We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You'll love it!”
Review of Courtyard New Bern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard New Bern
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“You'll love it!”
Reviewed 11 May 2012

After some car trouble we ended up in New Bern around 5 PM. Not really planning to stay there, we hadn't done any homeword on hotels. We saw this one on the river and decided to give it a try. It was lovely; the room and the view were great. They had wine and snacks in the lobby Mon-Thurs evenings; we sat out by the pool and unwound. The morning breakfast was typical and sufficient. We ended up staying in New Bern and touring the sights before we headed home.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    106
    22
    8
    6
See reviews for
72
106
17
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Nice room with good lighting. Place was clean and quiet. Free breakfast was the usual offerings - nothing fancy, but certaining sufficient. Great location - everything was within walking distance.

Only problem - I got charged twice. I had made reservation on hotels.com, but hotel charged me again at check out.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank czechmateNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Beautiful hotel with beautiful rooms. Loved sitting on the deck watching the boats go by.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank capefearcookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

I recently stayed at the Comfort Suites (Riverfront Park) in New Bern for two weeks.

This location is wonderful and literally sits only a few feet away from the waterfront overlooking the beautiful Neuse River. It also sits right next to a nice, clean waterfront park, which is great for walking, relaxing or reading a book while you listen to the water.
In addition, you are easily within walking distance of historic downtown New Bern. Downtown has several unique stores, boutiques and delicious independent restaurants to try.

About the hotel itself, the outside is nice and good landscaping but nothing too glamorous. I like to point this out because usually if they take care of the lawn, they take care of the inside. (Just a note)

About the interior, while this is an aging hotel with some wear and tear, it is still in very good condition. The room was also very nice with a balcony overlooking the River. This was a nice addition to just sit and relax on several occasions. However while there was nothing to formally complain about, I did make some observations. On a few occasions when I would return from work at the end of the day, the room had a strange stench. I would usually open up the balcony door to help air it out. My workmate also complained about the same thing in her room. Another thing was the shower was dirty and looked like it needed repairing, nonetheless, nothing too major.

If I could change anything about the hotel, I would start with the breakfast. Maybe I have been spoiled, but I have noticed most hotels are going to a hot breakfast with several items and usually will change it up. While this hotel does serve some type of akward Egg patty and sausage, every day it was the same cereal, bagels, toast, etc etc etc along with a waffle maker that could not make a waffle without ½ the waffle sticking to the machine. I could stay at Holiday Inn Express for less money and get a better breakfast. (Just saying). They also have very limited seating which sucks for a hotel right across the street from an convention center. Some bell ringers were having a convention and took up the whole place.

I would also add sliding doors to this place. Trying to open the main door and push a luggage cart through is not too easy. This is an obvious needed upgrade.

Overall, this is a good hotel at a great location.

Room Tip: Ask for a Balcony (Beautiful Views)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PastorBrandon81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford, Delaware
Level Contributor
131 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We had a great visit to this hotel and were glad that we stayed two days to unwind, watch out over the Neuse River, and enjoy the pace. The hotel was fantastic, staff excellent and relaxed, plus most anxious to assist. The pool was clean and lightly used. Hurricane Irene tore up a bit of this area, but did not affect our visit. The room was large and clean and a very good value. This waterfront venue is adjacent to the walkable historic district too.

Room Tip: If you want to look out over the river, request a river view room. We were on the third floor on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank roy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Our family spent one night in early August 2011 and were thrilled. The staff was very nice. We had a room overlooking the pool and the riverfront, which was a very nice view. We also loved the balcony. The room was sparkling clean and - as a European in the USA - I was not used to, but very pleased to find real duvets with covers and not only wool blankets with a sheet (that usually comes off during the night...). My daughter and I spent some hours at the pool, which was very agreeable.My husband used the fitness center and was pleased, too. A really nice treat is the complimentary guest reception in the afternoon, where small snacks and drinks are offered. My kids were enthusiastic! The breakfast was typical Comfort Suites style, enough room for everybody and a good choice of food. Unfortunately we were just travelling through, I would have loved to stay longer! No wonder this hotel has won some awards - it was the nicest Comfort Suites I ever stayed in! Will sure stay there if I ever happen to go to New Bern again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mariela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

During a business trip, we got held up in New Bern due to car troubles...the hotel staff was amazing getting us a room, with a view! Cookie and wine hour in the earely evening is fantastic. The hotel is clean, quiet, and staff is helpful ..will definitely stay there again for business or pleasure!

Room Tip: a pool/bay view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alo141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Bern hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bern
Hampton Inn New Bern
#1 of 10 in New Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
2.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites New Bern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
BridgePointe Hotel And Marina
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
#6 of 10 in New Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
3.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites New Bern
Candlewood Suites New Bern
#7 of 10 in New Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New Bern

Property: Courtyard New Bern
Address: 218 E Front St, New Bern, NC 28560-2146 (Formerly Comfort Suites Riverfront Park)
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Bern
#3 Family Hotel in New Bern
#3 Business Hotel in New Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard New Bern 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Courtyard New Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Riverfront Park Hotel New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
New Bern Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing