We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just great - would love to come again!”
Review of Courtyard New Bern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard New Bern
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just great - would love to come again!”
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Our family spent one night in early August 2011 and were thrilled. The staff was very nice. We had a room overlooking the pool and the riverfront, which was a very nice view. We also loved the balcony. The room was sparkling clean and - as a European in the USA - I was not used to, but very pleased to find real duvets with covers and not only wool blankets with a sheet (that usually comes off during the night...). My daughter and I spent some hours at the pool, which was very agreeable.My husband used the fitness center and was pleased, too. A really nice treat is the complimentary guest reception in the afternoon, where small snacks and drinks are offered. My kids were enthusiastic! The breakfast was typical Comfort Suites style, enough room for everybody and a good choice of food. Unfortunately we were just travelling through, I would have loved to stay longer! No wonder this hotel has won some awards - it was the nicest Comfort Suites I ever stayed in! Will sure stay there if I ever happen to go to New Bern again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mariela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    111
    23
    8
    8
See reviews for
78
114
17
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

During a business trip, we got held up in New Bern due to car troubles...the hotel staff was amazing getting us a room, with a view! Cookie and wine hour in the earely evening is fantastic. The hotel is clean, quiet, and staff is helpful ..will definitely stay there again for business or pleasure!

Room Tip: a pool/bay view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alo141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Ma.
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Stopped here on our way north from florida,a pleasant surprise, got a room right on the river, wound up spending three days there. Great location,and front desk was very helpful.. One of the best chain hotels I have stayed in

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mymymoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield,NJ
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

I liked this little cozy spot, the pool area set it off. It's not a 5 star but you will be happy because it's nice & clean & well kept.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotelbody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Island, NC
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Had reservations at another hotel that was less expensive but they matched the rate so my brother and I stayed here and were we glad. We were next to River Front Park and steps from the downtown area that is filled with shops and restaurants. We sampled a cold pepsi from the drugstore where the drink was first formulated, walked the marina, took photos of some of the houses on the Neuse River, and ate at an ecclectic restaurant downtown.

This hotel was very nice and the suite we slept in had two queen size beds and a balcony that overlooked the park and the river. The downtown area is especially nice and the stores were restored from the earlier years in the original buildings. New Bern is a sister city of Bern, Switzerland and the mascot is a bear so of course there are bears (statues, paintings, flags, symbols) all with bears on them.

Downtown within a five minute stroll has at least ten fine restaurants to choose from and you can enjoy an easy walk back to the hotel. Nice place and would stay here again when I return to the area. Also offer complimentary continental breakfast and free USA Today.

Room Tip: You might mention that you have a reservation at another hotel that is less and see if they will mat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 122mackey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zionville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

My family stopped at the Comfort Suites River Front Park on our way to Atlantic Beach this summer. We had checked out the reviews on Tripadvisor and thought it looked good. Our stay could not have been better.

Service- The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The front desk had maps and hints on things to do and places to go.

The Room- We stayed in a king suite overlooking the Neuse River. The room was incredibly clean. Lots of pillows on the bed. Plenty of room. Our kids brought two twin air mattresses that they laid on the floor. The balcony had a beautiful view of the river. In the evening we watched the boats on the water. The morning brought a pristine sunrise over the water.

Breakfast- Included with the price of the room- lots to choose from. I had sausage, eggs, and an English muffin. The kids had waffles and cereal. There was also fruit, gravy, and bagels. No need to leave hungry.

Location- right on the river next to the park. We walked around the park and up to the marina in just about five minutes. You're also just a couple of blocks from the center of downtown- lots of good restaurants, the Pepsi museum. If you're going to Tryon Palace though you might want to drive.

I can't comment on the wireless internet, didn't use it. Also, they have an outdoor pool which looked nice and clean, but we didn't use it as well.

When we were leaving, my oldest son asked if we could make this part of our Summer vacation again next year. Sounds like a good recommendation to me.

Room Tip: If getting a balcony, request an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tuckasegee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

This hotel was a real treat. I had failed to request a view room in advance, and the very helpful agent at the check-in kindly found us a riverside balcony room. The room had a lovely view of the water, and the fridge and microwave were nicely hidden in nice furniture. There was relevant art of the Tryon governor’s palace and the Virginia governor’s palace at Williamsburg. Bed and linens were good.
There was a complimentary wine and cheese in the elegant breakfast area, and we enjoyed ours in the beautiful pool area. It felt just like being on a cruise, with palmettos and boats. We were right downtown, with a choice of interesting places to eat in the historical area of this beautiful town.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heikermeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Bern hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
2.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites New Bern
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bern
Hampton Inn New Bern
#1 of 10 in New Bern
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bridgepointe Hotel and Marina
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
#5 of 10 in New Bern
218 reviews
3.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites New Bern
Candlewood Suites New Bern
#7 of 10 in New Bern
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New Bern

Property: Courtyard New Bern
Address: 218 E Front St, New Bern, NC 28560-2146 (Formerly Comfort Suites Riverfront Park)
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Bern
#3 Business Hotel in New Bern
#3 Family Hotel in New Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard New Bern 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard New Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Riverfront Park Hotel New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
New Bern Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing