We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Customer Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I was impressed by how friendly and flexible the staff is. Had a great stay! The location is great. It's right at the beach and close to restaurants, shops, diners and coffee. If you like to take walks, the area is great for that.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gali_gk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Thank you for staying with us at the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. Taking a walk (or run) is very convenient from here - step out of the lobby to the west and you access the walking path that runs along the Beach Road or turn east and you are on the beach - 2 great choices.
We are glad that you enjoyed your time here and hope to see you again soon.

Sue Hogan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (492)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 492 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013

I have to be truthful and say that I hesitated to book this hotel due to some of the poor reviews,but let me tell you, the old adage must be true, that you can't please everybody, because contrary to some, I was truly pleased with our stay. The hotel is on the beach, our balcony overlooked the ocean, our room was spotless, the staff was so friendly, housekeeping was very nice, and they all spoke English!!! We even tried out the breakfast sweet potato biscuits and they were good :-). It is on a section of beach that is not too crowded and even though we didn't use the pool or the hot tub, there were a lot of people that did. We would definitely stay there again, and are already planning on it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pengland44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. The entire staff works hard to provide a clean, comfortable and friendly environment for our guests and are glad that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sue Hogan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I stayed at the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront due to its location in the Outer Banks. The hotel is located right on the beach which makes it convenient for those who are looking to be close to the water. Your first impression of the hotel is that it is an old, but unique hotel. There are parking spaces under the hotel, but plenty outside along the hotel which are a better option anyways as they give you more room. Check-in was alright, but I had the feeling the receptionists were not that interested on being there.

The room was nice and large with two queen beds. I had paid extra for an oceanfront view room which had a balcony. Don't know if it was really worth the extra money however. Yes you do get to see the ocean, but you are also looking over the parking lot. The beach itself is not that attractive anyways. I would recommend not spending the extra money and spend it elsewhere. I was somewhat disappointed while entering the room to find that there looked to be specks from somewhere from either the ceiling or wall. It would've been very easy to vacuum clean, but was still there for my entire stay. The room also had an old, musty smell to it.

The toilet seat in the bathroom also wasn't secured properly and if you weren't careful it would fall off while you were sitting on it. This was the only issue in the bathroom. The water pressure in the shower, as was the hot water, was perfect. The décor in the bathroom was definitely outdated. It looked like the main room had received a renovation but they had forgotten the bathroom altogether.

The internet worked very well and was nice and quick. However the television, a model I never heard of before, kept flickering regardless of the channel. Don't know if this was the TV or the satellite system. There was also a refrigerator in the room, while it did make noise, was not a nuisance. The air-conditioner also worked well, but could've been better as it really didn't help the humidity.

The hotel has an indoor pool and hot tub on the second floor, but didn't use either so don't know how they were. The hot tub was small and looked to only be able to hold a few people, which is not that unusual. The breakfast room is also located on the second floor. Calling it a breakfast room is probably being generous though. They only provide prepackaged pastries as well as some sweet potato biscuits to go along with orange juice and coffee. You'd have to eat more than you could carry if you wanted to even feel full afterwards. For the price they charge you'd expect more.

Overall the hotel is just average. While the location is nice, the price and quality are really below average for other hotels I've stayed at in the Outer Banks. Upon check out they provide a small bag of popcorn which was a nice touch. While I would stay here again, it definitely wouldn't be my first choice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wbullseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

We are sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your stay with us. If you had expressed any housekeeping or maintenance concerns while you were here, we would have taken care them immediately.
While I am glad that you did enjoy the good water pressure and hot water for your shower, I am not sure that I understand your critique of the bathroom. All of our guest bathrooms were renovated this year (2013), receiving all new cabinets with granite countertops, new sink bowls and faucets; new showerheads, new low water-use toilets, new towel racks and shower rods and all new wall coverings and decorative ceiling tiles.
We strive to provide all of our guests with an enjoyable and comfortable stay on the oceanfront while visiting the beautiful beaches of Nags Head.

Sue Hogan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Excellent hotel. Spotlessly clean despite the sand they have to deal with on a daily basis. We moved rooms after one night to one with an ocean view - highly recommended, even if its just to watch the pelicans skimming the surf.

All the staff team were very helpful and friendly.

This is the only hotel I have ever stayed at that has given me a gift as I left - a delicious box of sweet and salty popcorn, great!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. We appreciate that you chose to stay with us over the Labor Day Weekend and are glad that you enjoyed your time here.
We hope to see you again soon.

Sue Hogan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The small hotel sits right behind a dune at the beach. Ocean front rooms with balconies supply a beautiful view of the Atlantic and the Nags Head beach. The rooms could use updating--without the glass doors that frame the ocean waves, the rooms would feel dumpy. But there's a true surfer's charm about the place--not upscale, not downmarket, but laid back and rough around the edges. You feel like you're staying at a friend's much used beach place not a hotel. It fits the Outer Banks vibe.
The continental breakfast, however, is pretty awful and feels strangely out of place--pre-packaged stuff except for sweet potatoe biscuits in wax paper bags. Not a fan.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wrpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

We are glad that you felt comfortable and welcome during your recent stay at the Nags Head Inn. We hope to have you stay with us again.

Sue Hogan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My husband and I did a quick trip to the OBX for one night and pulled up at the Nags Head Inn without a reservation. The staff was helpful and the room was VERY clean - it felt like one of the cleanest hotels we have visited. The room was pricey, but I think we expected that for OBX, no reservation, and being on the water. I felt that the bed was comfortable being that it felt new and firm, but my husband felt that his was too firm and uncomfortable. There was also quite a bit of noise in the parking lot and the neighbors came in around 4 am being very rowdy, waking up my husband. Overall, I think for what the hotel can help, it was a wonderful stay and would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kweazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thank you for your review of your stay at the Nags Head Inn. We are glad that you chose to stay with us while you were visiting the Outer Banks and that you enjoyed your time here. We hope to see you again.

Sue Hogan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This hotel is right on the beach is why we chose it. It was not fancy but the ocean view was great. The room was clean and the staff helpful. There are several good restaurants in the area although not in walking distance. Get a room on the top two floors for the best ocean view.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top two floors facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chadz52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Thank you for your review of your stay at the Nags Head Inn. We are glad that you enjoyed your time here and hope that you will come back again soon.

Sue Hogan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
12 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
1.9 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
493 reviews
6.8 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
903 reviews
4.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront

Address: 4701 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9295
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
#3 Family Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range: £67 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront is the only Outer Banks hotel that features over 4 acres of pristine oceanfront, and is located in the quiet, residentially-zoned historic area in Nags Head. Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront (formerly named the Nags Head Inn) has become famous for delivering the Original Outer Banks Oceanfront Experience for nearly a quarter of a century by offering our highly valued guests honest vacation value. According to Outer Banks hotel reviews, our guests love the recent renovations on our 4 acres of beautiful oceanfront sand dunes, pristine beach, manicured Bermuda lawns and lush barrier island gardens... relaxing year round in our indoor heated pool or jumping into the beautiful Atlantic Ocean just outside their doors. We love making lasting memories happen and we've been told we're pretty good at it. It is our aim to make every guest become a repeat guest and offer you a vacation superior to other Outer Banks hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nags Head Hotel Nags Head
Nags Head Bed Breakfast
Nags Head Inn
Nag Head Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing