We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel!”
Review of Surf Side Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Surf Side Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Our oceanfront room on the 2nd floor was very clean, very comfy, and had all the amenities we desired. The cleaning staff did a great job each day. The only downside to the room (owing to our own personal preference) is that the beds were not aligned on the same side of the room as the open portion of the window/sliding glass door...so that you could wake to the view of the ocean. With the beds on the opposite wall, you can see the ocean from the bed...but only a sliver. Again, a personal preference. But, listening to the ocean waves through the open door each night made up for it a great deal! :) We chose to not partake of the in-hotel breakfast...the dining room area is very cramped/stuffy at breakfast "rush hour", and the pickings were rather meager in comparison with other hotels (no eggs, no bacon, cold sausage patties you had to microwave yourself, etc). You can tell the hotel itself has some age on it, but they have kept it in great shape, and keep it all very clean. We didn't use the indoor and outdoor pools they have, but both seemed very clean and well maintained, and drew a good crowd each day. All in all, a very pleasant stay...we'd certainly consider the Surf Side in the future!

Room Tip: All oceanfront rooms seem to be good...with an actual full ocean view even from the first floor! No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank E2204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,595)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

881 - 887 of 1,595 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

The hotel located right on the beach so you will see the ocean from any room. The beach is kids friendly, especially during the low tide because the water is 4-5 ft deep. The ocean forms a natural pool with a dip in the middle and a shallow area about 50 yards from the shore. The shallow waters protect swimmers from sharks (we never seen one, but it's the ocean after all) and also create double surf which is really cool. The beach was not crowded at all, there were may be 20 people on average every day and the beach is huge!
We stayed in the main building on the second floor. The hotel was clean, the breakfast was pretty good. The staff was friendly. There is an outdoor and indoor pool and a hot tub. Pool towels are provided. There is a place to wash the sand off after the beach with plenty of spouts. All rooms have balconies where you can sit and enjoy the ocean breeze. Avoid rooms close to the smoking area however if you want to use balcony. Elevator is a bit outdated.
There are a lot of restaurants in the area and a couple of supermarkets so it was easy to find food for lunch and dinner. We drove around quite a bit and this hotel looks like one of the best in the area. A bit pricey though, wish we could afford to stay longer!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms close to the smoking area if you want a room with a side view of the ocean (ask for even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angle0fLight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We had an Ocean View room on the second floor. The room was very clean and comfortable. You can tell the staff takes pride in their jobs. Everyone was so friendly and nice. The continental breakfast was very good, nice fresh fruit, make your own waffles, sausage gravy and biscuits. The beach was beautiful and the pool area was very nice. We were not able to join for the wine and snacks, but I am sure it would be nice. The location was perfect making it easy to get around. You won't be disappointed it is a GREAT Place to stay.

Room Tip: Second floor Ocean View was nice and quiet. We were overlooking the parking lot but it was nice to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank linds46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We have stayed many times, initially on recommendation of a friend. Will stay again next year. Great breakfast and wine & snacks @ 4-6. Beach,pools and all facilities are super clean. Thank you for enjoyable stays!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flyway47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This place is located on a quiet part of the beach, although very convenient to Restaurants and shopping. The hotel had wine and snacks at 4 PM.
They also had a very very nice breakfast, which I loved the fresh fruit.
They also provide complimentary towels for the beach and ice for our cooler to take home.
You can also rent umbrellas and chairs if needed, we brought our own and never used them, it was too windy.
The staff were friendly and our room which was on the 4th floor had amazing views and rocking chairs and the room had a microwave and fridge....Terrific, will stay longer next time, oh and the outside pool was also a nice treat, the only thing was that you could not use the hot tub until 10 AM!

Room Tip: Rooms waterfront or on the south side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lollypop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The ocean front location is ideal. Spacious room with balcony facing the beach. All staff were very personable. Enjoyed the continental breakfast with something for everyone to choose from. Ideally close to shopping outlets.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kreede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for three nights in an oceanfront room. The room was clean and everything was fine. The common areas needs some attention. Two old, cruddy air conditioners stayed in plain sight outside a storage area for our entire stay. The housekeeping staff did a good job with the room, but they ran over you in the halls and elevator. The beach access was great!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank katiandsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
13.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
889 reviews
6.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,588 reviews
7.6 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Side Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Side Hotel

Address: 6701 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9119
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
#1 Family Hotel in Nags Head
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nags Head
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range: £78 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surf Side Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION, BEST VIEWS, BEST STAFF, BEST ROOMS, and the BEST VALUE! We are #1 on the Outer Banks because we know what our guests want and we strive hard to give it to them every day. Since 1984 our family owned and operated hotel has been making first time visitors long term guests with our Carolina Hospitality coupled with our exceptionally clean and well appointed rooms. We look forward to having you as our next guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Surf Side Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Hotel Nags Head
Surfside Nags Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing