We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay-Great People” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tar Heel Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tar Heel Motel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Stay-Great People”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed at the Tar Heel for a summer wedding at the Outer Banks. Great job by the staff keeping everyone happy and all the rooms cleaned. They had no problems getting us extra pillows, ironing boards, directions, etc. Everything we couldn't bring from home, or forgot, they helped us out with. The place was very good and at the lowest price around.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Veleno45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    21
    15
    11
    5
See reviews for
39
22
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roxboro, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

If I could afford to stay in a 5 star hotel in Vegas, surrounded by strippers, playing slots, I wouldn't be spending my vacation in Nags Head. That being said, I was very pleased with my room. It was clean, well maintained, and worth the price I paid for it. I needed a nice place to sleep, while I was relaxing at the beach, and this is exactly what I got. The towels were clean, and the shower was hot. The TV worked, unlike some other places I've stayed at. It was everything I could ask for in a room at the beach.

Room Tip: Off season is usually the best time for a quiet vacation, and the best prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fm9572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We were in room 24 and it was filthy and disgusting. Three-quarters of the ceiling border in the bathroom is covered in mold, it's very dark and the room smells musty/mildew. It's cheap and across the street from the beach but I don't think the rate is worth it. I have random bites on my stomach and neck and am not sure yet if they are bedbugs or not.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC_Islander_12, Manager at Tar Heel Motel, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
We are truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the Tar Heel Motel. You stayed in a room that has not been refurbished but I can guarantee that it is clean and bed bug free. The poolside rooms are dark with the original paneling with the exception of 26 & 27 that have been redone. We take every precaution against bed bugs and we are thankful to say we have been bed bug free. Please note that mosquitoes are the biggest threat in the Outer Banks.

We highly recommend that if there are any issues or questions that a guest speak with the front office staff or to housekeeping. Housekeeping comes daily and any concerns can be easily addressed if known to the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burkes Garden, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

My husband and I were very impressed. Though not the fanciest hotel/motel that we could have gone to, it was the most affordable by far. The staff are all great, the rooms clean and the beds are very comfortable. ...and best of all, 2 minutes to the beach! Will not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

I didn't expect much due to the very low price but it seemed that everyone was having plumbing issues, myself included. Saw many neighbors getting plungers from the office. Was told that since the motel was full it was an ongoing issue, the tub did not drain and I stayed for 3 days with no housing keeping coming to unit. I probably would never post this for the later 2 issues but if you don't mind constantly plunging you tiolet, then place is ok.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phillygur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC_Islander_12, Manager at Tar Heel Motel, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us at the Tar Heel. We are on an island that has septic tanks and unfortunately all businesses here suffer when there has been too much rain and a lot of guests. We do apologize that it dampened your stay.

We take pride in the cleanliness and service we provide to our guests. Housekeeping does start servicing at 9:00 am every day, should a room have a "Do Not Disturb" on the door they will pass it and move on to the next room. When housekeeping is done, they leave for the day and service is not provided later in the afternoon. The front office does have a supply of towels and toiletries should a guest request something later.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmville, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

Once again the Tar Heel Motel didn't let us down! We love to stay here! We have 3 kids, so budgeting is a big part of our vacation. We don't believe in paying a king's ransom for a place to get cleaned up and sleep. The Tar Heel is a great place to stay. We have stayed here for the last three years. The staff is great. The room is clean. All linens are clean. Bathroom was spotless. No critters. Cold A/C. Crystal clear pool. Right in between great beach access and Jennette's Pier- the best pier in OBX. My older kids can go to the beach...my hubby can go fish... and I can stay at the pool with the little one and we are all within a few minutes of each other. It is a working class motel and we are most grateful for it. My kids love it and so does our bank account. See y'all next year!!

Room Tip: If you have little ones a poolside room is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ellen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

If you need a place in nags head for a vacation, without having to spend thousands of dollars. The Tar Heel Motel fits the bill.Y our close to the fishing pier and across the street from the beach, the rooms are clean and bug free, I had an excellent weekend vacation on short notice.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank martinb839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
0.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#9 of 13 in Nags Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
#13 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
3.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
9.1 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
6.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tar Heel Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tar Heel Motel

Property: Tar Heel Motel
Address: 7010 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9124
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Tar Heel Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kick off your shoes and relax ole' Nags Head Style at the Tar Heel Motel of the Outer Banks. Walk to the beach, enjoy our pool, grill out in our picnic area. All rooms have microwave, mini-fridge, cable tv and free WiFi. The Tar Heel is in walking distance of restaurants and fishing piers as well as shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Tar Heel Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tar Heel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing