We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Booked the rooms I'd already booked”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Meadows Inn B & B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Meadows Inn B & B
Ranked #5 of 11 New Bern B&B and Inns
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
“Booked the rooms I'd already booked”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

In February I booked this entire inn for a family gathering in May. I gave my credit card information and requested every room be booked. I called today, March 17th, to check on the reservations and found out that they had booked 3 of their rooms AFTER I had made my reservations. How can you book rooms that have already been reserved!?! And to make matters worse, I've already sent out the invitations with this inn as the accommodations! needless to say, I'm very disappointed and will now incur the cost of sending out new invitations, not to mention that I now have to find rooms for all of my family! This is absolutely the worst kind of service.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank GinnyEzell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meadowsinnbnb, Owner at Meadows Inn B & B, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
This party did not stay at the Inn in March. All communication was by phone, discussing several rescheduled dates before deciding on a hold via credit card for the dates of May 18 & 19, 2012. Her family was to call with their credit card #s. To date no reservations have been confirmed with additional credit card #s. Upon hearing about a three room conflict for the weekend in question, this party declined the remaining 5 rooms, stating she wanted the entire Inn. A follow up phone call to this individual offering an apology and consideration of the 5 remaining rooms + cottage + location for having a baby shower did not prove to be a viable solution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    13
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
56
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

We missed our flight to Raleigh from Tampa and had to catch a flight to Fayetteville. Didnt arrive to New Bern until 11pm on a Saturday night. John and Betty went out of there way to accomodate us and went the extra mile to greet us when we arrived. They were extremely friendly and knowledgable about all that New Bern has to offer. The accomodations including the breakfast were top-notch. Will definitely stay there if ever back in New Bern.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shachey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meadowsinnbnb, Owner at Meadows Inn B & B, responded to this review, 2 December 2011
We appreciate the positive review and reinforce the need to communicate. Our guests have been great keeping us informed and updated as to their schedule changes. Enjoyed the opportunity to meet folks from all across the country. That's what makes this a great business.
Thanks again. J&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

We enjoyed our stay at this beautiful antebellum home that is located near all the attractions. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful with recommendations. The accomodations were comfortable and topped off with a delicious breakfast. Overall, a wonderful experience which put us in touch with the history of a beautiful city.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAnn051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2011

Betty and John are the best, highly recommended, theyre so kind and make a wonderful breakfast. This location is excellent and right near a few good restaurants and downtown New Bern.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zacharyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahama
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2011

Our extended family experienced a delightful weekend birthday celebration at the Meadows Inn B&B. We found our accomodations in Josephine's Room and Granny's Attic to be a perfect match to our expectations of being together as one happy family but also having our own quiet retreat time and space. As part of the weekend celebration we participated in the Murder Mystery Dinner and were delighted beyond words. What a joyful experience, full of suspense, laughture, and fun. Betty and John are among the nicest hosts we have encountered on our numerous stays at B&Bs accross the state. What a delightfully unique weekend celebration for our family. I highly recommend this stay to anyone who loves sunrises over the water, great food, quiet and spacious rooms, and kind and caring hosts.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpowell5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2010

The Meadows Inn was the best B & B experience my husband and I have ever had. The hosts John and Betty were extremely hospitable and sweet. They made us feel right at home and comfortable. The room was amazing and my husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The food was great and the service even better. This was our second trip to this B&B and it did not disappoint!! Wonderful People and Place!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelissaMarie182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2010

I am so glad that the hotels were booked. We needed a room for us and a room for our children. We got so much more. Meadows Inn not only provided us with 2 rooms but we had our own floor. It felt like we were staying with family. The kindness and courteousnes of John and Betty was incredible. Breakfast was delicious! Thank you John and Betty...we hope to see you again soon!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tincup8795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Bern hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard New Bern
Courtyard New Bern
#3 of 10 in New Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
0.6 mi away
BridgePointe Hotel And Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bern
Hampton Inn New Bern
#1 of 10 in New Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
2.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites New Bern
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
#6 of 10 in New Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadows Inn B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadows Inn B & B

Property: Meadows Inn B & B
Address: 212 Pollock St, New Bern, NC 28560-4943
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in New Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Meadows Inn B & B 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History of Meadows Inn. Original structure was built in 1847 by John Alexander Meadows and enlarged to it’s three story size in 1900. It began it's history as the premiere Bed & Breakfast in New Bern in 1980. Nestled peacefully in the heart of downtown historic district and walking distance to the Tryon Palace and Garden, excellent restaurants, antique shops, the birthplace of Pepsi, the riverfront convention center and river walk are just a few of the many activities to discover. Plan a trip to New Bern, the second oldest town in the state. The mild weather allows you to enjoy all that New Bern has to offer. You will find something blooming most any time of the year. This faith and family Inn is the perfect base for planning either a quiet, romantic getaway, girlfriend reunion, dinner/theatre, family outing, daytrip to the beach, or simply discover where North Carolina began at the Tryon Palace tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Meadows Inn B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing