We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Fashioned Charm, with modern comfort”
Review of First Colony Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
First Colony Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Nags Head B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2010

I stayed there during a photo workshop. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean and comfortable, and the breakfast was good. The staff very helpful and friendly. What more can I say?

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uncle Jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldobxer, General Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We love having small group gatherings and workshops like the one you attended. It gives us a chance to shine professionally, as well as learn new things!

Please visit us again soon,

Sarah Close
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
There are newer reviews for First Colony Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2010

We stayed in the off season, so the room rate was a very good value, especially with breakfast and afternoon tea. We had a very pleasant room. It was nice enough to make me comfortable with the damp odor that gets into everything. We got great ventilation by opening the screened doors, one at each end of the room. When heavy rain fell, we enjoyed sitting on the verandah. Breakfast was excellent, with a nice choice of healthful foods.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJandTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldobxer, Innkeeper at First Colony Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2010

Thank you for the lovely review. While we can't control the weather, we hope our personalized service and the big wrap around porches you mentioned make up for it...
Best regards, and please come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2010

This inn is just so lovely-- it gives you a great feel for the outer banks of decades past. It's full of antiques without being at all musty. Just a lovely seaside inn. I'd recommend it to anyone looking for a place with character.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rufus8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldobxer, Innkeeper at First Colony Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2010

Thank you for your review. We (the staff) love that we can provide old world charm and character to our guests. The owners of the property spent several years restoring the "grand old lady" of Nags head to it's former glory. So glad you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2010

We stayed here for one night on our road trip through the outerbanks. The hotel surprised us as we expected more of the person thing being a guest house. The room was quite old fashioned but spacious. All the restaurants around the hotel were closed and we had a mile drive to anywhere that was open. The breakfast was simple and the other guests friendly. I would recommend this hotel in season and if you were passing and needed somewhere but not somewhere to go for a weekend away!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateBoothby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldobxer, Innkeeper at First Colony Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2010

Thank you for your review.
Yes, the Outer Banks area certainly slows down over the winter. Many of the restaurants do close to rest and revamp before gearing up for the next summer season.
We hope you'll return when the weather is nicer!

Best Regards,

Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2010

An extremely comfortable stay even though it was in December and cold outside. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Don't miss their afternoon tea.
It was so good here that when our ferry from Hateras was cancelled, due to bad weather, we came back for more, different rooms but just as nice.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldobxer, Web Services Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2010

Thank you for sharing your satisfaction with First Colony Inn. We are happy that you had such a nice stay and hope you can visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2010

Due to our current snow storm, we requested that the hotel refund our reservation fee or allow us to reset the reservation for the following week due to travel advisories which show that no one should proceed with any travel due to the snow, sleet, and icy road conditions of the current storm we are experiencing. Per manager Sarah Close (sp?) she responded that their policy stands as stated -as a non-refundable policy. However, our party had to cancel 2 cottagesand 2 other hotels in the Outer Banks with the same policy, all reconizing the exceptional danger of this current storm (the severity of this storm is said to occur apporx. every 9 years) they all gladly allowed our guest to re-set their reservation for the following week. The inability for First Colony Inn to do the same speaks of their apparent lack of concern for their potential guest. The manager mentioned that she did have current guest at their inn, so I inquired was she insinuating that our party should proceed with the 2 hour travel despite the exceptional weather conditions that have made our roads impassable. The apparent inabiltliy of First Colony Inn to re -set our reservations, speaks of their apparent lack of positive customer service and apparent lack of concern for the welfare of others. We will no longer be patrons of this B & B and advise others to reconize that same lack of positive customer service that we have experienced with them.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Service
7  Thank irrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldobxer, Web Services Mgr at First Colony Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2010

We have contacted the guest that was not comfortable traveling and have refunded their charge. Everyone at the First Colony Inn prides themselves on exceptional customer service. Like all hotels, we do have a cancellation policy if the cancellation is made within 7 days of arrival. Our manager is relatively new to the area having grown up in the midwest where school buses still run with 3 feet of snow on the ground. Since this was the first snow since moving to the Outer Banks, Sarah was "business as usual" not even realizing the effect on areas not used to much snow and not having the equipment or manpower to quickly clear roads. Although, we did have guests drive in from Virginia that day, we understand that not everyone has the same "comfort level" about driving. We apologize for our customer's dissatisfaction and hope that to have them stay with us in the future. We appreciate the opportunity to resolve our customer's dissatisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2009

This place served our purposes-- we wanted to get away to the beach for a week in July and this place is accessible to the beach (it's across the road, but that was fine), provided chairs/umbrellas (a lot of which were in need of repair), and was relatively close to the more secluded National Seashore beaches. However, based on the prices and the reviews on here we expected a lot more. The place is run-down-- rusty hooks and chains hold the swings to the much-lauded veranda, our room had a private screened in porch and it was dirty-- ugly stained white plastic chairs, gritty floor-- not a pleasant place to sit. THe furnishing, bathroom etc. needed serious updating. The pool also was sandy and in need of resurfacing. The breakfast was also lackluster-- gross american cheese slice fried into the middle of an oddly processed looking egg, terrible pastries. We are not tremendously picky people and stayed for the week but we were let down by the place considering the cost.
The property is peaceful and the location is nice and the staff was pleasant-- it's too bad that they've let the place go.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank windycitywanderer26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldobxer, Web Services Manager at First Colony Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2009

I am truly sorry that the First Colony Inn did not meet your expectations. I will be sharing your comments with the Innkeeper and the staff at the inn. While it is not easy to read a review like this we know that in the long run it will help us improve our services. Thank you for your candor and for visiting the First Colony Inn in Nags Head. We do hope you will come back for another visit in the future.

Sincerely
Jeannie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
0.1 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,567 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
8.8 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
879 reviews
6.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Colony Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Colony Inn

Address: 6715 S Croatan Hwy, Nags Head, NC 27959-9050
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Nags Head
Price Range: £84 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — First Colony Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience real southern hospitality at the Outer Banks' only historic B&B. A deluxe continental breakfast with a "hot" dish is served each morning. Our rooms are as individual as our guests. Each has a private bath with fluffy towels on a heated towel bar and English toiletries. Television, telephone, and refrigerator are standard in each room. Luxury rooms boast wet bars and kitchenettes, and some have Jacuzzi whirlpool tubs, sitting rooms or private screened porches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your First Colony Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
First Colony Hotel Nags Head
1st Colony Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing