We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
SpringHill Suites New Bern
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great Staff”
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Location great, breakfast superb, wi-fi not so great.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    82
    26
    8
    2
See reviews for
154
54
19
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake Beach, Maryland
Level Contributor
104 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Stayed for a business trip, just a couple nights. Hotel is everything you would expect from a hotel of this type. It's relatively new and still in great shape. All the fitness equipment and TVs were in good condition. The room was nicely appointed for extended stay with refrigerator and microwave. Only criticism was the internet connection--exceptionally slow (especially during peak usage times).

Guest service was above expectations. The front desk staff were super friendly and went out of their way to make restaurant recommendations and print info and directions. (well done!)

Would easily recommend staying here, however, would probably look at something down by the water for a little extra charm, if you have a little free time to spend as well.

The breakfast was nice each morning with several complimentary options. Even though I'm a Hyatt guy to the core, SpringHill Suites seems to really out-pace the Hyatt Place with their breakfast. In all fairness though, Hyatt Place has a far superior entertainment setup in the room with the large TV and a media interface. (had to get at least one pro-Hyatt comment it)

Great job by the staff at New Bern SpringHill Suites!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheAviator2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

The staff is "indifferent" to your patronage. I stay many Marriott properties each year, and I would not recommend this property. The physical attributes of the property are fine, but the staff is not helpful. By way of example, the staff did not have a list of nearby restaurants to recommend. When I asked for a recommendation, the desk staff told me to look in the "guest service" book in my room, which only had 1 restaurant. When I reported a maintenance issue there was no inquiry about how the issue affected my night's sleep, or even thanking me for reporting the issue. These are 2 examples of the indifference. I will not return to this property.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K2indy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We stayed at the SpringHill Suites for 4 nights. We were attending a conference at the convention center in downtown New Bern, and it was a very short drive.

Check in was quick (after the attendant stopped chatting with her friend) and the room type and location were exactly as requested. The room was spacious, although it had the dreaded a/c-in-the-window setup. I find that those units are too noisy and the room is either too cold or too warm. These are typical of this type of property, so it was no surprise.

There was a king bed with great lighting for reading, but the covers were rather skimpy. There was a separate (although not divided by a door) sitting area with a sofa, chair and desk. The chair and sofa were pretty hard and uncomfortable. There was free wifi in the room, but it wasn't very fast. There was a small coffee maker, microwave and fridge in the room as well. There is no safe in the room. The bathroom had adequate vanity space, but the shower arrangement was very weird. The shower door opened inward, banging against the shower head (stand up shower only, not a tub). Half of you will get drenched in cold water just trying to turn on the shower!

The included breakfast was fare typical of this type of hotel: lots of bread-y items, yogurt, bananas, apples and some kind of hot meat and eggs.

The housekeeping seemed to be fine. They have glass glasses in the rooms; I'm a bit suspicious of those when you don't see fresh ones on the housekeepers' carts, though.

All in all, it was perfectly acceptable for a hotel in this category.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, MB
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Left a Holiday Inn in Kinston to stay at this hotel! What a pleasant surprise! You cannot even to begin to compare the two! This hotel is spotless! The room was spacious, with two queen beds, a sofa sleeper and desk in the sitting area, as well as a fridge and microwave. The breakfast was amazing, with many choices, and the food was plentiful! The front desk staff were very helpful, pleasant, and kind! If in the area, I would recommend staying at this hotel!

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong in any room in this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sooline2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Great customer service, easiest and quickest check-in ever! Very clean facility. Lots of choices for breakfast. Definitely will stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ewoka13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
105 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

My 9-year-old granddaughter and I stayed here while visiting Tryon Palace, a must-see for all visitors. I was a bit concerned that I thought the property was on the outskirts of New Bern but I drove to the Palace with one turn and less than ten minutes. Our king room with sofa bed was spacious and spotless, the breakfast room was one of the largest I have ever seen in a chain property, and the staff could not have been more pleasant. I was using points to stay there but I would have happily paid. Four varied restaurants are in walking distance so you can park the car and walk if you wish. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smith58z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Bern hotels
2.6 mi away
Courtyard New Bern
Courtyard New Bern
#3 of 10 in New Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bern
Hampton Inn New Bern
#1 of 10 in New Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
BridgePointe Hotel And Marina
3.3 mi away
Comfort Suites New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
#6 of 10 in New Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
1.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites New Bern
Candlewood Suites New Bern
#7 of 10 in New Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites New Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites New Bern

Property: SpringHill Suites New Bern
Address: 300 Hotel Dr, New Bern, NC 28562-5313
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New Bern
#2 Family Hotel in New Bern
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites New Bern 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience our Southern hospitality, where everything old is new again! Travel in style at SpringHill Suites by Marriott in New Bern, NC, the all-suite hotel that seamlessly blends design and functionality offering the modern amenities you need to stay refreshed and focused - all at an affordable price. Spacious suites and vibrant lobbies offer flexible spaces perfect for working, meeting or relaxing in New Bern. Take the stress out of travel and dive into our relaxing pool, work out in our fitness center or take advantage of our free Wi-Fi. Our Market is open 24/7 for snacks and necessities. Enjoy our complimentary new breakfast with fresh choices for a customized start to your day-like eggs with local salsa or Greek yogurt and oatmeal complete with a toppings bar for a variety of options. Discover SpringHill Suites on your next visit to New Bern and leave feeling relaxed and refreshed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites New Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites By Marriott New Bern Hotel New Bern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing