We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place To Relax!”
Review of Dunes South

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dunes South
Troutville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Great Place To Relax!”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We have been owners at Dunes South since 1979, and we own three weeks in unit 312, which is right on the beach. We have one summer week and two weeks at Christmas. Although it's nice to come in the summer, we prefer the winter weeks at the beach to just get away and relax. Most winters are still warm enough to walk on the beach and enjoy watching the waves roll in from the third floor living area deck, or the second floor master bedroom deck. The unit has 3 bedrooms and a loft, and is equipped with everything we need for cooking in and saving money. Management does have to replace items frequently because some people take things when they leave.
Our last visit was in the summer of 2012. We were excited to see that the city of Nags Head had increased the size of the beach and refurbished the dune line. However, we were disappointed that the pool had been taken out after the prior year hurricane had damaged both the pool and the gazebo. Owners will be voting on relocating the pool in 2013. Hopefully, it will be an enclosed pool, since owners and visitors were not able to use the pool except during the summer months.
Although there are not planned activities at the resort, there is no lack of activities in the area. We look forward to trying out new restaurants, especially those specializing in seafood. We can't get fresh seafood inland, so that's usually our eating out treat while visiting the Outer Banks. A must for seafood is Fisherman's Wharf in Manteo - a bit hard to find, but wonderful seafood! If you're adventurous, wind sailing off the dunes is a great experience. There is a fishing pier very near the resort for the fishing enthusiast. Also, the Wright Brother's Museum is a must see for the history buff. During the summer months, there is an outdoor play at Roanoke Island. Other sporting attractions in the area include: minature golfing, go cart racing, and arcade games. Be adventurous and visit the lighthouse or visit the less populated beaches and you might even spot wild horses.
I do relate to one comment about the unit, the furniture is in need of updating. Our unit had a mismatched group of furniture during the 2012 visit, but they were at least comfortable. Also, the twin bed matresses had been replaced from the previous visit. The queen and double beds appear to have been replaced as well, and a double bed was set up in the loft, which had previously had only a matress on the floor. So we all slept well, even if the furniture was dated in the living and dining areas. One thing I can compliment about the management, is that the unit has always been clean, and when we've had any problem, they were quick to respond.
So if you're looking for new furnishings and plush carpeting, you probably shouldn't choose the Outter Banks. But, if you are a beach lover and want to experience the great outdoors in a very relaxing setting, then Dunes South is the place for you. We are the only timeshare resort in Nags Head, so the beaches are not normally as crowded.

Room Tip: Units 311, 312, 313, 314 are all 3 BR/Lift and right on the beach. All are duplex units, so very li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Laura656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    9
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Piscataway, NJ, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

I rented unit 308 the week before so I was a little apprehensive but it turned out to be a very nice unit only about 40 yards to the beach. The unit was clean and well supplied. It had two bedrooms, two bath, and a jacuzzi in the master bathroom. The master bedroom had a TV with cable which was another surprise because we were told there was only one TV in the LR. We we able to get wifi in the unit even though the management lowered our expectations (which was good because they couldn't guarantee we would be able to get it). The signal strength was low but i was still able to surf the internet with little problem. Only slight negative was the kitchen was a little cramped so only one cook in this kitchen. I prefer to stay further north around MP 4 or 5 but if you're ok staying further south this is not a bad option, especially last minute.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We just returned from a week long stay at Dunes South. We had stayed here 2 years ago and had a better experience but this time we actually left a day early because the furniture and beds were so totally uncomfortable we couldn't stand it another day.
Pro's: Close to the beach. Close to fishing pier and awesome Fishheads Bar that features free live nightly entertainment and 10 cent shrimp. Relatively inexpensive in comparison with some rentals. Lovely sidewalk along the beach road for riding bikes, walking or jogging. All linens are provided, dish and laundry detergent, even toilet paper, trash bags and a roll of paper towels. Management for very responsive and quickly had a broken appliance repaired.
Con's: Security- don't leave anything outside your unit even for a minute. My husbands bike was outside the door for less than 30 minutes and it was stolen. Units are in disrepair. Water stains on the walls and ceilings, broken deck furniture, boards falling off the deck. Furnishings are old and very uncomfortable. We stayed in unit 301 and the living room furniture was a couch, loveseat and chair all were crate furniture. Sturdy but very uncomfortable and the upholstery had some holes in it. The mattresses on the beds were very uncomfortable. The kitchen was very sparsely supplied. Only 1 glass baking dish. Sufficient china, glasses and silverware. Most of the mixing bowls seemed like things you would buy at the dollar store. Owners could bring their pets but renters can't. The people staying next door had 2 giant dogs that barked frequently. The walls between units are thin and we were constantly hearing them opening and closing the sliding door, dogs barking and what sounded like playing indoor basketball next door.
Overall if you have low expectations you'll probably really love Dunes South. No more crate furniture for me.

Room Tip: Plan on bringing any type of kitchen tools you think you might use with you or else you might have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank spicer5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We exchanged on our timeshare for a week. Great beach front. We stayed in condo 323. The condo had some updates but could use some updates in the kitchen. Overall the charm grew on us for our first visit to Nags Head.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DJTTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainfield, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We are still staying in unit 306, one house off the beach but great views and large space. We have three bedrooms and a double bed in the loft, so really 4 bedrooms total. The decks are great, the area is nice and the beach is perfect. Having three baths is also nice. We exchanged using RCI, we have stayed in nicer places but considering it is spring break and we found a place large enough for 3 teenage boys and 3 adults we can't complain. Now some cons, but I am not whining, I just found out the boys don't have pillow cases, of course they don't say anything. Also the furniture is basic, but functional, the beds are what you expect, bring Advil and the kitchen is well stocked, but with worn out pans etc, bring Pam. This is place where you make your own fun, like the old fashioned vacations. We enjoyed walking the beach in the morning, hanging out playing bags and having some cocktails. The Nags Head Pier is an easy walk to fish from, they also have a nice little bar and ten cent shrimp. Once again, not a fancy place, very basic, but not bad for a large group, it is hard to find a large property to exchange for like this. I would return here again if nothing else was available to exchange for, I would like to find a newer unit, but this place had all we needed and we had a good time in OBX, we will leave with good memories.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PizzamanMKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

This was our first time staying at Dunes South, and we stayed one house away from the beach. While not ocean front, it had a gorgeous ocean view from both the living room and master bedroom. The master bedroom had an amazing Jacuzzi tub - perfect for soothing sore muscles after long walks in the sand.

The management staff was friendly and helpful. Our unit was clean and came ready with all the basics - even a blender that we used to make milkshakes! We loved the convenience of having firewood nearby and used the fireplace almost every night. Our teenage sons delighted in each having their own room, unlike places where we stayed in the past that required them to share one.

The unit was very spacious. The furniture was fairly current, and what pieces did look a little outdated (from the 80's or 90's in style) were still in good working condition and served their purpose. The unit looked to have undergone recent renovations, as there was new caulk around the tub and the light fixtures and curtains all looked new. The bedding in the master bedroom was so new that it still had creases from where it had been folded in its original packaging.

We loved Dunes South and would definitely stay here again, as well as recommend it to all our friends and family looking to stay in the Outer Banks area.

Room Tip: The units with three floors do have two sets of stairs that are a little steep. I would not recommen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Madelyne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2011

We stayed here with 3 young children (one being a toddler) and it was decent -- not fabulous, not terrible. This was a trade through RCI. We stayed in Unit 301.

Pros:
1. Great location, MP 18, nice walkway, and access to beach.
2. Well-stocked bed linens & towels.
3. Bathrooms, bare floors, kitchen were very clean.
4. Management staff were super-helpful
5. Kitchen well-stocked; plenty of laundry, dishwasher & dish detergent provided. (Firewood provided as well if you want to use the fireplace.)

Cons:
1. Could hear couple, tv, in other unit through shared wall. And, unfortunately, they could probably hear us especially when the baby was crying...
2. Very dated exterior, decor and furniture -- dog fur on couches and carpet (carpet could use a serious shampoo/steam cleaning!!!).
3. Lots of road noise in our Unit since the Unit is located right on the street.

Other Units are in the process of being renovated and look promising (from the outside, that is!).

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank M1N2E3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
16.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
8.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,477 reviews
8.4 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#13 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
#2 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
854 reviews
9.6 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,214 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hamilton Cay at Bermuda Bay
Hamilton Cay at Bermuda Bay
#15 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes South

Property: Dunes South
Address: 8645 S Old Oregon Inlet Rd, Nags Head, NC 27959-9300
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Nags Head
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dunes South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Dunes South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes South Hotel Nags Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing