We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend get away ”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Owens' Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Owens' Motel
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Deer Park, New York
Level Contributor
91 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Weekend get away ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

I think the people writing bad reviews about this place are way to picky. Yeah the bathrooms are small and the picnic area is dated, so what, it's what you expect to pay for nothing more nothing less. I expect a clean room and a decent bed. That's what we got.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank pchack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    34
    28
    27
    10
See reviews for
36
49
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

My husband and I booked a room for us for a Friday night while we waited for our house key the next day in July 2013. We have stayed at Owen's before so we knew the layout of the motel and what the rooms are like. We had two good friends with us this time who had never stayed there before. We arrived around 3 and both of our rooms were ready for us and they had put us side by side like we asked. We always stay in the rooms across the street from the office and beside the restaurant. I think they call those the West Side? Anyway, both of our rooms were clean and we had no bug issues or any complaints about the air conditioners, mini fridge or bathrooms. Are the rooms large? Not by any means. The bathrooms aren't large either, but big enough for one person to be in there getting showered etc. We love the location of this motel and the fact you can walk to either Sam and Omie's or The Dunes for a good meal. Both are also excellent for breakfast in the morning. We were able to get parking spots right in front of our doors and changed and went to the pool. It was clean, although from all the people using sunscreen, there was a film on top of the water that comes from people who spray on their sunscreen and then immediately jump into a pool. Apparently they don't read the directions which say "apply 20 minutes before sun exposure." It was really hot out, so after a while and a few beers, no one cared and we were in that pool to cool off. We have eaten at Owen's Restaurant several times and always have a fabulous meal there, so don't hesitate to try it if you are there. We are booked into this motel again for this July, 2014 and so are our friends. We look forward to staying there and would recommend this motel to anyone looking for a good deal, a great location and a comfortable room to stay in. No, it's not the Holiday Inn, but it's family owned and they take pride in their motel.

Room Tip: The rooms across from the pool are not as old as some of the ones on the same side as the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salanay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

The room was small and smelled like old lotion, there was no internet or phone, the air conditioner was so loud we could barely have a conversation, the shower was a single stall with nowhere to put toiletries, the only ice available was dirty and kept in a cooler across the street, and the door key kept getting stuck in the door. All of that would have been fine if we could have had a decent night's sleep during our stay. That was absolutely impossible on the brick-like bed and flat pillows provided. We're both under thirty and after one day our backs were sore. After three, we were ready to flee. Without a doubt the worst hotel bed I've ever slept in.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fluffysellscars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nags Head hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Selbyville, Delaware, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We've been going to the Outer Banks area for over 16 yrs..have stayed in different hotels and house rentals. Needed a one night stay for business reasons so picked Owens. Poor choice! Next to the bed were several dead bugs in a layer of dust..taking up much needed space in a very small room. A picture on the wall near the door was pretty..except for the splashes of something all over it & the wall next to it! Ice was available only by a cooler outside the office which by 9 pm was mostly water. My neighbors got very noisy after 11 pm..not the hotels fault but I guess very thin walls. Could barely move in bathroom..live & learn..I will stick to other places on my trips to Nags Head!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beatrice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackwood, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Cheap quality motel! Uncomfortable beds, tiny bathroom with stall shower, noisy AC. Not even a phone in the room to contact the office which was across the street. Yes, you can walk to the beach across the street but that is it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Great location and reasonable price. Needs a bit of work, especially in the bathroom. When the tub is completely rusted through, it is time to spring for some repairs. Parking was a bit of a problem, but that was not management's fault. We should have had a spot in front of our room, but someone was always there.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WriterFace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bealeton, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We checked in 8/25/13 And we were very impressed with the price, the room was clean and people very friendly unlike the experience we had in Virginia beach I would absolutely go here again. we were able to walk across to the beach walk to a little store down the street etc>

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phyllis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owensnagshead, Manager at Owens' Motel, responded to this review, 18 July 2016
Thank you very much for staying with us and for writing such a kind and positive Tripadvisor review. We wish you all the best and hope you will return to see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
6.4 mi away
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
#13 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
3.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#8 of 13 in Nags Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
9.3 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
0.6 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Owens' Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Owens' Motel

Property: Owens' Motel
Address: 7115 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9127
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Owens' Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owens Motel is a family owned and operated motel that is located on the beach in South Nags Head. Clean, cozy rooms at affordable rates. Where families, fishermen, golfers and bikers are always welcome. Accomodations include oceanfront efficiencies, oceanside rooms, westside courtyard and westside rooms. The oceanfront barbeque grill and picnic are a favorite spot. Located directly across from the beach road, you'll find our clean, refreshing swimming pool. Daily maid service, air conditioning and cable TV are part of the ammenities that will make your stay memorable. The motel is located in the center of it all. Close to the Oregon Inlet Fishing Center, Pirates Cove Fishing Center, Jennettes Pier, Tanger Outlet Mall, Jockey Ridge State Park, The NC Aquarium, Elizabethan Gardens, Historic Manteo and the Lost Colony. Owens Restaurant, a AAA Three Diamond Award Restaurant is right next door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Owens' Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Owens` Hotel Nags Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing