We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recent stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Recent stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Hotel was very clean ….which is about all I care about. Front desk staff were ok… not super friendly. Breakfast in morning was not worth getting out of bed… mainly just coffee. Person serving breakfast was a bit on the rude side.
But place was clean and comfortable and beach out front was beautiful.
We arrived late in the evening so did not go for the more expensive ocean side of the hotel.
Asked for a AAA discount.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for the review of your recent stay. Our staff works really hard to keep the guest rooms and common areas of the hotel clean and we are pleased that we met your standards.
We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel and the beautiful beach and hope to see you again.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    166
    57
    12
    19
See reviews for
119
188
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nashville
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Pros:
- Great location on the beach and not too far from places to eat (but few within walking distance)
- Beautiful, wide, clean beach.
- Nice walk way over the sand dune (see below)
- Sweet Potato Biscuit Breakfast was decent (think little biscuits with little ham, but still tasty)
- Nice size room, clean, comfortable bed, nice bath/shower.

Cons (don't let these keep you from staying here):
- The 2nd floor is really the 1st floor of guest rooms above the car park. If you want a view of the beach you have to be on floors 3-5; else you have a nice view of the sand dune; and a bit of the ocean. The other issue is the railing has a wide top on it that obstructs your view unless you stand up.
- Not able to easily walk to a bar or restaurant. The closest good restaurant (not across the highway at the mall), the Blue Moon Beach Grill (which was great) is 0.7 miles.

Tips:
- Visit the Wright Bros museum and the lighthouses. If you don't want to drive down to Hatteras, check out Bodie Island Lighthouse.
- Ask the nice host lady at breakfast where to eat dinner.
- Go down to the Nags Head Fishing Pier and have a beer at the bar which has a nice view of the beach and ocean. Good craft beer on draft and nice staff.

Room Tip: If you really want a beach + ocean view, pay the extra money and get on the 4th or 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TN-Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. As you noted, our second floor oceanfront rooms do have a view of the ocean but not of the beach. For this reason they are priced lower than the oceanfront rooms on the upper floors - you still have a private balcony looking out at the beautiful Atlantic Ocean and you save a few dollars too.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeannette, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed here during a long weekend in November. Although the weather was cool, was still able to walk right out to the beach and also lay on the balcony next to the indoor pool/hot tub. Hotel was clean, quiet and the sweet potato bisquits were great. Staff was friendly, just suggest staying on 3rd or 4th floor since the lower floors only get a partial view of the ocean because of the dunes being high. Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for reviewing your November stay with us at the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. Most people think of the Outer Banks as a summer destination and do not realize how great all seasons are here. The slower pace and quiet wide open beaches in the "off-season" is sometimes just what you need to relax and re-charge. We hope to see you again soon.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

While checking in we advised the front desk of our medical alert dog. They were rude from the very beginning. Got a call from the front desk not even one minute from returning to our room saying another guest had complained of a dog barking. Not once our whole trip did our dog bark. They were very rude to us the whole time including eye rolling and shaking of heads whenever they saw us. We advised the manager of our terrible service and she was just as rude! Bottom line is they are not service dog friendly or people friendly for that matter. Stay away!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lauraj4489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
We are sorry that you feel that you were not treated properly by our staff. While we are a pet free facility, we always welcome and accommodate service animals and appreciate their value to our guests. The Nags Head Inn is one of the sponsors of the annual VIP (Visually Impaired Persons) fishing tournament and some of the participants and volunteers that stay with us have service dogs so the staff is aware and respectful of their presence.
We do hope that you will return to the Nags Head Inn in the future.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Knolls, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

I would like to thank the staff especially Tai for all her help in extending our reservation on short
notice. We found the Inn to be very clean and staff helpful and friendly. The location
is prime and I would not hesitate to recommend the Inn or stay there again.

Room Tip: Of course try and make reservations in advance. We had street room and although of course I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for the review of your stay with us at the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. We’re glad that you enjoyed it here so much that you wanted to extend your stay and that Tai was able to arrange that for you. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Very nice hotel located right on a beautiful beach. Rooms on the 3rd & 4th floors have spectacular view of the Atlantic Ocean, walk up the stairs and over the sand dune to a sandy beach with no lifeguard, but a vendor who rents chairs and umbrellas......there is also a ramp to the top of the dunes for great viewing, but no ramp to the beach. There are small refrigerators in every room and a free breakfast of packaged "pastries" which should be missed.

Staff at front desk nice, but clueless.

Room Tip: Rooms facing ocean much better, but lower floors have their view blocked by sand dune
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyShek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Nags Head Inn. We are glad that you enjoyed that great ocean view from our rooms and our new beach walkway (to clarify - although there is not a ramp to take you down to the beach there are stairs). We hope to see you again.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

My wife and I made a quick trip to Nags Head for our anniversary. Sometimes we take our two dogs and need a place that accepts dogs. This time we went without them and decided on Nags Head Inn. All staff members are fantastic and always cheerful. The hotel is clean and quiet. Location is right on the beach and the new staircase across the dune makes the walk to the beach an easy one. We had a great trip!

Room Tip: If you want an ocean view, make sure to book a room on the third floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeperNagsHeadNC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us at the Nags Head Inn Oceanfront. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and hope that you will come to stay again soon.

Sue Hogan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
6.9 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
1.9 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla
12.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
4.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront

Property: Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Address: 4701 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9295
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
#3 Family Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront is the only Outer Banks hotel that features over 4 acres of pristine oceanfront, and is located in the quiet, residentially-zoned historic area in Nags Head. Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront (formerly named the Nags Head Inn) has become famous for delivering the Original Outer Banks Oceanfront Experience for nearly a quarter of a century by offering our highly valued guests honest vacation value. According to Outer Banks hotel reviews, our guests love the recent renovations on our 4 acres of beautiful oceanfront sand dunes, pristine beach, manicured Bermuda lawns and lush barrier island gardens... relaxing year round in our indoor heated pool or jumping into the beautiful Atlantic Ocean just outside their doors. We love making lasting memories happen and we've been told we're pretty good at it. It is our aim to make every guest become a repeat guest and offer you a vacation superior to other Outer Banks hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nags Head Hotel Nags Head
Nags Head Bed Breakfast
Nags Head Inn
Nag Head Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing