We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very clean...steps away from ocean”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Islander Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nags Head
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Islander Motel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Cleveland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very clean...steps away from ocean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Our first family trip to the Outer Banks, we chose The Islander motel. We visited last month. We stayed on the 3rd floor. Room was very clean. Bathroom was smaller than I like, but clean. Mini fridge kept things cold. Wifi was slow at times. We originally only booked for 3 nights, but enjoyed our stay so much we stayed a 4th night. Maid service was great. When we returned each day, room was spotless and always plenty of towels and clean sheets. Literally just steps from the beautiful ocean. Only negative thing was our balcony door was really tricky...the lock acted up a few times. Beautiful landscaping. We had a great time and we will definately stay here again next summer!

Room Tip: For the best view, get a 3rd floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    34
    7
    6
    2
See reviews for
33
21
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Pros:
- Service was outstanding! The owner was very helpful, helped us with our bags, gave us some pointers and was just downright super-friendly. We felt very well-taken care of.
- Our 3rd floor room was clean, pretty spacious for one with 2 beds, and we had a nice view of the ocean. It's always nice to wake up to that kind of a sight.
- They have a private beach entrance, which doesn't involve walking in zig-zags.
- The outdoor pool is clean, plenty of seating on the deck, as well as some pool noodles and a beach ball.
- There's a space to have an outdoor barbeque and sit at a table, although I never used it.
- The value of the place, in my opinion, is excellent. You won't get an oceanfront room at Nags Head for this price with all the amenities, the cleanliness, and the outstanding service!

Cons:
- The TV was a bit small, and there were some issues with the channels once in a while.
- The pool is also a bit small. We went when a family of about 6-7 people were also there, and it felt like we were invading their private party. There's not much room to frolic in the pool when another group is also there.

Overall:
If you're looking for a quality oceanfront stay, definitely consider the Islander Motel. I would highly recommend it.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Buddos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

After doing much research on line I picked the Islander for it's price and location - reasonably priced, on the beach and "mid-banks". The motel was home base for our trips north to Corolla and south to Cape Hatteras. We were very pleased with our room, the housekeeping and the staff. Lovely grounds, in-room coffee, micro-wave and fridge. I highly recommend the Islander Motel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 947NancyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmville, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We have never stayed at the Islander Motel before- to be honest we always stayed at The Tar Heel across the street. However, after not being able to get a room there we decided to check it out. We were not disappointed. The room spotless! The housekeeping staff there is amazing. The cleanest room we have ever had on the island. We were staying on the first floor and you couldn't hear a peep from above or on either side of us. Beautiful landscaping and great beach access. Nice pool with plenty of chairs and umbrellas. We had an efficiency and it was well stocked with pots, pans, utensils, etc. The bathroom was recently updated and had a detachable shower head which made it very helpful in bathing our disabled child. Awesome bath towels as well. On site washer and dryer! Awesome with three kids. We enjoyed our stay so much that we decided to splurge on an extra night. Great location too..Forget Jeanette's Pier- the Outer Banks Fishing Pier is a short drive and a whole lot better! If you are a pretentious yuppie this place is not for you. It has that old beach motel feel too it and it probably won't be good enough for them. We will be back.

Room Tip: Upper floors have ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ellen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We just spent a very enjoyable 5 days at The islander, and as it was our first stay there, I wanted to post a review. We own a property in South Nags Head and rent it out during the full season. We always like to do a "mid-season check" on our house to make sure nothing is broken and that it is being well cared for by the property management company.

We have stayed at a couple of different hotels in Nags Head but will definitely be returning to the Islander. It has the perfect oceanfront location, a pool, landscaped gardens, BBQ locations with picnic tables, Hatteras Island two-seater swings under the shade, spotlessly clean and owners who make you feel very welcome.

The rooms on the first floor are efficiencies and the 2nd and 3rd floor rooms all have a microwave, coffee maker, coffee, a small refrigerator and the balconies overlook the ocean. Decor is a little dated but if that is important to you, then I suppose you have the option of spending $250+ per night at one of the larger hotels. Most important for us was the fact that the beds were very comfortable and once again, the room was spotlessly clean.

I saw a review criticizing the fact that the air conditioner vents onto the balcony but we were not bothered by that at all. I suppose if we were, all we would have to do is turn it off and then back on again when we went back inside. A small issue considering the affordability of this hotel!

I think it is a hidden gem on the beach road and as soon as we know our dates for 2015, we will be making our reservations!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marjorie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selinsgrove
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Chose this motel after searching and calling everyone on the outer banks. We were so pleasantly surprised. This motel is the PERFECT location. Our room overlooked the ocean. Was so wonderful to see the sunrise and sunset right from our balcony. The Islander has everything you need. Beach access right outside your room, heated pool, ice machine, wonderful staff, clean rooms, and tables outside to sit and relax. I have stayed at other motels here at the obx, and I was very impressed with this one. You just cannot beat the location for the price, and we like the easy access we had right to other attractions from that location. Just a hop skip and a jump to Roanoke Island, Bodie Lighthouse , and Pea Island. Loved our stay, and cannot wait to come Back!

Room Tip: Ocean view 2nd floor or 3rd
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank H0llyw00dM0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
107 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We were in the off season so got an unbelievable price. We were so impressed with the room size, fridge, microwave, free wifi, heated pool and beach access. This place is nothing fancy, lacks indoor hallways and electronic keys...things I'm more accustom to...but it MORE than met our needs and we completely enjoyed our stay. If we are ever back in the Outer Banks we will stay at the Islander Motel for sure!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Betsyat240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
0.3 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#8 of 13 in Nags Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
9.1 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.2 mi away
Owens' Motel
Owens' Motel
#13 of 13 in Nags Head
3.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islander Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Motel

Property: Islander Motel
Address: 7001 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9125
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Nags Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing