We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“will be back next year!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of First Colony Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
First Colony Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Nags Head B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“will be back next year!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2008

I have selected this inn based on the nice reviews from tripadvisor.com.
This place is a historic inn, nicely decorated with antiques . We stayed in a room #6 on a first floor. it was lovely, spacious and very private. It didn't have a view of ocean or sound but we enjoyed our own very separate private covered balcony with couple of rocking chairs.
Staff is extremely nice and helpfull and breakfasts were really great and varying from day to day. Inn has a very short walk to the the beatiful beach on their own neat private boardwalk (you don't even need a shoes.)
Bathtowels, beach chairs and umbrellas were provide by the inn.
Wine, cheese, crackers and cookies from 3pm to 5 pm is a nice touch as well. Area has a LOT to ffer in addition to just being near the ocean. Hiking, nature preserves, state parks, etc etc etc
We are already talking by coming back next year and will be staying at the same place. Highly recommended! Place has a great value for price and definitely has touch of class.

  • Liked — location, feel, service, food, area attractions, distance to everything, less commercialized area
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank oleposya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    92
    12
    4
    7
See reviews for
63
210
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Providence Forge, Virginia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2008

What a beautiful B & B. Right on MP 16 with a view of the sound and right across the street from th ocean.
Decorated pretty, comfortable beds, plenty of room to stretch out on the decks with swings, chairs, etc.
Nice breakfast every morning with something hot, not just cereal, bagels, etc.
Nice happy hour in the afternoon that actually starts at 3:00 with wine, the best southern sweet tea and snacks. It was perfect to take by the pool and relax.
The only drawback is that the walls are thin and you can "hear" what is going on in the next suite if you know what I mean. I was woken a few times from the goings on in the next room. If they could sound proof a little better, it would be the most perfect spot.
They have their own private walk way to the beach.
There is lots of room-the outside property is huge.
Everyone is super nice that works there and Tom the Innkeeper is very sweet and accomodating.
The only other thing is that they need to make certain areas outside on the deck smoking and non-smoking. It is distrurbing for someone like me that cannot stand the smell and while you are relaxing on a swing on the deck you get the smoke smell from someone smoking.
Otherwise, a perfect spot and I highly recommend it.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The thin walls
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NeedtoseeTheKeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fox River Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
333 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2008

We loved the First Colony Inn. The Inn is historic - great story; read the clippings in the dining room. Our room was better than described & included a microwave & fridge. We were in room 26 on the 3rd floor. At first, I was bummed about the climb up the stairs but in the end was glad, because we had a balcony plus it was quieter. Breakfast offers a great variety; only down side is it is a small breakfast area for the size of the inn, so you might have a brief wait for a table (or go outside or take food to your room). Another great feature was the afternoon tea - snacks, beverages (including wine). The Inn makes beach chairs and umbrellas available - another great service. As described, they have a private walkway to the beach, making the hotel practically on the beach. If we return to Nags Head, we will definitely return to First Colony Inn.

  • Liked — Helpful staff & location
  • Disliked — Crowded breakfast
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2008

We like B&B's with charm, character, good breakfasts and excellent value for the cost. FCI has them all.

We enjoyed our 4th visit as much as our first, largely due to a staff whose attentiveness surpasses the last Ritz-Carlton we visited. Late afternoon wine and cheese and desserts, plus good restaurant choices nearby, including Owens and Outback

Great value and highly recommended, especially out-of-season.

  • Liked — See Review
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank motohonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2008

In an era where most hotels have websites, but not all websites and hotel photos are accurate, I was pleasantly surprised to find that this Inn lived up to every promise of their website...and more!
This is sits just across from the ocean, in a less crowded area of the Outer Banks, which have become slightly over populated and commercialized. But this little Inn offers a quiet retreat like atmosphere, friendly service, a delicious breakfast - along with unexpected treats like a heated towel bar in the bathroom, a hammock and comfortable Adirondack chairs on their wrap around porch, a library and even Internet access for those who just can't truly break away. This place is an absolute treasure and an absolute value...especially in the off season!

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank TCaponera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adams center new york
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2008

Due to freezing rain and snow up north, we stayed at the First Colony Inn for two nights on our way home from a trip to the Charleston area. We would have loved to stay longer if we could have but we do plan on returning for another visit to the Outer Banks and will definitly stay here again. We love the whole country inn atmosphere, spacious grounds, chatting with other guests at breakfast, and relaxing with a glass of wine before going out for dinner in the evening. We felt that it was reasonably priced, very comfortable and convenient. The staff was friiendly and helpful without being cloying.
I had been to the Outer Banks thirty-five years ago and was shocked by how much it had changed. The First Colony Inn was like a step back in time but with all the modern ammenities including free wifi and cable TV. It was like a calming oasis in a sea of hype and commercialism. We hope it doesn't change!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pippin5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2007

AAA had some good reviews, got there and it sucked. Run down building at bes with smelly old rooms that are outdated. Stay away, pricing is HIGH!! Staff, or Manager is very rude when told of loud AC and lousy cable TV. Take your money and go somewhere else.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank ghtgmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
8.8 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
7.4 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
6.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Colony Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Colony Inn

Property: First Colony Inn
Address: 6715 S Croatan Hwy, Nags Head, NC 27959-9050
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — First Colony Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience real southern hospitality at the Outer Banks' only historic B&B. A deluxe continental breakfast with a "hot" dish is served each morning. Our rooms are as individual as our guests. Each has a private bath with fluffy towels on a heated towel bar and English toiletries. Television, telephone, and refrigerator are standard in each room. Luxury rooms boast wet bars and kitchenettes, and some have Jacuzzi whirlpool tubs, sitting rooms or private screened porches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your First Colony Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
First Colony Hotel Nags Head
1st Colony Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing