paneled. My poor husband did most of the manhandling of the little beast (a first in our many motel stays). No help was offered. The old brown one left a puddle on our floor and a trail to it's new home. The new one was white and completed the white theme perfectly. That experience was a definite deduction of my rating. We had to get ice from a cooler in the office and the television was little more than a computer monitor. We had a real key! (not a keycard)
That said, I really like the fact that we had windows on THREE sides (it being an end unit) and with no neighbor in the next room, it was like being in a cabin. We hit the beach at sunset and again before and at sunrise because it was SO CLOSE! It was substantially cheaper than the chain hotel and the stay I remember best from our week on the road. It's also the only place I took pictures of, because of it's unique qualities.
It had plenty of towels, microwave, fridge (thanks to my husband, one that worked AND matched the decor), hair dryer, coffee-maker, alarm clock, window unit AC (somewhat noisy), pink decorative plates on the wall and a pink flyswatter thoughtfully provided. It was clean. Plus the section we stayed in (they have another set of units further west) was roughly 50 feet from the BEACH!
I did not spend a lot of time awake in this room so I am forgiving of it's shortcomings. If I was a diva, I would have hated it. I took it for what it was and I am not sorry. Our beach experiences made up for the TV, fridge and cubbyhole commode.
We were there off-season and it was quiet and I slept well. I would probably not have like at as well if it was summer and fully occupied.
Rating this is difficult. If not for the labor involved, TV and commode cubbyhole, we had a great stay - 4.5. It isn't the Holiday Inn. If you want that kind of experience -DON'T stay here. Because of the age, I should probably give it a 2. If you're a guy, none it probably matters to you and only the TV sucks. That kinda leaves me at a 3.

Room Tip: I recommend #8 or higher. Higher has a balcony or patio overlooking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank imlin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

I love this motel. I have never stayed across the street, and never will. Nothing against it other than the fact that I stay at Owen's because I can walk out of my door and hit sand, and then water immediately. I always stay in the beach front condos, so I can't vouch for the regular rooms. Condos are nice. There's that typical slight "must" smell when you walk in, but any hotel (even fancy ones) that are 20 feet from the ocean are going to have that issue. Sand, salt water and bare feet will do that.

Clean motel, friendly staff, literally right on the water, and hands down the BEST restaurant right across the street (Owen's Restaurant).

Could definitely use an update in the rooms themselves and I think that would help people's opinions.

Reasonable pricing (especially in the fall for condos), convenient location and friendly staff will keep me at Owens.

Room Tip: Take a condo. Right on the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Don't ike this place.rooms are too old. Need to be reneewed. The emplacement is good but it's better to be on ocean side. Barbecue place is so minimal.carpet smells, windows are locked, beds are trampoline.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vmagbis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
6.4 mi away
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
3.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#8 of 13 in Nags Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
9.3 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
0.6 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Owens' Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Owens' Motel

Property: Owens' Motel
Address: 7115 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9127
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Owens' Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owens Motel is a family owned and operated motel that is located on the beach in South Nags Head. Clean, cozy rooms at affordable rates. Where families, fishermen, golfers and bikers are always welcome. Accomodations include oceanfront efficiencies, oceanside rooms, westside courtyard and westside rooms. The oceanfront barbeque grill and picnic are a favorite spot. Located directly across from the beach road, you'll find our clean, refreshing swimming pool. Daily maid service, air conditioning and cable TV are part of the ammenities that will make your stay memorable. The motel is located in the center of it all. Close to the Oregon Inlet Fishing Center, Pirates Cove Fishing Center, Jennettes Pier, Tanger Outlet Mall, Jockey Ridge State Park, The NC Aquarium, Elizabethan Gardens, Historic Manteo and the Lost Colony. Owens Restaurant, a AAA Three Diamond Award Restaurant is right next door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Owens' Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Owens` Hotel Nags Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing