We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and Friendly”
Review of Meadows Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Meadows Inn
Ranked #4 of 10 New Bern B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Warm and Friendly”
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I took a little after-Christmas trip first visiting Asheville and then New Bern. (I am a Nicholas Sparks' fan and wanted to visit his little town.)

Based on the location and their New Year's Eve special, I chose The Meadows Inn on-line and made reservations for a three-night stay. The special included afternoon appetizers/beverages, dinner reservations at the Harvey Mansion and dessert in our room.

I reserved the large, upstairs "Josephine" room, which was very attractive, spacious and comfortable. (I loved the off-white, satin trimmed "Soft and Cuddly" [brand name] ladies' robe and having a bath tub with plenty of hot water!)

The inn is located a block from the river and a block from some nice, local restaurants and shops, so we could walk everywhere!

We found the people of New Bern to be very friendly and interesting and enjoyed talking with some of the locals and hearing their stories.

The inn keepers were the best part of the inn! Betty and John are such warm, friendly people and a pleasure to spend time with!

If you enjoy fireplaces, know that although the rooms have fireplaces, they are non-functional.

My husband and I would recommend The Meadows Inn to anyone looking for a relaxing place to stay within walking distance to just about everything.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusiePurvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    13
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
57
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We stay at this B & B several times a year. We don't consider staying anyplace else. We love the atomosphere and the inn keepers. They are the type of people who want there guests to be happy and comfortable. Anything you want or need you just ask and they do their best to accomodate you. We have recommended this inn to many other people.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valentine107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 16 December 2013

The Innkeepers, Mr. & Mrs. Foy are excellent hosts. We enjoyed their company as well as their very thorough recommendations for things to do in New Bern, Betty took the time to point out on a map all the places we might be interested in going during our stay.

The house is beautiful, especially so considering it was built in 1847. The four poster bed in the Josephine room was extremely comfortable, the linens were high quality and the innkeepers provided enough blankets to keep you warm in an arctic night (we're talking multiple duvets plus a woolen blanket on top of the sheets.) The room was spacious and comfortable.

The food was great, and Betty had a drawer full of loose leaf tea from the local farmers market for us to dig through, which I appreciated! (Oh, and her cookies are excellent, I admit to sneaking a few in the evening)

The location is excellent, the house is steps from the water, surrounded by other historic homes with much less traffic than the western section of the historic part of town.

As much as I would like to give another New Bern B&B a try on my next trip, It would be a very difficult decision to not stay with John and Betty again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank originaldisplayname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Our room (Oriental Room) was immaculate and Mr. & Mrs. Foy were very, very kind to us offering help and considerate suggestions. Please remember this home is one of only a few pre-civil war Bed and Breakfasts still in existence. While it has modern ammenities, it also has it's antiquarian charm with the settled glass windows, poured plaster walls, and slightly shifted flooring - we thought it very sentimental and charming. The location could not have been better. It's on a quiet row of VERY old historic landmark homes and only one block in from the water. You can park your car and leave it for the entirety of your stay as nearly everything was within a short walk (which we highly recommend doing, especially if you want to see the historic sights of the area).

Room Tip: We personally enjoyed the Oriental Room that we stayed in (this is original to the home when it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is a lovely B&B with wonderful owners. Breakfast was delicious, and they were very accommodating to dietary needs. The house is within easy walking distance to the downtown area as well as the water. There is plenty to do without ever needing to get i the car!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed one night at the Meadows Inn a few weeks ago and stayed in the Josephine room. Overall, we were provided with a clean bed to sleep in at a reasonable rate, but I have to stay that the stay was just average.

First, the rooms and the house in general have a lot of 'stuff' that I guess is supposed to add to the ambiance, but I found it weird that there was a giant basket of victorian hats on the floor and photos of other people. It just seemed like 1) a lot of dust lying around, and 2) that I was invading someone else's space; it was difficult to feel at home as a result. I think that ambiance could have been achieved without all of these extras.

Second, the whole house has a slightly mildewing smell.

Third, the room was not arranged efficiently. It would have been nice to have nightstands on both sides of the bed to put down your phone and your keys!

Fourth, there were limited amenities. It would have been nice to have more than two towels for two people (I have really long hair and normally use two towels by myself), and we only got one bar of soap -- I guess it was supposed to be for both the sink and the shower, but I found this odd. Also, the bathroom looked like it hadn't been renovated since about 1980's; shower was very narrow. The shower curtain was very unnecessarily lacy and dingy.

Finally, we were told that breakfast was from 8:30 to 9:00, but it wasn't actually served until around 9:30. It consisted of assorted cut fruit, a blueberry crumble (good), a very sad looking 'grits casserole', and a scrambled egg with mushrooms wrapped in bacon like 'puff', which was fine. I think it would have been a little better for most of the guests if they just stuck to breakfast options that were less complicated to make and faster for the waiting hungry guests.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meadowsinn, Owner at Meadows Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Response to “Just Okay”
It was disappointing to read that these guests were not pleased with their accommodations in the Josephine room. In the 13 years as caretakers of this 166 year old building, it has been our most sought after room for celebrating special occasions. The theme for this room is Victorian indicative of the timeline when the home was enlarged (1900). It was also the timeline for Josephine, the namesake after which the room was named. We have tried to provide comfortable rooms, while maintaining the historical aspect of the building.
Extra towels would have been provided had the request been made. The “giant basket” is a hat box used in the early 1900’s when ladies would purchase a hat. Liquid hand soap is provided for the sink and bar soap for the tub/shower. The shopping search is on for replacement of that shower curtain. We are considering removing the personal pictures on the mantel that may distract from the ambiance of the room.
Finally, our breakfast comes out of the kitchen at a set time discussed at check in time. This miscommunication has pointed out to us that we need to make it more clear with the check in process. We always serve one hot entrée, a fresh fruit cup & homemade bread/pastry, as well as juice, coffee and/or tea. We will take credit for serving the grits casserole on a slice of ham, but not the scrambled egg with mushrooms wrapped in bacon. That menu must have been another Inn the night before?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This beautifully maintained historic BnB is well run with informative, cordial owners. Very good breakfast, especially the egg and ham burrito. Excellent location just a block from a riverwalk along the Neuse and Trent rivers.

Room Tip: The Monet is quite large, bathroom fixtures ( shower and sink faucets) could use some work or replac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcquilter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meadowsinn, Owner at Meadows Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Response to “Relaxed and pleasant”
Thank you for your kind review of the Meadows Inn. You have a good eye for appreciating the effort of maintaining a 166 year old building, while somehow providing the modern amenities of today. We are always tweaking and improving and the bathroom fixtures are on a never ending to do list.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Bern hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard New Bern
Courtyard New Bern
#4 of 10 in New Bern
304 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
0.6 mi away
Bridgepointe Hotel and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bern
Hampton Inn New Bern
#1 of 10 in New Bern
608 reviews
2.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites New Bern
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
#6 of 10 in New Bern
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadows Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadows Inn

Property: Meadows Inn
Address: 212 Pollock St, New Bern, NC 28560-4943
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in New Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Meadows Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History of Meadows Inn. Original structure was built in 1847 by John Alexander Meadows and enlarged to it’s three story size in 1900. It began it's history as the premiere Bed & Breakfast in New Bern in 1980. Nestled peacefully in the heart of downtown historic district and walking distance to the Tryon Palace and Garden, excellent restaurants, antique shops, the birthplace of Pepsi, the riverfront convention center and river walk are just a few of the many activities to discover. Plan a trip to New Bern, the second oldest town in the state. The mild weather allows you to enjoy all that New Bern has to offer. You will find something blooming most any time of the year. This faith and family Inn is the perfect base for planning either a quiet, romantic getaway, girlfriend reunion, dinner/theatre, family outing, daytrip to the beach, or simply discover where North Carolina began at the Tryon Palace tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Meadows Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing