We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Owen's Motel and the Restaurant, too.”
Review of Owens' Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Owens' Motel
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Love Owen's Motel and the Restaurant, too.”
Reviewed 20 September 2010

This was our second stay at Owen's Motel in Nags Head, North Carolina. We arrived around 3:00 on Friday, July 9th and were immediately given the key to our room. We stayed two nights, checking out on Sunday to move down the road to a resort in Kill Devil Hills. Most of the rooms have been updated and the one we had was very clean and nicely decorated in a beach theme. We had asked that our friends room be close to ours and they were right beside us, just like last year. Our daughters stayed in what the motel called an oceanfront room, across the road from us down from the main office, which actually faced a driveway, and it was not as updated as ours was. Our rooms were back across from the pool and behind the restaurant, but we would rather be near the pool than the ocean so this is wonderful for us. Staff is very helpful and pleasant and we have no complaints at all. Cleaning staff does a great job as well. While you are there you must go to dinner at the restaurant, it's fabulous! We had one of the best meals we've ever had in the Outer Banks there.

What was the nicest thing about this place is the grounds keeper, Don. He's been there for years and remembered us from our previous visit. He is the friendliest staff member they have and the most helpful. We were staying at the motel until Sunday afternoon until we could check in at the condo down the road we had booked for the rest of the week. Checkout at Owen's was 11:00 and we weren't going to be given our key to the condo until 3:00, maybe even 4:00 Sunday afternoon. We asked the office for a late checkout and they granted us one until 1:00 so we had somewhere to stay as long as possible. By this time we had other people who were going to the condo with us and had no where to wait for our condo keys. Don told us it was fine for us all to stay and swim in Owen's pool until we could check in at the condo, and no one in the office came over and threw us out of the pool, even though we technically were no longer guests at the hotel. We so appreciated this kindness!!! I highly recommend this motel to anyone staying at the Outer Banks and we will go back again next summer, that's for sure. See you then, Don!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank salanay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    34
    28
    27
    10
See reviews for
36
49
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2010

I stayed one night at the Owens' Motel. My boyfriend and I were upgraded to an oceanfront room since the West Courtyard rooms we initially reserved had been overbooked. The view was breathtaking, we had our own private balcony. The room had two queen beds and while tiny, a recently renovated bathroom with a very modern shower. We were in the middle room on the 3rd floor with two rooms on either side of us. Unfortunately the walls are very thin and we were kept awake by the TV and talking of guests on either side of us.

There is no ice machine, but there is a cooler located just outside the check-in office that has ice in it as well as a couple of soda and snack machines.

Overall, I'd say if you have a room like ours, it is tolerable for a night or two if you have an ocean view.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ravishinglylow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2010

For those unfamiliar with Nags Head, there is only 1 "high rise" hotel. (and that one is only 7 stories) I stayed in one of the oceanfront rooms. It was part of a building that was 3 stories tall, with 3 rooms on each floor.

The location and views are the best parts of the hotel. You are within walking distance to several restaurants, (one of the restaurants is also owned by the Owens family) shops, and the Tanger Outlets.

The main drawbacks for me were the paper thin walls and limited parking on the oceanside. We were in the middle room on the 3rd floor and could hear the TV's and conversations of people on either side of us.

I don't understand the review from 8-11-10. I stayed a month after them and found the room to be a bit larger than most hotel rooms, and quite airy. I didn't turn on the AC or fan while there; I kept the window and balcony door open to take advantage of the ocean breeze. My room had a full sized fridge, stove, coffee maker, table w/ 4 chairs.

The bathroom was a bit small, but I had no problems with the shower as others have stated. I could tell that the bathroom had recently been completely renovated.


This is a great hotel for those on a budget that still want to stay somewhere nice. There is a drink machine, but they have no ice maker. They had a cooler next to the office full of ice.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SonicScrewdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrboro
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

At the last minute we (me, husband and our boys ages 13 and 15) decided to take a weekend vacation at the beach on the Outer Banks. I had been to the area many many times and yet had never stayed in Nags Head. We wanted oceanfront property and a view. We booked with Owens Motel and from the first call until we left they were wonderful. Warm, professional, and friendly. My husband and I stayed in one room and our two boys stayed in a room next door. We were on the second level with a balcony right on the waterfront. The rooms are not fancy, but very comfortable, nicely decorated and extremely clean and fresh. We had a nice sized kitchenette with stove, sink, fridge, table and chairs. We had our breakfasts there and made lunches for the beach from there, as well. Our rooms each had two double beds and two small but comfortable chairs. The building we stayed in is right on the water front so the kids went ghost crab hunting with flashlights at night, watched the moon rise from the balcony (beautiful!) not to mention up and in the water early each morning. We could walk to a small store nearby for groceries as needed. We will certainly go again! Thank you to Owens and their staff.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Captainsdaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

We stayed in an efficiency (full kitchen, 2 doubles, couple of arm chairs) in the 3 story building right on the beach. Cost over $200 a night in August but the location could not have been better. Sitting on our balcony was like sitting on the beach. We had a 2nd fl room. I thought this was perfect. The 3rd floor had no roof over the balconies-so full sun all day. The 1st fl was slightly below dune level but still had a great view (with no balcony railings) but I liked being above the beach traffic. The efficiency rooms had been updated and were clean and bright with newer furnishings and appliances. Except, unfortunately, for the mattresses and bed linen. Hard mattresses, hospital-type sheets, and very worn blankets. I mentioned this at check out- maybe it will help. This area of the beach was busy but not too crowded. There were no large hotels nearby so not too many lights at night, making for good stargazing. As mentioned in other reviews, the staff was very nice. We also stayed in a courtyard room across/slightly down the street for one night ($150). These were also updated and had small firdge, microwave and coffee maker. The other beachside rooms (1 story building behind the efficiencies) had no view anyway and looked dark with the old pannelling. Overall, it was an enjoyable stay. Having that balcony right on the beach was the best!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktjnemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Point, VA
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2010

We booked an efficiency through Expedia - when we got to the motel we were not given an efficiency but a small, musty dark room with 2 double beds, a coffee maker, small fridge and a microwave. The bathroom was very small and the shower filled with water within seconds of starting a shower. There were no electrical outlets in the bathroom so we had to unplug the lights in order to plug in our hair appliances or chargers for our cell phones. My husband had brought his laptop and could not pick up the internet from where we were. The parking lot was small and if you got back to the room too late then you had to park behind the restaurant. Also, the pool was located at the restaurant next door and we had to cross the busy street in order to get to the beach. The staff was very friendly, however and we did enjoy our stay. We won't book this motel in the future, though.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flutergirl62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nags Head hotels

Carteret, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2010

My husband and I stayed in an ocean front efficiency for 3 nights. We sadly found that we overpaid for what we got. To begin, the lock to the room did not operate properly and took quite some time to open. The bathroom had no electrical outlets whatsoever and the exhaust fan was broken. Furthermore, the water pressure in the shower was non existent . There were no hangers in the closet. A bedside lamp did not work because the entire electrical outlet was bad. Our beds were made one time only. There was no restocking of any pantry items such as coffee, sugar, etc.
For what we paid, the amenities could certainly have been better. Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJU021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#9 of 13 in Nags Head
173 reviews
6.4 mi away
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
9.3 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
836 reviews
0.6 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Owens' Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Owens' Motel

Property: Owens' Motel
Address: 7115 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9127
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Owens' Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owens Motel is a family owned and operated motel that is located on the beach in South Nags Head. Clean, cozy rooms at affordable rates. Where families, fishermen, golfers and bikers are always welcome. Accomodations include oceanfront efficiencies, oceanside rooms, westside courtyard and westside rooms. The oceanfront barbeque grill and picnic are a favorite spot. Located directly across from the beach road, you'll find our clean, refreshing swimming pool. Daily maid service, air conditioning and cable TV are part of the ammenities that will make your stay memorable. The motel is located in the center of it all. Close to the Oregon Inlet Fishing Center, Pirates Cove Fishing Center, Jennettes Pier, Tanger Outlet Mall, Jockey Ridge State Park, The NC Aquarium, Elizabethan Gardens, Historic Manteo and the Lost Colony. Owens Restaurant, a AAA Three Diamond Award Restaurant is right next door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Owens' Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Owens` Hotel Nags Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing