We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Visit and Stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, Delaware
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Visit and Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

I was very pleased with my stay at the NagsHead Inn. We were there from 9/25 to 9/29/13 for my nephew's wedding. From the time we checked in to the time we checked out the staff was very friendly every time you walked through the front door. They were also helpful bringing up a roll away bed at 12:00 midnight with no problem. The rooms were clean and we stayed street side since we weren't going to be in the room that much we thought we would save some money by not staying on the ocean side. I would go back and stay at that place anytime. The only thing is I think you need to replace the double beds with queen size beds because when people are use to sleeping in queen sizes the double is to small. Think about changing that one thing. Oh and the bathroom too need redone to small. It was hard getting ready with 3 in the room trying to do your hair. It just needs a little rearranging. Otherwise loved staying there. I would highly recommend it very much! :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. Quite a few people plan their destination wedding for the Outer Banks and our central location makes the hotel a great choice for their guests. We are glad that you enjoyed your weekend here and hope to have you come back again soon.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    166
    57
    12
    19
See reviews for
119
188
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights to extend a week long stay in one of those mansions...thought the tranistion might be hard but it was a great place to stay! Room was very nice, ocean view was beautiful, beach was great!!! my only comment would be to stay as high up as you can to get a better beach view....
We didn't need the staff at all, only went thru the lobby on our check-in and our check-out as our room was at the end of the hall by the steps which was extremely conveinent!! down a couple flights of steps to our car to get our beach chairs and other stuff out and right to the beach access!! The cleaning staff were very good at seeing when you left to get to your room right away! I would stay here again!!! Thanks for the memories Nags Head!!!

Room Tip: Higher floors to obtain a better beach view(not talking about the ocean view...that was fabulous) an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Jo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay at the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. We are glad that you chose to stay with us to extend your vacation time on the Outer Banks - once you are here it is hard to leave this beautiful area isn't it? We hope to have you visit with us again soon.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BELLINGHAM
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We picked this hotel because it had a great cancellation policy, and was right on the water. We were on a long roadtrip from the Boston area and did not want to take the chance of a big storm...and paying for a room we could not use.

So the location is good, but you pay more to be up high enough on the beach side to see the waves as there are large dunes between the hotel and the beach. The pictures you see are not accurate of a flat beach with hotel on the beach. So we paid more or this and it was nice to sleep with the window open and hear the waves. The room was average. Continental breakfast was lame, weak coffee and pastries. We went there the first day and then did not bother after that.

We did like the hot tub - you could be in the hot tub, and feel the breeze from the water, so nice combination of warm and cool. Also, in general location was good - lots of great food in the area and plenty of services.

Issues: Our TV kept flicking off and on for 2 seconds when we were trying to watch a football game. We should have called down, but it was late. The next night it did it again and we figured out it was related to the small refrigerator going on and off. We discovered all of the appliances on one side of the room were plugged into one weak power strip. Fire hazard there? We unplugged the fridge and the TV stopped doing it. We mentioned this when we checked out and they knew about this - sort of lame!

Also, we had yellow water from the taps the morning we were leaving - also mentioned this and they told us they are "still working the kinks out". Not sure what that means to clean water....they suggested we run the water longer, we did - there was no change so we skipped the shower.

Anyway for $150 room, I expect better in the off season. I rated average, but I would look for a hotel that was better for the money.

Room Tip: If you want to see the waves you need to be on floor 3 or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelCallie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
We are sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your stay with us. The topography of the beach changes constantly depending on the tide, the wind ,the season and many other factors. These natural changes caused by the dynamics of the weather here are a big part of life on the Outer Banks.
We have not had any other comments concerning the water discoloration and I cannot see any sign of a problem now but I will have our maintenance staff check on it.
We are glad that you did enjoy our central location, indoor hot tub and the beautiful ocean view.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narrowsburg, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We just got back from the Outer Banks, NC. Our stay at the Nags Head Inn was exceptional. The room was clean and inviting. The ocean view from the balcony was wonderful, and the staff was very friendly and helpful in any questions we had about the area. The sweet potato biscuits and coffee were just enough to tide us over until we went for breakfast. Would I stay there again?? YOU BET !! Thanks for a wonderful time !

Room Tip: Call the hotel and they will get you what you want, if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WilWul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. We are always happy to help our guests with directions and information about things to see and do on the beautiful Outer Banks. We are glad that you chose to stay with us and that you enjoyed your visit. Please come back to see us again soon.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

I was impressed by how friendly and flexible the staff is. Had a great stay! The location is great. It's right at the beach and close to restaurants, shops, diners and coffee. If you like to take walks, the area is great for that.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gali_gk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. Taking a walk (or run) is very convenient from here - step out of the lobby to the west and you access the walking path that runs along the Beach Road or turn east and you are on the beach - 2 great choices.
We are glad that you enjoyed your time here and hope to see you again soon.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sparta, t
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

I have to be truthful and say that I hesitated to book this hotel due to some of the poor reviews,but let me tell you, the old adage must be true, that you can't please everybody, because contrary to some, I was truly pleased with our stay. The hotel is on the beach, our balcony overlooked the ocean, our room was spotless, the staff was so friendly, housekeeping was very nice, and they all spoke English!!! We even tried out the breakfast sweet potato biscuits and they were good :-). It is on a section of beach that is not too crowded and even though we didn't use the pool or the hot tub, there were a lot of people that did. We would definitely stay there again, and are already planning on it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pengland44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. The entire staff works hard to provide a clean, comfortable and friendly environment for our guests and are glad that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
707 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 639 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

I stayed at the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront due to its location in the Outer Banks. The hotel is located right on the beach which makes it convenient for those who are looking to be close to the water. Your first impression of the hotel is that it is an old, but unique hotel. There are parking spaces under the hotel, but plenty outside along the hotel which are a better option anyways as they give you more room. Check-in was alright, but I had the feeling the receptionists were not that interested on being there.

The room was nice and large with two queen beds. I had paid extra for an oceanfront view room which had a balcony. Don't know if it was really worth the extra money however. Yes you do get to see the ocean, but you are also looking over the parking lot. The beach itself is not that attractive anyways. I would recommend not spending the extra money and spend it elsewhere. I was somewhat disappointed while entering the room to find that there looked to be specks from somewhere from either the ceiling or wall. It would've been very easy to vacuum clean, but was still there for my entire stay. The room also had an old, musty smell to it.

The toilet seat in the bathroom also wasn't secured properly and if you weren't careful it would fall off while you were sitting on it. This was the only issue in the bathroom. The water pressure in the shower, as was the hot water, was perfect. The décor in the bathroom was definitely outdated. It looked like the main room had received a renovation but they had forgotten the bathroom altogether.

The internet worked very well and was nice and quick. However the television, a model I never heard of before, kept flickering regardless of the channel. Don't know if this was the TV or the satellite system. There was also a refrigerator in the room, while it did make noise, was not a nuisance. The air-conditioner also worked well, but could've been better as it really didn't help the humidity.

The hotel has an indoor pool and hot tub on the second floor, but didn't use either so don't know how they were. The hot tub was small and looked to only be able to hold a few people, which is not that unusual. The breakfast room is also located on the second floor. Calling it a breakfast room is probably being generous though. They only provide prepackaged pastries as well as some sweet potato biscuits to go along with orange juice and coffee. You'd have to eat more than you could carry if you wanted to even feel full afterwards. For the price they charge you'd expect more.

Overall the hotel is just average. While the location is nice, the price and quality are really below average for other hotels I've stayed at in the Outer Banks. Upon check out they provide a small bag of popcorn which was a nice touch. While I would stay here again, it definitely wouldn't be my first choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wbullseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
We are sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your stay with us. If you had expressed any housekeeping or maintenance concerns while you were here, we would have taken care them immediately.
While I am glad that you did enjoy the good water pressure and hot water for your shower, I am not sure that I understand your critique of the bathroom. All of our guest bathrooms were renovated this year (2013), receiving all new cabinets with granite countertops, new sink bowls and faucets; new showerheads, new low water-use toilets, new towel racks and shower rods and all new wall coverings and decorative ceiling tiles.
We strive to provide all of our guests with an enjoyable and comfortable stay on the oceanfront while visiting the beautiful beaches of Nags Head.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
6.9 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
1.9 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla
12.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
4.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront

Property: Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Address: 4701 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9295
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
#3 Family Hotel in Nags Head
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront is the only Outer Banks hotel that features over 4 acres of pristine oceanfront, and is located in the quiet, residentially-zoned historic area in Nags Head. Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront (formerly named the Nags Head Inn) has become famous for delivering the Original Outer Banks Oceanfront Experience for nearly a quarter of a century by offering our highly valued guests honest vacation value. According to Outer Banks hotel reviews, our guests love the recent renovations on our 4 acres of beautiful oceanfront sand dunes, pristine beach, manicured Bermuda lawns and lush barrier island gardens... relaxing year round in our indoor heated pool or jumping into the beautiful Atlantic Ocean just outside their doors. We love making lasting memories happen and we've been told we're pretty good at it. It is our aim to make every guest become a repeat guest and offer you a vacation superior to other Outer Banks hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nags Head Hotel Nags Head
Nags Head Bed Breakfast
Nags Head Inn
Nag Head Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing