We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wanted to like it”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Owens' Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Owens' Motel
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
rochester, ny
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“I wanted to like it”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

I will qualify this review by saying we have never stayed in a motel before on the Outer Banks, we have always rented a condo, but the condo was sold and not being rented.
The postives...I got a great deal on this hotel. We also stayed oceanside and getting to the beach was simple. The staff are all great, very helpful. The beach area is great, perfect location.
The negatives....Boy does this place need some renovating. Our room was clean, our bathroom was spotless, if you can call it a bathroom. There was no where to put any toiletries. The beds were awful as was the decor. Definitely bring your own pillow. The TV was on this little table that made it almost impossible to watch from bed because it was so low to the ground.
The pool was disgusting. The first night there was so much chlorine in the pool you couldn't see the bottom. The smell of chlorine was overwhelming. How hard is it to maintain a pool? The pool location is awful. Behind the restaurant and quite a hike if your staying across the main road.
Don't take ice out of the coolers they have for guests!! The ice is loaded onto the back of a gator and then scooped into the cooler with a bucket. I have no idea how this is even sanitary.
The reality of this motel is that is has seen better days, I don't even know how you renovate it.
I do realize that these motels have a lot of turnover of guests in the summer months. Your also at the beach, where sand will always be an issue. I don't envy the person who is tasked with keeping these rooms clean.
Bottom line - tired motel that has seen better days and needs some serious renovations. The staff was great. If your looking for somewhere to stay for a few days and can get a good deal, I would try it. Other hotels/motels will run you over $200.00 per night in high season and they aren't much better.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ocean side have the benefit of beach access. Horrible parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jen1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    34
    28
    27
    10
See reviews for
36
49
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Drewryville
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Glad other people have liked their stay with this hotel but its not a place I wanna go back. We were at this hotel on fourth of July week & we will never stay here again. Front desk girl was very nice which was a plus but upon getting to our room there was a huge roach in the bath tub as big as my thumb. We couldn't find any other hotels to stay in being the week we were there so we killed it & checked the rest of the room. (No more bugs found thank goodness) It needs to be updated, the walls in the bathroom need to be cleaned (something was all over them), no phone, tv was a older kind & could only go up & not down on channels, the shower head was so stopped up with water deposits it was only spraying a small amount of water, cracks in the walls & the smoke detector was not even on the wall just a hole & bare wires sticking out the wall (which we told front desk girl when we checked out). I don't mind staying in older hotels but I do expect them to be clean & half way nice but this was a bad. I'm just thankful the 2 nights we were there we only slept & showered (maybe total of 6 hours each night) & the rest of the time we weren't there. Please management fix this place up, It deserves it & until they do people please stay some where else.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nags Head hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Chesapeake, Virginia, Usa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

The motel in great need of TLC, it was nasty in the outdoor areas, the beds were very uncomfortable, it needs some updating. The doors were extremely heavy and hard to open, it is in a very great need of some updating. The floor seemed rather nasty and the lightling was poor in the room.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wytheville, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

The Owens' Motel was a perfect place to stay for our short stay in Nags Head. Our room was clean and very spacious for a beach motel. We did not stay oceanfront, but we where just across the street. The hotel was centrally located, easy getting to and from places in the town. This hotel has a great pool and wonderful restaurant on site. The service was good and the housekeepers where very friendly. We would definitely stay again when we come back to Nags Head.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laura c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ephrata, PA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by our one night stay at the Owens Hotel. The room was just a quick walk to the a beautiful beach and the room was clean, had a brand new air conditioner and very comfortable beds. I was surprised because I had read reviews on Trip Advisor before we went and I wasn't sure what to expect.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaK963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Owen's Motel while exploring OBX. We rang up and booked over the phone and asked about the various rooms. We decided upon the ones with ocean views. Upon arrival, the helpful lady in reception speedily checked us in and gave us our room key. Our room was number 9 on the 2nd floor. Initially I wasn't impressed with the way the motel looked, as I felt it looked a bit run down. We opened the door and both wowed at the size of the room and its amenities. Opening the door on to the veranda gave us amazing views of the ocean, up and down the beach and Jennette's Pier.

The room was clean and well presented and the bathroom was of a good standard.

If we visit OBX again, I wouldn't hesitate in booking in for another few nights.

On the negative side, the AC in the room was very noisy and did little to cool the temperature of the room. No problems though as we propped the room door open with a chair and had the veranda door open. A nice breeze passed through the room cooling us down.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pacmania1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
6.4 mi away
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
#13 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
3.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#8 of 13 in Nags Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
9.3 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.6 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Owens' Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Owens' Motel

Property: Owens' Motel
Address: 7115 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9127
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Owens' Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owens Motel is a family owned and operated motel that is located on the beach in South Nags Head. Clean, cozy rooms at affordable rates. Where families, fishermen, golfers and bikers are always welcome. Accomodations include oceanfront efficiencies, oceanside rooms, westside courtyard and westside rooms. The oceanfront barbeque grill and picnic are a favorite spot. Located directly across from the beach road, you'll find our clean, refreshing swimming pool. Daily maid service, air conditioning and cable TV are part of the ammenities that will make your stay memorable. The motel is located in the center of it all. Close to the Oregon Inlet Fishing Center, Pirates Cove Fishing Center, Jennettes Pier, Tanger Outlet Mall, Jockey Ridge State Park, The NC Aquarium, Elizabethan Gardens, Historic Manteo and the Lost Colony. Owens Restaurant, a AAA Three Diamond Award Restaurant is right next door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Owens' Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Owens` Hotel Nags Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing