We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Transition Time”
Review of First Colony Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
First Colony Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Nags Head B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
La Plata, Maryland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Transition Time”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My husband and I have been traveling to Nagshead for the past 29 years with our two children. Recently both of our children moved out and we found ourselves going to the OB just the two of us. We found First Colony through Booking.com. All I can say is that we had certain expectations and First Colony exceeded them all! The room was very clean, the food was excellent and the "tea" in the afternoon was more than just a pleasant surprise. Paula at the front desk was happy and friendly and when she was not there the others were equally as nice! They attempted to make us feel welcome and satisfied even though we already loved the place. Not only would I recommend this place, I cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: The only recommendation I would have is that if you have a room on the third floor be aware that the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steelr98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obxjm, Public Relations Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you so very much for your review of First Colony Inn. Our goal is to exceed expectations and I am happy to hear that we did just that for you. It is also rewarding to hear that you want to come back and we hope you are able to do that soon. Fall is a lovely time to be here. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    97
    12
    4
    7
See reviews for
66
218
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This was our first visit to First Colony Inn, and we loved it! Definitely well-suited to couples, although we saw some guests with older children along. The atmosphere is quiet and relaxed, which was exactly what we wanted. An ideal location to just get away from all the hustle of daily life. The breakfast each morning (severed 8-9:30 a.m.) in the charming dining room was very good -- one hot dish (eggs, quiche, etc.) with breakfast meat and then a good selection of breads, a fresh baked good, cereals, etc. Lots of very good hot coffee. The dining room gets busy at times, and you may have to wait for a table, or, better yet, take your plates out the door to the lovely patio. This hotel is not right on the beach, there is one hotel between you and the shore, but it is an easy walk down a private boardwalk and very convenient. The hotel offers beach chairs, towels, and umbrellas to borrow, so no need to bring yours from home. Perfect! Location is great with a few things within walking distance, but everything within a short drive. The pool was sparkling clean and we enjoyed it and the pool deck with shade and comfy chairs. Our room was immaculate and well-appointed, even your own Keurig for early morning or late night coffee and a small refrigerator for drinks. If you are looking for the standard "hotel room" atmosphere, this is not for you, but we found our room to be exactly what we like, but it is by no means brand new. It has been wonderfully restored and updated. The bed was supremely comfortable. Overall a great visit, we'll be back.

Room Tip: Room 11, second floor corner is very quiet with lots of windows and veranda access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obxjm, Public Relations Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
As you can see, we do read and respond to every review we get for First Colony Inn and I have to say that yours made me smile. You perfectly described exactly how we want our guests to feel, and I enjoyed hearing that you had a good stay with us. You are right, we are not for everyone, but we have had many first timers, as you were, come and fall in love with our inn. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and please do come back when you can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

This was our second time staying at the First Colony Inn - love the Inn style and relaxed atmosphere!
The day starts off with a great/fresh morning breakfast - then grab towels, chairs and an umbrella (all available for use)and take the short wander over to the beach. Then after a day of sun and sand kick back on the deck and enjoy a glass of wine (or lemonade or sweet tea ) along with some snacks and maybe meet some folks as well. Inn also has a nice pool - our son always enjoyed cooling off in there after the beach.
The Inn is located in a great area - great sandwich shop, restaurants and amusements near by. Beach stores, ice cream places close by that you can walk to...we plan to visit again -

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obxjm, Public Relations Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
We appreciate all our guests and it makes us happy when we hear from repeat guests. Thanks for your comments. We know that these reviews are read and that other potential guests count on them for tips and suggestions. Please come back again just as soon as you can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

The first colony was a very pleasant surprise. It is a very charming inn with a great staff and the attention to detail is second to none. The breakfast was lovely, the afternoon wine and tea was a nice added touch. The location is central and close to the beach. I would recommend to stay! Bravo!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obxjm, Public Relations Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
We like to surprise people by exceeding their expectations, so thank you for letting us know we did so with you. We appreciate your review and your recommendation and hope you will be able to return to First Colony Inn again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here the week after July 4th - we were very happy with the Inn and the staff. The Inn and our room was very clean. The private beach access was great - just a quick walk down to the beach. Close to Jeannette's Pier - just a quick bike ride. The morning breakfast was very good each morning and the afternoon social was great each day. We had a lot of fun at this Inn. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We liked the second room floor we had - The second and first floors have a wrap around porch - the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Treefrogs1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obxjm, Public Relations Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thanks for your review of First Colony Inn. We read each and every one...and appreciate all feedback but it is especially nice to hear when our guests had a good stay with us. We like what we do and I think that is apparent in the way we treat our visitors. Please come back just as soon as you can and thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The First Colony Inn provided a great location and relaxing environment for my girlfriend and I. The customer service was friendly and helpful, the room was spacious, and the mid-day wine and cheese was the icing on the cake. This was a great spot for relaxing and perfect access to the beach.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obxjm, Public Relations Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you so much for your nice review of First Colony Inn. We read each and every one of these on tripadvisor and it is always rewarding to hear that our guests had a good stay with us. Please come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My wife and I just returned from our first trip to the Outer Banks. The First Colony Inn was a great place to stay. The room was spacious, the grounds were very nice, as was the pool. The beach was just a short distance away with a private access. The wrap around porch was wonderful. You could sit in any location and have a comfortable, cooling breeze. Breakfasts were very good and plentiful with different selections each day. The staff was terrific and very helpful with any questions. Chris was very helpful with restaurant recommendations especially for our anniversary. Thanks again. We would highly recommend the First Colony Inn.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obxjm, Public Relations Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
First of all, I hope you will come back to the Outer Banks many times and thank you for choosing to stay at First Colony Inn for your first visit.
Your kind review made our day. We like hearing from all of our guests and it sounds like you had a really nice stay, which is just what we like to hear.
Thank you again for taking the time to post your comments here. We do appreciate it and again, please come back just as soon as you can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
0.1 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,492 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
835 reviews
14.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
7.1 mi away
Shutters On the Banks
Shutters On the Banks
#3 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Colony Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Colony Inn

Property: First Colony Inn
Address: 6715 S Croatan Hwy, Nags Head, NC 27959-9050
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — First Colony Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience real southern hospitality at the Outer Banks' only historic B&B. A deluxe continental breakfast with a "hot" dish is served each morning. Our rooms are as individual as our guests. Each has a private bath with fluffy towels on a heated towel bar and English toiletries. Television, telephone, and refrigerator are standard in each room. Luxury rooms boast wet bars and kitchenettes, and some have Jacuzzi whirlpool tubs, sitting rooms or private screened porches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your First Colony Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Colony Inn
First Colony Hotel Nags Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing