We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed again for the 3rd year in a row”
Review of Tar Heel Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tar Heel Motel
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Reviewed 13 February 2013

I stayed here again August 2012 for 3 nights. I was given a remodeled room and had a pleasant time there. This motel by no means is "fancy", but by the prices (89.00 a night), that shouldn't come as a surprise to anyone. My room was clean, staff was friendly, A/C worked wonderfully, and the bathroom was fine.

I go down to the OBX for their beaches, so a clean, safe place for me to sleep at night is all I look for - and the Tar Heel provides that. The staff is wonderful too...Yes, there are things they could improve on, but it's like that no matter where you stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Msavoy97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2012

+'s are a very good air conditioner, refrigerator, microwave, good bed, good parking, nice location, good lighting, and when I stayed here in mid September a good rate. The bed I found to be decent but not great so I give that a neutral. The -'s are no telephone in rooms, wobbly table in mine, venetian blind didn't have a rod to close them so I had to reach up to the top of the blinds and turn what normally would be turned by the rod, and the shower was not great as far as pressure goes.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tfberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Stayed 4days 3nights in mid September with husband in room #30. The room was very clean, the mattresses were almost new. Bedding was clean and the towels were really nice quality. The motel is older like a lot of other motels in that area but it is in awesome location. The staff was very nice as well. Please do not expect to stay at a fancy resort~ based on the rates you should know this is a BUDGET motel. It has all you need for a comfortable stay to enjoy the Outer Banks. We also used the pool, picnic area. The pool was very clean and the bbq we used worked well and took advantage of the picnic area. Overall a great stay and we will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cntrygrl1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

I just don't understand some of these reviews....the Tar heel offers clean comfortable rooms at a great price....no it doesn't have fully stocked kitchens or full size tubs.....if you want those amenities, you should rent a house or cottage.....trhe office staff is very helpful and knowledgable about the area....just ask them for tips and hints....the housekeeping staff is second to none and the motel provides a pool, a grill and clotheslines....you can spend twice as much on a room down here and not be as satisfied as we were....we will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank postalboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We were overwhelmed trying to figure out how we could possibly afford to take the family to the Outer Banks (during busy season). Then, like an answer to a prayer, I stumbled across the Tar Heel Motel. Very easy online reservation with the best rates to be found anywhere in the area. Amazing specials on top of the already low prices! Perfect location. Clean rooms. Friendly and extremely attentive staff.

We weren't looking for a Hilton with a long list of amenities. We were looking for a comfortable, clean place to crash in the evenings while exploring. I don't know about all of the rooms, but ours had a good-size (not full-size, but not mini) fridge, which was a nice surprise when you're storing food & drinks for the whole family.

We couldn't have asked for a nicer home away from home on our OBX trip. As long as your expectations are realistic, you're sure to be happy with your stay here. I know that when we make it back to the Carolina coast, I won't look for a room anywhere else!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YOLANDA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We decided to head to OBX very last minute, so the choices were very limited. We could not find a place right on the water, so we had to find the next best thing. This motel is across from the beach, you can't hear the waves or see the ocean from here.
Although functional, there is no room to put anything. We stayed in a kitchenette unit. Yes, it is a kitchen but there is no counter space and cooking is quite the challenge. Bring your own pots and pans because they supply you with 2 little pans you cannot cook much in.
The bathroom is a joke. The stall shower is so small, when you bend down to shave your legs, you bang your back off the walls. The water drips out of the shower head. There is nowhere to put your brushes and hair dryer, so you will have to dry your hair in the bedroom area.
The mattresses are very thin but not terribly uncomfortable. They have plastic wrapped around them so be prepared for noise while turning.
Do your homework before you head down~ the room has no information as to where there's a laundromat, bank, or anything.
This place is clean so I can't say much on that. If you can deal with very cramped quarters and pretty much roughing it for your stay, this place is for you. If you require space and like to cook, look for somewhere else to stay because the lack of counter space will get on your nerves.
If you are looking for budget, call this motel.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kialono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Spent the week at the TAR HEEL MOTEL and had a great time. If you are looking for a reasonably priced beach hotel that is very family and budget friendly then look no further. We are beach bums and didn't want to spend a fortune on a room, especially with 3 kids. Just wanted a place to shower and sleep and not worry 'bout treckin too much sand in the place. It is a bit dated, but that only adds to the charm of the place- it feels like a place on the beach should. If you are looking for a luxurious yuppieified place this is not for you. Staff was great. Pool was clean. Bathroom brand new. Comfy beds and plenty of towels!! Great beach access and The Dunes restaurant is right next door. Also close to Jeanette's fishing Pier. Just a great value!!

Room Tip: Get a room on the pool side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ellen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
0.2 mi away
Owens' Motel
Owens' Motel
#10 of 13 in Nags Head
127 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
0.4 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
8 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,194 reviews
6.5 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tar Heel Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tar Heel Motel

Address: 7010 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9124
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range: £44 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tar Heel Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kick off your shoes and relax ole' Nags Head Style at the Tar Heel Motel of the Outer Banks. Walk to the beach, enjoy our pool, grill out in our picnic area. All rooms have microwave, mini-fridge, cable tv and free WiFi. The Tar Heel is in walking distance of restaurants and fishing piers as well as shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tar Heel Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tar Heel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing