We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great getaway, great location!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of First Colony Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
First Colony Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Nags Head B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Eden, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great getaway, great location!!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The First Colony Inn provided a great location and relaxing environment for my girlfriend and I. The customer service was friendly and helpful, the room was spacious, and the mid-day wine and cheese was the icing on the cake. This was a great spot for relaxing and perfect access to the beach.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obxjm, Public Relations Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you so much for your nice review of First Colony Inn. We read each and every one of these on tripadvisor and it is always rewarding to hear that our guests had a good stay with us. Please come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    93
    12
    4
    7
See reviews for
63
211
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My wife and I just returned from our first trip to the Outer Banks. The First Colony Inn was a great place to stay. The room was spacious, the grounds were very nice, as was the pool. The beach was just a short distance away with a private access. The wrap around porch was wonderful. You could sit in any location and have a comfortable, cooling breeze. Breakfasts were very good and plentiful with different selections each day. The staff was terrific and very helpful with any questions. Chris was very helpful with restaurant recommendations especially for our anniversary. Thanks again. We would highly recommend the First Colony Inn.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obxjm, Public Relations Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
First of all, I hope you will come back to the Outer Banks many times and thank you for choosing to stay at First Colony Inn for your first visit.
Your kind review made our day. We like hearing from all of our guests and it sounds like you had a really nice stay, which is just what we like to hear.
Thank you again for taking the time to post your comments here. We do appreciate it and again, please come back just as soon as you can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North carolina
Level Contributor
204 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We made reservations at First Colony mainly because of its location just over the bridge on Nags Head. Boy did we make the right decision. This is a delightful Inn of 26 rooms that are on 3 floors of a 1900's style Inn. The rooms are large and well fitted. The wrap around porches have rockers and views in all directions. The Inn is located one block from beach with direct access path. The grounds of the Inn are spacious and allow for vistas in all direction and eliminate the usual cramped feeling you get at most beach hotels. As for the atomsphere and the staff. Both are first class. Especially the staff. It is obvious they enjoy running an Inn. They aim to please at evey turn. The Continental breakfast is more a full breakfast than not and the afternoon Tea with biscuits, pastry, coffee and wine was wonderful.
Additionally the clientele was an added treat. Whether it is normal to have guests from all over (Canada, India, Netherlands, Germany, Switzerland and USA) is not known but it certainly added to our stay.

Room Tip: Pick a room that faces the ocean. We stayed in room 17 that had a queen bed with a trundle, so my wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mengerrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Well, reading your review has made my week, and it is only Monday! We often do have international guests, which we love. I am so glad you appreciated the unique charm of our inn, we do enjoy working here and meeting all kinds of interesting people. Thank you for posting your review here. I hope you can come back to the Outer Banks and First Colony Inn again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

If you want to get away from the chain hotel atmosphere, then this is the place to go while in Nags Head. There is easy beach access, breakfast has an ample selection and the rooms are generous in size with a comfy bed. It was very quiet and peaceful and we actually slept well. There are some noisy little birds who start chirping quite early, but that was part of the charm of this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ken and cindy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you! Appreciate your kind review here for First Colony Inn. We are happy to hear you had a relaxing stay with us. Glad to hear you enjoyed our baby birds and their chirping. We think they are charming too. Please come back and thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Our recent Outer Banks trip was enjoyable, especially since we were fully rested, after over nighting at First Colony Inn. Each room is named after one of the first colonists to visit the NC shore back in the 1500 -1600's. This Inn is one of the first hotels constructed on the shore to offer overnight stays for early visitors to the island ... After all, the reporters and fans of Orville and Wilbur Wright caused a huge ruckus!

Antique filled large rooms with comfy beds and nice linens... what more do we need? Oh, the microwave, and mini fridge were handy as well. Breakfast in the morning was ample and tasty. Their private boardwalk stroll to the beach was great exercise... just across the street. It's so peaceful here at First Colony at the Outer Banks.

We'll be returning whenever we visit OBX. When there try these two restaurants, Owen's Seafood and Basnight's and your won't be disapointed.

Room Tip: Best ocean views are from the top floor rooms, they're especially large as well. They also offe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SweetLeilani53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Sounds like you did your research about the inn and our Outer Banks. We love to share the story of how the inn was moved from the oceanfront to its present location. We have been here a long time and really appreciate guests who appreciate the history of First Colony Inn. Thank you for sharing your experience and your tips for restaurants too. You picked two of the best places to eat on the entire Outer Banks. Please come back again and thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed one night. We liked the history of the old building and found the Agnes Wood room very comfortable. It was initially a little stale/musty but we opened the door to the small screened in porch and it was gone when we got back from dinner. Everything was clean and neat. Good bed. Easy beach access. Recommend sunset dinner at Millers.

The breakfast was the weak link. Not many options (Days Inn style Continental). Definitely nothing special.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank 764charlies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Clean and neat and comfortable; all words I look for when I read these reviews. It sounds like you had a nice stay and I definitely agree with your recommendation about a "sunset dinner" at Miller's Waterfront Restaurant. Good choice. Thank you for taking the time to post your review here and also for staying with us. We appreciate feedback and use it to help us provide superior customer service to our guests. Please come back when you can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

my wife and I and another couple stayed at this hotel in May 2014 and had a wonderful time. The building dating from 1932 was full of old fashioned elegance. Our room was clean and neat with a very comfortable bed.
Breakfasts were wide ranging and an afternoon tea featuring tea, coffee and wine with snacks was a nice feature.
The beach is a short walk from the hotel and they provide towels and chairs. Unfortunatley , the pool was not yet open for the season

Room Tip: there a wide range of rooms with different shapes and designs, there is no elevator so if stairs are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kkelly8826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
"Wonderful time, clean rooms, comfortable beds, nice breakfast." Thank you for posting your comments and mentioning all the above. We especially like the "old fashioned elegance" referral. We always appreciate hearing that our guests had a good stay and we sincerely hope you can come back to First Colony Inn and the Outer Banks soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
0.1 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,431 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
795 reviews
14.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
5.0 mi away
Nags Head Beach Inn
Nags Head Beach Inn
#5 of 5 in Nags Head
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Colony Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Colony Inn

Property: First Colony Inn
Address: 6715 S Croatan Hwy, Nags Head, NC 27959-9050
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — First Colony Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience real southern hospitality at the Outer Banks' only historic B&B. A deluxe continental breakfast with a "hot" dish is served each morning. Our rooms are as individual as our guests. Each has a private bath with fluffy towels on a heated towel bar and English toiletries. Television, telephone, and refrigerator are standard in each room. Luxury rooms boast wet bars and kitchenettes, and some have Jacuzzi whirlpool tubs, sitting rooms or private screened porches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your First Colony Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
First Colony Hotel Nags Head
1st Colony Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing