We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”
Review of Surf Side Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Surf Side Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Nice clean rooms and Friendly staff. We really enjoyed our time at Surf Side. Loved the outer banks was our first visit and we were amazed at how much stuff there was to do. Good restaurants, lots of shopping, wild horses, sand dunes and museums.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naomidw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,596)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

850 - 856 of 1,596 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

We just stayed at the Surf Side for the third year in a row. It is as good now as it was the first two times! Our family of five love it here. We stay in a loft room on the fourth floor. We had a king bed on the lower level, and a queen bed up in the loft; there is also a sleeper sofa. Our room was always clean, and we never heard our neighbors in the hotel. We love being able to go on the balcony and see the sound on the right and the beach on the left, not to mention the pool that's right below us. We were there 10 days in August, and it was the coolest August that I can remember. However, we were never bored. Even when the weather was bad (as it was for much of our stay!), we would use the indoor pool and hot tub. We also enjoyed the wine that they provide from 4:00-6:00 each day in the room off the lobby. There are also goldfish and pretzels near the self-service wine, which my children loved! Additionally, they have cold lemon water available all day, which is nice on a hot afternoon. There is lots of shopping and miniature golf nearby, not to mention restaurants and ice cream places.

Their complimentary breakfasts seem better each year! They had biscuits and gravy, three waffle irons to make your own waffles (which meant we didn't have to wait long to make our waffles like at some hotels), fresh strawberries, blueberries, watermelon, canteloupe, bananas, cereal, bagels, pastries, coffee, juices, etc. It was delicious and started our days off perfectly!

My husband is very picky, and this hotel has provided great consistency. It's clean, quiet, and exceeded his high expectations. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Ask for ocean-front rooms or rooms overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank xosted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Just got back, another wonderful stay at the surf side. Wonderful face wipes, I love them. They do need better hand soap in the bathroom, it does not rinse off well. we always bring our own hand soap due to that. Only complaint is that we were right over the smoking area and had to come in from the balcony whenever there were smokers. (first floor, north side of building) Will not stay on lower floors except on pool side from now on. Kids love the breakfast and the waffles muffins, etc. Beds and pillows are a little soft, but that seems to be the norm these days, had same issue at a springhill suites last month. Love the new balcony over the new porte cochere/covered entrance in front of the building, accessible from the first floor near the elevator

Room Tip: avoid lower floors on north side due to smokers below near entrance. Hotel generally quiet, but not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Celia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

We are grateful for your choice to stay with us again and for your time in reviewing the hotel. We learn how to improve by listening to our guests and implementing changes that we feel will benefit the majority. Your concerns about the smoking area are valid and well received. This is an item we will focus on improving for yours and other guests future stays. Thank you again for staying with us, we look forward to having you as our guest again in the future.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President/COO
Surf Side / Seaboard Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My husband and I have stayed at Surf Side Inn for about 5 years in a row now. We consider this our home away from home on the Outer Banks. The people that run the Inn are always so kind and helpful always trying to make your stay as nice and comfortable as possible. The rooms are large and very clean. They have a wonderful free breakfast with many choices and always fresh fruit. Every afternoon there are snacks and wine for their quests.

The Surf Side Inn is in a very nice part of Nags Head with a beautiful beach. The Inn is small which makes you feel more comfortable. We would recommend this beautiful place to anyone going to the Outer Banks?

Room Tip: Ocean front have rocking chairs! Otherwise third floor south side rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel to let others know about the experience we work hard to deliver at the Surf Side. We truly care about our wonderful guests and we appreciate the guests that recognize the efforts we are making to make their stay relaxing and enjoyable. We sincerely appreciate your years of business so we will continue working to improve the hotel to make each stay more enjoyable than your last.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President / COO
Surf Side / Seaboard Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

If this is number 2 in Nags Head, advise to stay at another beach, or try Lost Colony Inn nearby which seemed very clean and well run….wish we had.

Highlights of stay at Surf Side, top floor, ocean front, south building, room with jacuzzi and 5x5 foot balcony w/2 chairs:

-did not get corner room as requested and confirmed;
-was called after we got home asking why we had not yet checked out of our "second" room, which WAS the corner room and was vacant during our entire stay (ps, we only reserved ONE room);
-at checkin was given a receipt that incorrectly stated "return" after we were supposedly charged for remainder of room charge balance;
-later discovered full room charge had been made on incorrect credit card, presumably for "second room";
-credit card account still not showing proper corrections 6 days later.

while there:

-no bread for toast at breakfast and no offer/attemp (even at 8.30 am) to get more bread from grocery store;
-maid staff constantly smoking, standing or sitting on floor in hallways outside rooms;
-boxes, old bathtubs and plastic bags full of trash/lines/towels laying around tight hallways most of day;
-constant smoke drifting in hallways and to room balcony from either maids or guest "smoking" area in enclosed parking garage directly below rooms.

Front desk staff uniformly friendly and polite at all times.

Spoke to COO of owning firm who profusely apologized for errors by his manager but no adjustments offered or requested.

Would not recommend to anyone unless/until new manager arrives and implements changes to above problems.

Room Tip: Find another motel and stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ritzytopaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

My apologizes for my staff were sincere. We failed to perform to the high standards we all strive to meet and deliver to our guests and for that I am sorry. We work hard to make every guests stay memorable for the right reasons but as much as we would all like to be perfect every single day every single time, on occasion we slip. An honest error occurred due to the changing of dates by guest but phone calls were made by our staff to verify the reservation. It was my understanding at the end of the conversation that it was accepted as such. All incorrect refunds were recharged and the incorrect charges were refunded, there was no waiting. Considering the initial lack of understanding and the nature of the additional complaints that were not brought to my attention during the phone conversation there was no reason for adjustments. Smoking is not permitted by anyone in the hotel, especially staff. For future guests looking to stay with us for the first time I believe the nearly 700 guests that have given us great reviews is a more accurate depiction of what you will experience when staying with us.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President / COO
Surf Side Hotel
Seaboard Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Surf Side hotel is a quite hold hotel in Nags Head. It is located directly on the beach. Amazing view on the ocean and, if your room is on the South side of the hotel, on Jeannette's Pier. Rooms are big and comfortable, even if old, the bathroom is small and old fashioned. Free wifi available in all the rooms. You have refrigerator, hair dryer, microwave and cable TV available in the room. Breakfast included is something special for Nags Head accomodations. Pool is available for guests, a small gym, and free water and coffee. Every afternoon there is the possibility for wine tasting. We had great time in Outer Banks and at the Surf Side hotel.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank orso77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for choosing to sty with us and for taking the time to review the Surf Side. We sincerely appreciate your business and the time to let others know about your stay.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President/COO
Surf Side Hotel
Seaboard Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Second stay for us. Nice location - beachfront. Our room had a balcony but not sure if all do. Staff was friendly. Complimentary breakfast had a decent selection. We only stayed overnight but satisfied with this hotel. It is on the pricey side in season but the plus is that you are right on the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gladys B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Surf Side Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

We greatly appreciate your choosing to stay with us again at the Surf Side. We work to make the first stay with us the first of many to come so it is rewarding to know you came back for another stay. We will continue to improve upon the experience we deliver to make each stay more enjoyable than the last.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President/COO
Surf Side Hotel
Seaboard Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
13.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
890 reviews
6.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,593 reviews
7.6 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Side Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Side Hotel

Address: 6701 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9119
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nags Head
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nags Head
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range: £77 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surf Side Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST LOCATION, BEST VIEWS, BEST STAFF, BEST ROOMS, and the BEST VALUE! We are #1 on the Outer Banks because we know what our guests want and we strive hard to give it to them every day. Since 1984 our family owned and operated hotel has been making first time visitors long term guests with our Carolina Hospitality coupled with our exceptionally clean and well appointed rooms. We look forward to having you as our next guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Surf Side Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Hotel Nags Head
Surfside Nags Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing