We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Surf Side Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront(Nags Head)(Great Value!)
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colonial Inn(Nags Head)
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$325
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Owens' Motel(Nags Head)
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Blue Heron Motel(Nags Head)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,735)
Filter reviews
1,737 results
Traveller rating
1,216
415
82
12
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,216
415
82
12
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssouth buildingmain buildingocean frontthe outer banksoutdoor poolloft roomcontinental breakfastlemon waterwafflescomplimentary winefresh fruithard boiled eggshappy hourocean view roomwonderful hoteloff seasonquiche
Filter
Updating list...
1,070 - 1,075 of 1,737 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Our stay at the Surf Side Hotel was excellent! The room was clean and spacious. The staff was very friendly and polite. It was our first time visiting the outer banks for vacation, and because of our experience we look forward in returning. My wife said that when we come back we will stay at the Surf Side Hotel. Thank you Surf Side Hotel for your hospitality and we will return back to the outer banks because of our experience at Surf Side.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeachBunny800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We will definitely come back. There were good restaurants near by and activities for our young adult sons. It was a relaxing vacation and we enjoyed every minute! Almost everyone we met during our stay were repeat visitors, which says a lot about this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReneeandKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My husband and I had one fun night at the Surf Side. The room was spacious and clean. We had a partial ocean view room in the new building. The beach area was fabulous. The sand was clean and stretched on for miles. Midweek in May, we had the beach to ourselves.
Breakfast was fine. The wine and cheese thing was underwhelming - goldfish and decanters of white and red wine.
The pool and hot tub was nice as well.

Room Tip: New building. Ocean view, if you can afford it.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AZGlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Staying at the Surf Side hotel was great. Rooms were ok but not super nice. We had a 4th floor loft room. I love the loft rooms! I can sleep in an area that I have a more private feel. Pool and Hot Tub are great. When we used up the coffee packet and we called the front desk to get a housekeeping to get us another one, they got it to us in about 5 minutes! Direct beach access is great too, the balcony is ok but a little small. Hotel breakfast what ok but not like the buffets at the LaQuinta hotels we stay in a bunch, this had a bit more snack like stuff but it was not bad. Guest Laundry had only 1 washer and 1 dryer but that did not matter as not many people were going to use them a lot anyways. Wi-Fi worked well and the little refresh mints they set in the rooms when you first get there is very nice! Good drawer space too. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We chose this hotel based on trip advisor reviews and they were correct..great place. We would recommend paying the extra money to get an ocean front room. When we got up in the morning we could see dolphins out front. Free wine and cheese from 4-6, great hot breakfast, clean rooms, friendly staff, plenty of parking. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NhWishfultraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews