We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Nags Head!”
Review of First Colony Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
First Colony Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Nags Head B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great stay in Nags Head!”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the First Colony Inn. We stayed in room #15 (Jane Jones). The room was very large, clean, and comfortable. We took in their happy hour both days which we enjoyed. The only thing we were just a little disappointed with when compared to the B&B we stayed at the previous night was the breakfast. The amount of choices was great and plentiful (fruit, cereal, bagels/toast, and hot items such as quiche, eggs, bacon, sausage, etc). However we were pretty underwhelmed with the hot items as they were very "instant" and not fresh. Had a great stay! It was my birthday while we were their and my fiancé worked with them to surprise me with a birthday cake when we returned from our outing. The service was top notch!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OhMissO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah C, General Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Glad to hear you enjoyed your birthday getaway! I was in on the cake surprise... we can provide all sorts of goodies with a little lead time. Sometimes people even call and give us an order over the phone to surprise a friend or relative staying with us....
We sort of walk that fine line between "Inn" and "B&B", so sometimes we do take shortcuts in the kitchen because we're serving more guests than a typical B&B. We are happy to rustle something else up if the breakfast we're serving isn't what you had in mind.
Please come again anytime.

Best Regards,
Sarah Close
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    98
    12
    4
    7
See reviews for
66
224
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

This is a lovely charming hotel with very nice people. My room was large and comfortable. I did have a little trouble adjusting the heat, but it was me and the odd hours we were up during a photo workshop. The breakfast was a real one, with lots of choices and quality food. Even better - one morning when I missed breakfast, they got a bagel and cream cheese from the kitchen for me and let me eat in the dining room.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronazevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah C, General Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Well we do aim to please! We are happy to help you grab a quick bite if you've missed out, or sign for a package if you need to have on delivered. Whatever we can do to help make your stay more pleasant, we're on it. We've even been know to carry a PB&J or two across the street for a little ones...
Hope you also enjoyed the photography workshop as well~

Sarah Close
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at the end of a road trip through North and South Carolina. The First Colony Inn is lovely. Our room was spotless, the breakfast was great, lots of choice, the included afternoon tea was a pleasant surprise, wine and munchies! Easy access to the stunning beach about 2 minutes walk. The front desk staff suggested a wonderful local restaurant for dinner. It is a lovely historic building just the sort of place we like to return to. Room rates are very reasonable for this type of quality accomodation.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canadiangardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah C, General Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review! Yes, the walk to the beach from our private access is an easy one... and during the summer we make it easier by providing lightweight beach chairs and towels to take over. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed our restaurant recommendation- I always encourage guests to let us know what they think when they come back from dinner, so I know that we're on the right track with our descriptions.

Warm Regards,
Sarah Close
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We stayed at the First Colony Inn for a weekend when we were celebrating a milestone anniversary and we could not have asked for a better place. The rooms are quaint and tastefully decorated. We stayed at Room 11 the Margery Harvie room. The room was very spacious and had a 4 poster bed with a additional day bed. Our door opened out to a beautiful patio with a two person swing and rocking chairs. It was divine to sit on the swing watching the sunrise on the beach. The breakfast could have been better but I do not see any reason to complain, they had the usual cereals and coffee with some hot dishes. Since we were vegetarian we could not eat any of the hot dishes but we did try their cinnamon cake and it was good. The pool was closed when we were there but I think in season the garden and pool will be wonderful. We visited their library and it is a cute small place to relax and read. First Colony Inn is an awesome well maintained place with lots of history.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank V R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah C, General Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, 7 April 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review, and all of the lovely descriptives! Our pool is open Memorial Day to Labor Day, and a little longer if the weather holds. The next time you stay, please make the staff aware of your dietary needs- we'll be happy to make you something different if need be...no problem at all.

Warm Regards,
Sarah Close
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saco, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

This was our second visit to this wonderful place. We love the location, the decor,
And the atmosphere. Going again, you bet! I am told I need to write more, so here goes. Although this inn is not located directly on the beach, there is a short, pleasant walk to the beach. Be sure to drop by the small cafe to the left of the inn as you look at it. Great coffee & baked goods.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anitah1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah C, General Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, 7 April 2013
We're glad your second stay with us went well, and hope your third, fourth and fifth do as well! The cafe next door recently came under new ownership, and we try very hard to support our neighbors and fellow businesses....so we're happy to know you enjoyed them as well!

Thank you for your kind review, and we hope you see you soon,

Sarah Close
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

This was an anniversary weekend. We were only at the First Colony Inn for one night, but fell in love with the warm graciousness that carried us back to another era. We stayed in the Payne room and had a great view of a rather turbulent ocean. Cocktails and snacks in the late afternoon and a very nice breakfast to start the next day.

We will be back! Highly recommended for travellers who value convenient comfort in a historic setting.

Room Tip: The top floor offers the best views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 24Tuscany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah C, General Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, 7 April 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review~ as I stated in the review right before yours, we are always happy to be a part of a special occassion. Come again anytime....anniversary or not!

Sarah Close
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2013 via mobile

The First Colony Inn was great. We stayed a few nights for our 20th Anniversary and they were simply wonderful. Although it was off season this was one of the best places we have ever stayed. A great time and great people.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Js M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah C, General Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, 7 April 2013
We're so glad to hear that you had a great anniversary! We love special occassions, and feel honored when we can be a part, however small, in them. Please come again when you can!

Sarah Close
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
0.1 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,513 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
8.8 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
853 reviews
6.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Colony Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Colony Inn

Property: First Colony Inn
Address: 6715 S Croatan Hwy, Nags Head, NC 27959-9050
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — First Colony Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience real southern hospitality at the Outer Banks' only historic B&B. A deluxe continental breakfast with a "hot" dish is served each morning. Our rooms are as individual as our guests. Each has a private bath with fluffy towels on a heated towel bar and English toiletries. Television, telephone, and refrigerator are standard in each room. Luxury rooms boast wet bars and kitchenettes, and some have Jacuzzi whirlpool tubs, sitting rooms or private screened porches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your First Colony Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
First Colony Hotel Nags Head
1st Colony Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing