We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at Surf Side in Nags Head”
Review of Surf Side Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Surf Side Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our stay at Surf Side in Nags Head”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We found the hotel as depicted on the web site. The room was very clean and conveniently located. Everyone was friendly as well as very helpful. It was quiet and most comfortable. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gayle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,034
    365
    72
    9
    12
See reviews for
484
727
34
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (550)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, NC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My wife and I spent a long weekend at Surf Side in June. It was a great experience. The rooms were clean and well appointed. We stayed in the smaller building oceanfront on the second floor and had a nice view of the ocean just over the dunes. I imagine the first floor didn't have much of an ocean view. All the rooms in the larger building appeared to have good ocean views even if they weren't oceanfront. Our room was grouped with two others, with a door leading to them on a small hall. I imagine if you booked far enough in advance you could rent all the rooms and have a nice suite for your entire family. Only drawback was that the AC unit was very loud and had to run constantly to dehumidify the room. The hotel is in a good location, just a short drive or bike ride from a number of good restaurants and Jeanette's pier. We will be back.

Room Tip: First floor on second building has obstructed ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WaterdogILM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nags Head, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We have stayed at the Surf Side at least 8 times, and this continues to be our favorite Nags Head hotel. Quality of service was terrific, rooms were clean, pools clean, pool towel service convenient, breakfast fine. Two things that really need to be improved...the pull out sofa was miserable and the A/C unit was horribly loud. We had an efficiency in the south building. The king bed was super comfy and the room was huge and clean. Plenty of space for five people, but we will never stay in a room again with a pull out. It was THAT BAD.

Room Tip: Get an ocean front room with a balcony. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAS921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
113 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

After researching many properties in Nags Head, we decided to go with Surf Side for our OBX vacation. We had an ocean front room on the second floor...the view of the ocean was breathtaking. We fell asleep to the sound of the waves every night and got to see amazing sun rises.

Parking was never an issue, nor was getting a spot by the pool or beach. The beach is extremely close and literally right off of the pool walk way.

Customer service was standard. We didn't really have anything go wrong, so we didn't have too much experience with staff. The little bit we did was positive.

The breakfast was pretty nice. Your standard fare, but many choices to fill you up. No complaints, and the free breakfast made it more convenient.

My only suggestion would be to put a small hand held broom and dust pan in each room. Being on the ocean, the room can get very full of sand. It would have been nice to sweep up the sand in the bathroom so it didn't track all over.

I also don't know why there are not any exhaust fans in the bathrooms...boy can it get hot in there after a shower, and living with 3 stinky boys it sure would come in handy. I guess that would be my second suggestion.

Overall, our stay was quite pleasant. We loved every minute of our OBX vacation.

Room Tip: For some reason the price difference between a first floor and second floor ocean front was no diffe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This past week was our 3rd stay at Surfside and they continue to impress. The hotel is clean and well maintained and everyone is as friendly as can be. The free breakfast is great with the addition of waffles and sausage since our last stay a couple of years ago. The pool is always clean and the beach is never crowded. Great to have both options for the kids. Great views even from the first floor rooms. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scott h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishersville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This was a first time visit for my family and I. When I walked into the hotel, I approached the check-in desk. The clerk, Patty did not even bother to look up let alone greet me and welcome me to the establishment. I tried to hand a photo I.D., a credit card and a AAA card. She made no attempt to take them from me to verify who I was or my billing. When she made eye contact with me she looked very confused. I did notice she had plenty of time to give suggestions to her surrounding co-workers. She seems like a rude lady that should be working in a different work field. She never used my name even once during the transaction. My husband had originally made the reservation for me and had held the room with his credit card. When I informed the clerk that I wanted to leave the balance on my own credit card, it seemed to be too big of a concept for her to grasp. I am a front desk manager at a four diamond rated property. I chose to stay at this property because they had received a wonderful rating and I felt I would receive great service. Based on that experience alone, I would never recommend this property. When looking to hiring outstanding staff, make sure it is someone that makes the guest feel comfortable!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ramona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poquoson, Va
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I hate to write this review as I would like to keep this hotel to myself. But in the interest of anyone
looking for a clean, well run hotel, this is the place. I do not usually write hotel reviews but was
very impressed from the time we checked in to when we left the next morning. The room was incredibly clean with nice soap and toiletries. This is a cut above most of the midrange chain hotels we have stayed at. The surprise breakfast was great as I did not know
about it when I made the reservation. All the fruit was freshly cut and there was a good variety of yogurt, waffles and breads. Coffee and Tazo teas also. We also received an email after our stay thanking us for our visit. Great hotel and great staff - we will definitely be staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shanigirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
8.8 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
835 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
7.3 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,184 reviews
7.2 mi away
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
#2 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Side Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Side Hotel

Property: Surf Side Hotel
Address: 6701 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9119
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
#1 Family Hotel in Nags Head
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surf Side Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION, BEST VIEWS, BEST STAFF, BEST ROOMS, and the BEST VALUE! We are #1 on the Outer Banks because we know what our guests want and we strive hard to give it to them every day. Since 1984 our family owned and operated hotel has been making first time visitors long term guests with our Carolina Hospitality coupled with our exceptionally clean and well appointed rooms. We look forward to having you as our next guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Surf Side Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Hotel Nags Head
Surfside Nags Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing