We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Great staff”
Review of Courtyard New Bern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard New Bern
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Kirkland, WA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great location, Great staff”
Reviewed 15 March 2006

We stayed at the Comfort Suites on the River in New Bern one night on our trip down the Carolina coast. So glad we picked this hotel. The staff was so helpful with restaurant recommendations and also places to stop on the way to Wilmington. The evening reception had lots of good munchies and the breakfast is more than adequate. New Bern historic downtown is really worth a visit if you are in the area.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarciaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    110
    23
    8
    7
See reviews for
76
112
17
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
plainview,ny.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2006

Everything about this hotel is excellent!The rooms are clean,nicely furnished and quiet.Beds are very comfortable(pillowtop mattresses).The hotel,the property and the views are beautiful.At 5pm (monday to thursday)there is a guest gathering.Beer,wine,soda,chips and dips are served.The gentleman who runs the gathering serves his home made cookies-the best I have ever tasted.The location is excellent since it is virtually in the historic area.I would definately stay here again and recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beardman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olney, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2005

We thought we were going to enjoy "mum-fest" weekend; but it rained like cats & dogs. The hotel staff was very friendly and the room was great! We definately suggest spending the few extra dollars to get the balcony & the fourth floor has the best view!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lap0718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2005

I stay at this hotel once a year when I am visiting New Bern. It's so nice. I would request a river room - the view is beautiful. Breakfast is included - so it is great for those traveling with children. (They can make their own waffles!)

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandy0919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAZLETON, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2005

I reserved 2 connecting rooms with balconies overlooking the river. The staff advised me the higher the room the better the view, so I opted for them on the 4th level which was the top floor of the building. WHAT A VIEW! The balconies are private with 2 chairs and a small table one each and ours overlooked the boat launching area. You could watch the various boats sailing around out on the river. There were 4 in our party and from check in through check out we all were treated with true Southern Hospitality. The rooms were delightfully decorated and clean, well appointed and laid out with a sitting area seperated from the 2 double bed sleeping area by a half wall. The sitting area consisted of a desk and chair, desk lamp, easy chair and reading floor lamp and sleep sofa with an end table and table lamp. All were very comfortable. The bathroom in our rooms had double wide showers with no bath tubs that was definately to our liking. The complimentary breakfast included items like cut up fresh fruit salad; whole pieces of fruit (apples, grapes, bananas,etc); multiple flavored juices; coffees; sweet rolls; French toast; English muffins; various breads for toasting; cold cerals; oatmeal; "make your own waffles" which was a treat; and the list goes on. The servers in the breakfast area kept the tables and serving area extremely clean and no request was too much for them to fill. The front desk employees also fit into that class. This made the whole time spent in New Bern a little more special. Thanks you Comfort Suites River Front Park Employees....We all will surely be back to your establishment when we visit our brother again in New Bern. I recommend this spot to all.....

Helpful?
9 Thank PennyCHazleton_Pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north carolina
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2005

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for the weekend, and we loved the riverfront room with a balcony. The view is absolutely beautiful, especially in the morning as the sun rises over the river. We originally booked the room with jacuzzi tub, but it only has a river view with no balcony. We liked the smaller room w/balcony much better. This hotel is located downtown, and is walking distance to shops, restaurants, etc. We had drinks at the Sheraton one evening and liked our view much better, as the Sheraton overlooks a marina on the river. Continental Breakfast is good. They advertised a guest reception, but it is only M-Th, and since we were there on a weekend, didn't get that treat. Overall, would highly recommend and would stay here on returning to New Bern.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank waccamawtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deep South
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2004

Loved the river view room and the excellent breakfast. These chain hotel rooms rarely seem clean, but this one's new and attractive. Enjoyed the pool and jacuzzi while watching boats sail by.
***highly recommended if you have children***

  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank OldMagnolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Bern hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
2.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites New Bern
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bern
Hampton Inn New Bern
#1 of 10 in New Bern
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bridgepointe Hotel and Marina
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
#6 of 10 in New Bern
215 reviews
3.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites New Bern
Candlewood Suites New Bern
#7 of 10 in New Bern
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New Bern

Property: Courtyard New Bern
Address: 218 E Front St, New Bern, NC 28560-2146 (Formerly Comfort Suites Riverfront Park)
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Bern
#3 Business Hotel in New Bern
#3 Family Hotel in New Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard New Bern 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard New Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Riverfront Park Hotel New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
New Bern Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing