We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value and pampering!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of First Colony Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
First Colony Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Nags Head B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great value and pampering!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2006

Great value and pampering! We went in the off season during the week and took advantage of the stay 2 nights get one free. We got much more than our money's worth. We arrived on Valentine's Day and they had placed complimentary chocolates, a rose, and strawberries on our bed! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They were always eager to answer our many questions. The inn was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast and afternoon snack were delicious and filling. Though not directly on the beach, it was very easy to get to many attractions from the inn. We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    93
    12
    4
    7
See reviews for
63
211
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2005

This looked like a beautiful place to stay in Nags Head. However, when I called the inn to get some more details and ask about the Outer Banks (I have never been), the gentleman who answered the phone could not have been more rude. He acted like I was intruding on his day and treated me like I was ridiculous for asking questions like, "What is the weather like at this time of year? Have you been having a warm fall?" He responded, "I've lived here all my life. It's hot in the summer, it's cold in the winter. What more do you want to know?"

With that, we will not stay at this hotel. What horrible customer service and a bad first impression. In my opinion, if this is how they are treating you on the phone when you are trying to make a decision, what is the in-person treatment going to be like?

We will be staying on either Roanoke Island or in Duck.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Service
Helpful?
25 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2005

I stayed here in August 2004. My boyfriend and I both enjoyed staying here because it was centrally located and had ample parking and a very pleasant breakfast. We stayed in a suite, I think. The bed was large and the pillows were fluffy. It had a large sitting area, a kitchette, and large bathroom with whirlpool tub. The staff were friendly and helpful. It was very clean.

One thing that surprised me is that the hotel is situated BEHIND several other hotels, which mostly blocks the view of the water. However, the beach is a short walk down a wooden path.

Overall it was a restful, relaxing kind of place with charm to it. I would go back again.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank syrurs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2005

This 26-room B&B was beautiful, clean, well-maintained, and since we went right before the 'peak' season, extremely affordable for all the amenities (including everything from all the beach towels you needed to wine opener in the room and free VCR rentals at the front desk). The staff was very friendly and the breakfast was good. We enjoyed our cute room overlooking the pool.

It was also in a good location across from the ocean and near the water sports rental (across the street from the bay). It is walking distance from several good restaurants and bars.

I would DEFINITELY recommend this to friends and family and return in the near future.
Enjoy it!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2003

This was very nice. We went during the summer high price season, upon making a few calls, I found this bed & breakfast at the same average price as any other "motel" on the beach front. Although it is not beach front, it does have a view of the sound and a private boardwalk to the beach. The atmosphere is quaint and quiet with very few kids and mainly couples. The breakfast is a continental with a few hot items that are changed daily, from pancakes to quiche. There is also a complimentary afternoon tea, which includes lemonades, cheese, fruit, and crackers.
The swimming pool is large enough for laps and well kept. The entire hotel is very clean and well maintained along with a nice responsive staff. My husband and I enjoyed it thoroughly. We will stay again.

Helpful?
26 Thank UofRParent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
0.1 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
14.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
5.0 mi away
Nags Head Beach Inn
Nags Head Beach Inn
#5 of 5 in Nags Head
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Colony Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Colony Inn

Property: First Colony Inn
Address: 6715 S Croatan Hwy, Nags Head, NC 27959-9050
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — First Colony Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience real southern hospitality at the Outer Banks' only historic B&B. A deluxe continental breakfast with a "hot" dish is served each morning. Our rooms are as individual as our guests. Each has a private bath with fluffy towels on a heated towel bar and English toiletries. Television, telephone, and refrigerator are standard in each room. Luxury rooms boast wet bars and kitchenettes, and some have Jacuzzi whirlpool tubs, sitting rooms or private screened porches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your First Colony Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
First Colony Hotel Nags Head
1st Colony Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing