We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of First Colony Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
First Colony Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Nags Head B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Clover, SC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2007

Wonderful old-timey country Inn. Located just a short walk down a private boardwalk from the beach. The room was good sized, clean and tastefully decorated. The first and second floors had wonderful wide covered porches to stroll and sit out on. The staff was exrtremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was served between 8 & 9:30 am and included scrambled eggs, sausage, croissants, fruits, muffins, cereals, etc. In the afternoon they served wine or lemonade. We stayed for 3 nights in mid-April and thoroughly enjoyed the stay. We would definitely stay again.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Only one computer in the library - it was often in use by other travelers
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Rjw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    92
    12
    4
    7
See reviews for
63
209
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2007

I stumbled upon this by pure luck...we were visiting my sister in NC, and I was not going to go all the way across the country and not see the ocean! I picked this place because it looked nice. It was AMAZING! I stayed in a room with a king bed, and my mother and sisters stayed in an adjoining room with a queen and a daybed.
The hotel was built in 1932, so it feels very comfortable and "old"...but it is immaculate...no dirt, no weird oders, the place was spotless. The rooms are nicely decorated, with old furniture and a plethora of pillows (my bed had 5) in different levels of firm/soft, so you were sure to find one you liked.
The bathroom was great--complimentary toiletries, the whole range, soap, conditioner, shampoo, shower cap, also bottled water and snacks. The bathrooms have heated towel racks, to warm your towels.
There is a complimentary wine and cheese/crackers social hour, and a beautiful wrap around porch with plenty of comfortable seating in the shade and the sun. The breakfast was adequate and filling...ham, eggs, cereals, tea, coffee, pastries.
Best of all, there is a board walk leading directly from the Inn to the beach, and the beach is wonderful! Lots of shells and colored pebbles, and plenty of shallow water for wading.
The service was excellent! Everyone was extremely helpful, and offered several suggestions of restaurants for dinner.
The ONLY downside was that, due to the time of year, I didn't get to use the pool, and there was no jacuzzi. But I plan to go back and try it out as soon as possible!

  • Liked — All the personal touches and "perks"--and the atmosphere!
  • Disliked — That I was only able to stay one night!!!
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank alsnapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
124 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2007

We stayed at the First Colony Inn in May 2003. Had not discovered TripAdvisor then, hence a very late review.
The place is wonderful - a huge surprise for Europeans more used to modern accommodations in the US. One of the few places where antique furniture is the norm - and in my bedroom I had steps to climb into the wonderful comfortable bed.
Camille, the owner, was a real character and made us really at home. The beach just up the path is lovely and we had many great walks there. Shame there is no restaurant in the Inn, but that is the only shortcoming. It is one of my 'best hotels that I have stayed'. Character, character and more character!

  • Liked — It was like home, only there was no work to do
  • Disliked — Absolutely nothing at all
  • Tips/Secrets — Book early
  • Stayed May 2003, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BruceNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2006

We were on our way to Frisco Wednesday morning, to spend Thanksgiving with my mom, when we got to the Wright Brothers bridge we found that the road was closed from ocean overwash at Pea Island. So we turned around to look for a hotel for the night and hoped the road would be open the next day. We found the First Colony Inn! We got a good price on two rooms( my sister and family were two hours behind us), our rooms were beautiful,and the beds were very comfortable. There were antiques all around and yet no one was nervous with the kids about. They had an afternoon tea and a delicious breakfast the next morning. The library had a computer with internet and loads of books and games to borrow. There was a photo album of the Hotel with lots of photos though the years. We had roses we had brought for my mom and other traveler had food for their holiday dinners and the hotel was nice enough to squeeze what they could into the fridge. We are already planning our next stay at the first Colony Inn

  • Liked — It was different from the average box
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank seventysx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2006

Stayed two nights. The Inn sits between the main highway and the beach road, good sized piece of property.
Directly across the beach road is access to the beach.
We could see the ocean from our 3rd floor room
Our room was large, clean and comfortable.
Breaksfast was nothing to rave about but was filling.
The employees at the front desk were very pleasant.
A good size Inn, not as quaint as a B&B.
But sure is convenient to the beach!!

  • Stayed October 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank harks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisburg, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2006

I have always trusted the reviews of all the other travelers who use this wonderful travel resource, but this time it really paid off. Staying at First Colony Inn was like visiting and old charming County Inn. It is unusual to find many clean properties that are on or near the beach. First Colony is a jewel among the rest, not only are the surroundings comfortable and cozy, the staff was VERY nice and helpful. The First Colony Inn advertises itself as offering "Southern Hospitality", they certainly lived up the claim. The rap around porch areas was delightful and the wonderful double-swings with padded head rest and sitting area with tables were true "Southern" touches. We had breakfast sent up to our room and everything was just as we ordered. We have decided to stay at First Colony Inn, whenever we visit the Outer Banks.

  • Liked — Old World Charm
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Enjoy your visit
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danitadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake
Level Contributor
89 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2006

The First Colony Inn is a lovely old hotel one block in from the beach in Nags Head. The building used to be right on the beach but it was then almost right on the surf so they picked it up and moved it inland. Built in the 1930's, its beautifully restored. We had a room on the 3rd floor (#26) that suited us just fine - comfy queen sized bed, nice furnishings, screened in balcony overlooking the lawn and a bird house with glimpses of the ocean and sound, clean and spacious bathroom, in-room sink, fridge, and safe.

Breakfast was served in a small dining room on the first floor - usually some combination of eggs and meat with a variety of breads and bagels, cereal, coffee, tea; not the fanciest B&B breakfast but filling.

The wrap around veranda on the second floor and the patio had numerous lounges for sitting and relaxing. On the second floor was an extensive library plus internet access. It was a short walk down a boardwalk to the beach proper. Overall we had a great time.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Flying_Rog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
8.8 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
7.4 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
6.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Colony Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Colony Inn

Property: First Colony Inn
Address: 6715 S Croatan Hwy, Nags Head, NC 27959-9050
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — First Colony Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience real southern hospitality at the Outer Banks' only historic B&B. A deluxe continental breakfast with a "hot" dish is served each morning. Our rooms are as individual as our guests. Each has a private bath with fluffy towels on a heated towel bar and English toiletries. Television, telephone, and refrigerator are standard in each room. Luxury rooms boast wet bars and kitchenettes, and some have Jacuzzi whirlpool tubs, sitting rooms or private screened porches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your First Colony Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
First Colony Hotel Nags Head
1st Colony Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing