We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatest Vacation Ever”
Review of Islander Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nags Head
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Islander Motel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Reviewed 27 May 2012

THIS IS THE PLACE YOU WANT TO STAY! We arrived in OBX to find this very nice motel that met our every need! Great place to stay with extremely nice folks. It's my new favorite motel. Rooms were well maintained, EXCELLENT VIEW! The beach is less crowded in this area too.

Room Tip: Take something on the 3rd floor for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OBXTravelGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2012

Nothing fancy but the Islander is affordable and allways does the job for me.They are a clean place with a very nice pool and pool area.The owners are nice and they are oceanfront.You are not paying 5 star rates so there is no need to complain when you dont get a 5 star resort.I will be back to the Islander and have no problem recomending it to anyone else.It is a very relaxing place at the beach for a long weekend or a week stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kvilletraveler_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We went right after Hurricane Irene and some parts had been devastated. We delayed our trip by one day due to road closing. When we arrived, it was amazing the cleanup this hotel had done to make ready for guests and it was greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lynndda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Very disappointed in this place. My oceanfront balcony was mostly glassed in, with only a small window that could be opened. With the air conditioning unit venting out to the balcony it was like a sauna - could not even sit out there! They only provide you with soap, no shampoo or any extras. They dont even supply coffee for the in-room coffee makers. There are much nicer places in Nags Head for about the same price, so avoid the Islander.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

When we arrived there wasn't anyone at the front desk and had to wait 30 minutes for the clerk to return. That was the only hang up that we had. Get a third floor room so that you can view the ocean. Rooms could use a little updating. It is nicer than some of the other local motels in the area. The location is perfect to travel up and down the OBX. Grounds are kept well and a very short walk out to the beach. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank victoriarae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

One of the things that sets this motel apart is the landscaping. Rather than being surrounded by sand everywhere, they have a nice lawn and shrubbery surrounding the two buildings and the small outdoor pool. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and had an average amount of space. There was a slight bleach odor when we first arrived but it was not overwhelming. We were pleasantly surprised to find the two queen beds in our room were NOT worn out!! The faucet handle in the bathroom sink was not on tightly and came off in my hand. A small annoyance. The telephone stopped working within an hour of our arrival. It was replaced later that evening.
ALL of the balconies in this place are enclosed with plexiglass making them VERY warm and stuffy, rather tahn being open and airy. Although our balcony faced the beach, the railing and plexiglass prevented us from being able to enjoy it. For that reason alone this motel will not be our first choice when we return. The pool is quite small, so don't plan on swimming in it as it is only large enough for floating around.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the beach you must be on the second or third floor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank headhoser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Unfortunately, when we booked our stay at the Islander Motel we were unaware that there was a lot of work being done on the beach. This was a disappoinment but not a dealbreaker. And the rooms were nothing fancy, but were reasonable for the pricepoint. However, the staffmember who checked us in and out was incredibly rude. When paying good money and giving business to an establishment such as this, we expect the staff to be polite at the very least. We arrived about an hour or so early, before the motel's designated check-in time. When I went inside to ask the female staff member on duty for a restaurant recommendation she sternly told me that I could not "hang out" on the grounds before check in time. Her attitude and lack of manners was consistent throughout our stay at the Islander. With so many options up and down Virginia Dare Trail, we will be looking elsewhere the next time we need a place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hlopez79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
0.3 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,595 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Owens' Motel
Owens' Motel
#11 of 13 in Nags Head
126 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#9 of 13 in Nags Head
183 reviews
9.1 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islander Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Motel

Address: 7001 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9125
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Price Range: £66 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Nags Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing