We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not meet my expectation and was very displeased.”
Review of Owens' Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Owens' Motel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This was my first visit to Nags Heads, NC. We stayed in the Westside Courtyard of Owens Motel; I would have to say that I was displeased with my stay. The room had a faint smell of mildew as we entered the room. There were no toiletries available –hand soap, facial soap, shampoo/condition or hand location, nor facial tissue.
The space was small and there was no access to Wi-Fi in or around the surrounding area and there was no phone in the room to call for room service, but there was a phone book.
The location of the hotel was great not far from the Jennette’s Pier or the beachfront. For the value of the money I will have say, “You pay for want you get”. Room was small and again I will have to say that cleanliness was not on the high level if I smell mildew. Service I would have to say Staff was friendly when addressed but I can’t really say.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

I think the people writing bad reviews about this place are way to picky. Yeah the bathrooms are small and the picnic area is dated, so what, it's what you expect to pay for nothing more nothing less. I expect a clean room and a decent bed. That's what we got.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank pchack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My husband and I booked a room for us for a Friday night while we waited for our house key the next day in July 2013. We have stayed at Owen's before so we knew the layout of the motel and what the rooms are like. We had two good friends with us this time who had never stayed there before. We arrived around 3 and both of our rooms were ready for us and they had put us side by side like we asked. We always stay in the rooms across the street from the office and beside the restaurant. I think they call those the West Side? Anyway, both of our rooms were clean and we had no bug issues or any complaints about the air conditioners, mini fridge or bathrooms. Are the rooms large? Not by any means. The bathrooms aren't large either, but big enough for one person to be in there getting showered etc. We love the location of this motel and the fact you can walk to either Sam and Omie's or The Dunes for a good meal. Both are also excellent for breakfast in the morning. We were able to get parking spots right in front of our doors and changed and went to the pool. It was clean, although from all the people using sunscreen, there was a film on top of the water that comes from people who spray on their sunscreen and then immediately jump into a pool. Apparently they don't read the directions which say "apply 20 minutes before sun exposure." It was really hot out, so after a while and a few beers, no one cared and we were in that pool to cool off. We have eaten at Owen's Restaurant several times and always have a fabulous meal there, so don't hesitate to try it if you are there. We are booked into this motel again for this July, 2014 and so are our friends. We look forward to staying there and would recommend this motel to anyone looking for a good deal, a great location and a comfortable room to stay in. No, it's not the Holiday Inn, but it's family owned and they take pride in their motel.

Room Tip: The rooms across from the pool are not as old as some of the ones on the same side as the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salanay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The room was small and smelled like old lotion, there was no internet or phone, the air conditioner was so loud we could barely have a conversation, the shower was a single stall with nowhere to put toiletries, the only ice available was dirty and kept in a cooler across the street, and the door key kept getting stuck in the door. All of that would have been fine if we could have had a decent night's sleep during our stay. That was absolutely impossible on the brick-like bed and flat pillows provided. We're both under thirty and after one day our backs were sore. After three, we were ready to flee. Without a doubt the worst hotel bed I've ever slept in.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fluffysellscars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We've been going to the Outer Banks area for over 16 yrs..have stayed in different hotels and house rentals. Needed a one night stay for business reasons so picked Owens. Poor choice! Next to the bed were several dead bugs in a layer of dust..taking up much needed space in a very small room. A picture on the wall near the door was pretty..except for the splashes of something all over it & the wall next to it! Ice was available only by a cooler outside the office which by 9 pm was mostly water. My neighbors got very noisy after 11 pm..not the hotels fault but I guess very thin walls. Could barely move in bathroom..live & learn..I will stick to other places on my trips to Nags Head!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beatrice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Cheap quality motel! Uncomfortable beds, tiny bathroom with stall shower, noisy AC. Not even a phone in the room to contact the office which was across the street. Yes, you can walk to the beach across the street but that is it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Great location and reasonable price. Needs a bit of work, especially in the bathroom. When the tub is completely rusted through, it is time to spring for some repairs. Parking was a bit of a problem, but that was not management's fault. We should have had a spot in front of our room, but someone was always there.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WriterFace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
9.3 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
909 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
6.4 mi away
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
#13 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
496 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
7.9 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Owens' Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Owens' Motel

Address: 7115 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9127
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range: £55 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Owens' Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owens Motel is a family owned and operated motel that is located on the beach in South Nags Head. Clean, cozy rooms at affordable rates. Where families, fishermen, golfers and bikers are always welcome. Accomodations include oceanfront efficiencies, oceanside rooms, westside courtyard and westside rooms. The oceanfront barbeque grill and picnic are a favorite spot. Located directly across from the beach road, you'll find our clean, refreshing swimming pool. Daily maid service, air conditioning and cable TV are part of the ammenities that will make your stay memorable. The motel is located in the center of it all. Close to the Oregon Inlet Fishing Center, Pirates Cove Fishing Center, Jennettes Pier, Tanger Outlet Mall, Jockey Ridge State Park, The NC Aquarium, Elizabethan Gardens, Historic Manteo and the Lost Colony. Owens Restaurant, a AAA Three Diamond Award Restaurant is right next door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Owens' Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Owens` Hotel Nags Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing