We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Surf Side Hotel(Nags Head)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Heron Motel(Nags Head)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colonial Inn(Nags Head)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Islander Motel(Nags Head)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tar Heel Motel(Nags Head)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Foam Motel(Nags Head)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Owens' Motel(Nags Head)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (514)
Filter reviews
514 results
Traveller rating
215
199
65
15
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
215
199
65
15
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbiscuitsindoor poolocean frontthe outer banksfifth floorroom was cleanstreet sidehot tubsun deckcovered parkingoceanfront roomfront desk staffbeach accesshear the wavesbeach hotelstaff was very friendlyoff season
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
285 - 290 of 514 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Had always wanted to stay at this hotel some time so was very pleased to have found a great deal online on just the dates I needed. Our room was on the 5th floor street side but we could see the sound so we still had a water view. Had been remodeled and it was also very clean. Will definitely stay there again. Nice perk was the complimentary YMCA passes! The only down side is that the ice and vending machines were not enclosed in a separate room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PAMJEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us at the Nags Head Inn. We are pleased that you enjoyed the beautiful sound view from the 5th floor room – we do have some spectacular sunsets here on the Outer Banks. The YMCA is a great facility and we are glad that you were able to get your work out in while you were here.
Although the ice machines and vending machines are not in a separate room, we feel that having them on each floor next to the elevators and stairwells provides a convenience for all of our guests.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to the Nags Head. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sue Hogan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay. The staff is very friendly. The inn is very clean. I would recommend this place to anyone. The steps and deck to beach are new. It also includes a ramp which is nice. The indoor pool is good on a rainy day. The early check in was a nice surprise. The maids are nice.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank rebeccaedwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. We are pleased that you enjoyed our new beach walkway and our renovated indoor pool area.

We are glad that you chose to stay with us during your Outer Banks vacation and hope to see you again soon.

Sue Hogan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

What a surprise...we opt for the parking lot side of the hotel but didn't feel we were short changed for not having ocean view. Older hotel that has been maintained beautifully and appears to have had remodeling. Clean large room on fourth floor; very comfortable bed and bathroom. Beautiful access to the beach that gave us access to beautiful photographs of early sunrise.

Room Tip: Ask for highest floor possible.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherrit_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. We are glad that you liked all of our recent updates to the rooms and our new beach walkway. We look forward to having you as our guest again.

Sue Hogan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My wife and I took a quick trip to the Outer Banks last week. We went sort of "last minute". I checked hotels and saw only good ratings on the Nags Head Inn but they were all booked up save for one room. The room was not Oceanside but we took it. When we got to the Inn we were pleased to see it was Oceanfront and you can walk up and sit on a platform overlooking the Ocean and Beach. The room itself was spacious and well appointed. Everything was very clean and the staff at the front desk helpful and friendly. There are many nearby restaurants and they do have a coffee and pastry ;room in the morning. Parking is plentiful and free. All in all, a very
pleasant stay. We plan to return, only next time we will book an Oceanfront room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. We are glad that you enjoyed your time here and are happy to know that you will be back. Give us a call in advance to reserve that oceanfront room – I am sure that you will really like the view from the room and your own private balcony. We look forward to seeing you again.

Sue Hogan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stumbled upon this hotel. It was a great stumble! Beautiful oceanfront rooms. We could hears waves,through the window. Very clean. Great staff. Great value. Will stay again! Lots of room to park too! Easy access to beach!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Donna142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us at the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. We just completed the new walkway to the beach and we’re glad to hear that you found it convenient. Thanks for choosing to stay with us during your visit to the beautiful Outer Banks. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sue Hogan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews