We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Meadows Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Courtyard New Bern(New Bern)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palace Motel(New Bern)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
73
15
5
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
73
15
5
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast was deliciousb bwithin walking distancehosts johnpumpkin pancakesgreat location in downtowngreat ownerstryon palacethird floorcookiesrelaxing weekendparked our carwater fronteach morningshort walka great place to stayhistoric area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed at the Meadows Inn B&B for one night in mid-July as a stopover point on our way to the Crystal Coast. The second floor queen room we stayed in (the Oriental room) was attractive and comfortable, and the house is spacious throughout. The inn is also in a fabulous location, within walking distance of the historic downtown area and the waterfront. Another thing we appreciated was that the owners allow one-night stays on weekends, which most B&Bs do not, and a late check-in.

Compared to other B&Bs, however, the breakfast was a bit disappointing in regards to portion size and creativity of food options. Breakfast dining times (8:30 or 9:00) were also close together and didn't encourage lingering or talking with others. Not nearly as many amenities were provided either (see tips below). Overall, it was a good stay but nothing remarkable compared to other B&Bs.

Tips for this inn: bring your own alarm clock, make sure to bring your own toiletries (nice shampoo and soap provided but nothing more), and be sure to snag a mug from downstairs because no drinking glasses or cups are provided in room, even in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neutron_Lurver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meadowsinn, Owner at Meadows Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Response to “Nice but unremarkable stay”

We like to take away something positive from any review of the Meadows Inn. After 13 years of meeting and greeting guests we apparently have become complacent in our check in procedure, as this review pointed out the miscommunication of the breakfast time. Our breakfast time is a set time for a hot entrée to come out of the oven, along with a fresh fruit cup & pastry.
Thank you for calling attention to the lack of glasses in the room. That had been overlooked and we have provided glasses in the Oriental room. Alarm clocks are provided in the check in area for those guests traveling without the smart phone alarms. No need to snag a mug from the downstairs, as there are glasses next to the Culligan water cooler in the beverage station off of the check in area. We have been pleased with the Gilchrist & Soames toiletries we provide and find that most guests travel with their own personal preferences beyond soap & shampoo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We enjoyed our long Memorial Day weekend at the Meadows Inn. John and Betty warmly greeted us and gladly helped us during our stay. The restaurant advice they gave us was most helpful and led us to some really good restaurants based on their first hand experience. I especially enjoyed the parking in the behind the Inn. We found plenty to do walking around New Bern and never had to use our car. Our room was fine and the breakfast good.

Richard and Arlene

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

Had a nice stay at Meadows Inn. Stayed in the Josephine room which was quite spacious. Coffee and sodas always available and the breakfast was really tasty (quiche, sausage balls, fruit, and a muffin). It is only a block from the water and an easy walk to shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We stayed two nights in the Monet room. The inn keepers here are very easy going and are delightful to talk with. I very much enjoyed their company. I also appreciated the coffee maker and ice tea in the fridge, along with other little tidbits. The home is very large and there is a lot of room to relax. The Monet room is a king room on the second floor. I always prefer a room on the second floor. We had a very peaceful night. We needed to run the air-conditioner at night and it was in good working order. I've noticed that some reviewers remarked about the place or room seeming worn. I am not really concerned with that. There was new carpet on the floor and the linens and everything were very clean. There are many inns on this street so picking one might be hard. I think the Meadows is a good value for New Bern. If you have trouble deciding try the Meadows. I would l stay here again, and would like to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJgirlonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Very pleasant weekend getaway made even better by our gracious hosts Betty and John. They made us feel right at home in their tastfully decorated victorian B&B which is conveniently located near the river and within easy walking distance of historic sites, stores and restaurants. We attended an event at the New Bern Convention Center, parking our car behind the B&B and not moving it all weekend! On our arrival we were greeted with the smell of freshly baking cookies and treated to a gourmet breakfast the following morning. Our room was huge and very comfortable, with an ample sized en suite bathroom and a tv, though we never turned it on.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews