We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tea for Two”
Review of First Colony Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
First Colony Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Nags Head B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Tea for Two”
Reviewed 14 February 2010

An extremely comfortable stay even though it was in December and cold outside. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Don't miss their afternoon tea.
It was so good here that when our ferry from Hateras was cancelled, due to bad weather, we came back for more, different rooms but just as nice.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldobxer, Web Services Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, 15 February 2010
Thank you for sharing your satisfaction with First Colony Inn. We are happy that you had such a nice stay and hope you can visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    99
    12
    4
    7
See reviews for
67
225
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
virginia beach, va
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2010

Due to our current snow storm, we requested that the hotel refund our reservation fee or allow us to reset the reservation for the following week due to travel advisories which show that no one should proceed with any travel due to the snow, sleet, and icy road conditions of the current storm we are experiencing. Per manager Sarah Close (sp?) she responded that their policy stands as stated -as a non-refundable policy. However, our party had to cancel 2 cottagesand 2 other hotels in the Outer Banks with the same policy, all reconizing the exceptional danger of this current storm (the severity of this storm is said to occur apporx. every 9 years) they all gladly allowed our guest to re-set their reservation for the following week. The inability for First Colony Inn to do the same speaks of their apparent lack of concern for their potential guest. The manager mentioned that she did have current guest at their inn, so I inquired was she insinuating that our party should proceed with the 2 hour travel despite the exceptional weather conditions that have made our roads impassable. The apparent inabiltliy of First Colony Inn to re -set our reservations, speaks of their apparent lack of positive customer service and apparent lack of concern for the welfare of others. We will no longer be patrons of this B & B and advise others to reconize that same lack of positive customer service that we have experienced with them.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank irrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldobxer, Web Services Mgr at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, 3 February 2010
We have contacted the guest that was not comfortable traveling and have refunded their charge. Everyone at the First Colony Inn prides themselves on exceptional customer service. Like all hotels, we do have a cancellation policy if the cancellation is made within 7 days of arrival. Our manager is relatively new to the area having grown up in the midwest where school buses still run with 3 feet of snow on the ground. Since this was the first snow since moving to the Outer Banks, Sarah was "business as usual" not even realizing the effect on areas not used to much snow and not having the equipment or manpower to quickly clear roads. Although, we did have guests drive in from Virginia that day, we understand that not everyone has the same "comfort level" about driving. We apologize for our customer's dissatisfaction and hope that to have them stay with us in the future. We appreciate the opportunity to resolve our customer's dissatisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Il
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2009

This place served our purposes-- we wanted to get away to the beach for a week in July and this place is accessible to the beach (it's across the road, but that was fine), provided chairs/umbrellas (a lot of which were in need of repair), and was relatively close to the more secluded National Seashore beaches. However, based on the prices and the reviews on here we expected a lot more. The place is run-down-- rusty hooks and chains hold the swings to the much-lauded veranda, our room had a private screened in porch and it was dirty-- ugly stained white plastic chairs, gritty floor-- not a pleasant place to sit. THe furnishing, bathroom etc. needed serious updating. The pool also was sandy and in need of resurfacing. The breakfast was also lackluster-- gross american cheese slice fried into the middle of an oddly processed looking egg, terrible pastries. We are not tremendously picky people and stayed for the week but we were let down by the place considering the cost.
The property is peaceful and the location is nice and the staff was pleasant-- it's too bad that they've let the place go.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank windycitywanderer26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldobxer, Web Services Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, 8 December 2009
I am truly sorry that the First Colony Inn did not meet your expectations. I will be sharing your comments with the Innkeeper and the staff at the inn. While it is not easy to read a review like this we know that in the long run it will help us improve our services. Thank you for your candor and for visiting the First Colony Inn in Nags Head. We do hope you will come back for another visit in the future.

Sincerely
Jeannie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky Mount, NC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2009

This place is clean, and beautiful. They have wonderful wrap around porches and even have a library. Breakfast was hot and different every day. Not a huge breakfast, but nice. We came with kids and I will have to say that not being right on the beach had some disadvantages. It's not a long walk except when you're trying to carry everything you need for 2 little ones or when you keep having to run back to change diapers. Other than that, it is a great place for kids.

If it had just been the 2 of us it would have been perfect.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank w0lfpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldobxer, Web Services Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, 11 November 2009
We are glad you had a nice stay and hope you come back to First Colony Inn. Thanks for reviewing us. We love our inn and love to share it with our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gahanna, ohio
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2009

This was our second stay at the First Colony Inn. We just love it! We stayed there the first week of September. The weather wasn't great, but we had a great time anyway! We traveled with another couple who stayed just a couple rooms away. We spent alot of time on the decks outside our rooms! Rocking chairs, swings...wine and cheese in the afternoon...wonderful hot breakfast. Our rooms were fantastic. The each had two outside entrances...different views! The staff was very nice and helpful. The First Colony made the bad weather days...well, not bad at all! We'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hartle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldobxer, Website Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, 9 November 2009
Thank you so much for taking the time to review First Colony Inn on the Outer Banks.
Customer service is a priority with us and we want our guests to relax while they are here. We also want them to come back!

thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2009

I am sorry to see these negative reviews below, we had such a great experience! First Colony Inn is larger than your average b&b so there are some small differences you notice such as the lack of an "innkeeper presence" and the breakfast is buffet style but it was just as nice as a small, quaint b&b (and we have stayed in many!).

When we checked into our room (#22) I was a little nervous about the size based on the website photo but it was actually quiet decent in size...although I will warn you the shower is teeny tiny. Our room had all the normal amenities but also had a TV, mini fridge, wet bar, and microwave...I thought these were all nice extras. It was very quiet on the third floor, we really never heard any of the other guests while we were in our room.

The Inn itself is a little dated, it could use some structural work but it is still very nicely appointed. There are several decks with chairs for everyone to use and had plenty of parking. The beach is directly across the street and had a crosswalk so getting over to the other side was never a problem. There was a nice sized pool but it was being worked on this weekend so we did not get to use it...but the beach is so close we did not feel like we missed out.

Each day they had a wine and cheese reception from 3 to 5pm which was very nice and the breakfast buffet had both hot and cold items, lots to choose from. The staff were very friendly, there when you needed them but not intrusive.

I plan conferences and conventions for a living and am used to staying in luxury properties frequently…this is not exactly what I would call luxury but I am a hotel snob and do not give out good feedback unless I honestly believe it. First Colony Inn is a cozy place, good for families or couples and was a great deal for the price. We definitely plan to return next time we are visiting OBX.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldobxer, Web Site Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, 4 November 2009
Thank you for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your stay. We hope you come back to Nags Head and First Colony Inn again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieAnne83
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2009

We were expecting a nice, historic facility near the beach, but we got something quite different. It reminded my of the wilderness camp I went to when I was young.
You get into your room via a rusty, creaking storm door, and the inside was gross. It was musty, there were stains all over the carpet, and there was sand all over the dresser. The room did not feel like it had been truly cleaned. Furthermore, there were bags of garbage and dirty clothes throughout the halls.

The pool is nothing like the photo. It is a small rectangle surrounded by a fence, and it is in bad need of resurfacing. You can only reach the beach by crossing a tattered yard and a major road (no, my room was not "oceanside" as the website claimed). The one positive event of the two hours we spent at the Inn is the woman at the front desk let us leave without charging us for the night.

Overall, the place is run down and a bit dreary. If you are looking for a nice bed and breakfast stay, this is not it.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StephanieAnne83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldobxer, Web Site Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this review, 4 November 2009
We are sorry that First Colony Inn did not meet your expectations. We value each guest and appreciate input from you as we strive to improve our customer service and the amenities at the inn itself. We would love to have you come back and give us another try and do want to thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
0.1 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,518 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
8.8 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
857 reviews
6.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Colony Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Colony Inn

Property: First Colony Inn
Address: 6715 S Croatan Hwy, Nags Head, NC 27959-9050
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — First Colony Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience real southern hospitality at the Outer Banks' only historic B&B. A deluxe continental breakfast with a "hot" dish is served each morning. Our rooms are as individual as our guests. Each has a private bath with fluffy towels on a heated towel bar and English toiletries. Television, telephone, and refrigerator are standard in each room. Luxury rooms boast wet bars and kitchenettes, and some have Jacuzzi whirlpool tubs, sitting rooms or private screened porches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your First Colony Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
First Colony Hotel Nags Head
1st Colony Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing