We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Absolutely Return!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SpringHill Suites New Bern
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Would Absolutely Return!”
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We recently spent four nights at the Springhill Suites by Marriott in New Bern, NC. With multiple family members living in New Bern, we've stayed in many different hotels, and while this one wasn't on the water like others we've visited, it had an indoor pool, which appealed to us in the winter. We would absolutely return!

The pros included an attentive staff who really took care of us, knowing we were there to take care of an ill family member who'd been hospitalized. Once she was released, they were very kind to her as she'd head up to our room for a nap.

We were initially assigned a two-queen bed suite with walk-in shower, but when I requested a room with a bath, we were immediately reassigned a new room despite the fact that it was the weekend that the Shriners had a huge convention in town. Our room was quiet, and we enjoyed the microwave, fridge, and view of the geese and ducks on the pond out front.

We're longtime Hilton Honors members, so we usually stay at that chain, but came here for the indoor pool. Our ONLY gripe is that given it was January, the pool was on the chilly side. We never saw anyone else use it. We were still able to swim, however, by standing under the hot shower in the pool area, then diving in. I'd highly recommend that the management heat the pool up by a few degrees, particularly as this is the only hotel in town with a pool.

Parking was free as was the workout room and business center, though the free Internet access in the room (very easy to hook into) was MUCH faster than that in the business center. The breakfast included with the room rate was actually superior to the Hampton chain's breakfast with more options. While there, the hotel instituted a new convection heating system for the hot entrees, which was really great!

The hotel was quiet, and the staff was wonderful. I'd absolutely return, and would only recommend a warmer pool in the winter months. The only other problem we encountered was that our door (room #401) didn't automatically lock when we closed it, so we had to repeatedly check it when we left the room. Before we knew this, we went out for several hours one day, leaving two computers and some jewelry in the room with an unlocked door. I think though, that was an isolated incident, and staff was sent to our room upon our check-out to insure the problem was solved.

We had a great room at a great price with a kind, caring staff. I would (and probably WILL) return despite my longtime affiliation with the Hilton / Hampton chain. While not on the water, you can be there within about a five minute drive, and you can enjoy all this hotel has to offer.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LoveABeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    83
    26
    8
    2
See reviews for
160
54
19
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Hotel is clean and friendly with small indoor pool. Staff is excellent and attentive to requests. Stayed here twice now with a youth soccer team and have been pleased. It's convenient to a number of chain restaurants and fast food. Located minutes to the waterfront for walking/dining.

We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
782 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 455 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We were traveling from Florida to Boston, and we took our time exploring the eastern seaboard. We stay in Marriott hotels and this hotel was very typical for a Spring Hill Suites. The hotel is nice, but the area felt a little uncomfortable. While the front desk woman was helpful, it was really awkward because there was a group there cooking and celebrating, plus the woman’s child and his father were hanging out in the lobby. We weren’t given special treatment for being Platinum Marriott members; we were stuck on a middle floor in the back of the hotel…and the hotel was empty. We were awakened by workers or visitors out by the back door talking and smoking very early in the morning. Breakfast was good and the woman running the kitchen was awesome. The room was average – it appeared that the hotel was fairly new. We were even more disappointed when we left and saw how beautiful New Bern was further down the road on the water.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surfinginflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

My wife & I stayed here while visiting family in New Bern. The room was very clean and comfortable. The staff was exceptionally friendly. They serve a breakfast that is very good. This hotel is located close to shopping centers and the downtown attractions are a short drive. This is a great place to stay in New Bern.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabfourfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
320 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We stayed at the Springhill Suites because we prefer Marriott properties, and this is the only one in New Bern. Also, it has some of the higher reviews of hotels in the area. We found the hotel to be clean and as expected for a Springhill Suites hotel.

The hotel room was comfortable, with the exception of the bed pillows. My Marriott profile requests extra pillows and towels, but neither were left in the room for arrival. The pillows that were on the bed were not great quality and even using two per person - they were flat and offered no support.

The lobby and breakfast areas were impressive - very clean and contemporary - they looked very new. Hotel staff was always friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StevenVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deltona, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Recently I stayed at Springhill Suites Marriott, in New Bern NC.
Let me start by saying the staff working for Marriott at this site is fantastic, the staff treated my family as if we were their own family. From Kimberly Clark of sales to the front desk of Jamal and Latonya, it was a pleasure staying at the Springhill Suites, I frequently stay at hotel up and down the east coast and the staff here was really like visiting my own family. I would definitely stay here again when I visit New Bern. I love the room size and Design, but the staff is the heart of why I would stay again.

Room Tip: For couples there are room with heart shaped tubs in them or for Family’s with kids ask for adjoinin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

This was our second stay here, and the experience was NOT as good the second time around. The shower in our room was poorly designed, and shipped a lot of water onto the floor. When we called to report this, we were given extra bath mats. The light by the bed was out, and we had to call to get someone to get it turned on. The housekeeping was substandard - the toilet was not scrubbed (not too get too graphic, but it was obvious); our tissue box was not refilled; our amenities were not replaced and we had to call to get more. The towels are also very thin. We asked for a quiet room, but although they were not at all busy, they put us on the side facing the highway! And there was a spotlight that shone directly into our room, although the blackout curtains helped.

The staff were all very pleasant, but our overall impression is that it is just too much work to stay here, so although we will be frequent visitors to New Bern, we will choose another hotel the next time.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the side away from the Interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SingaporeLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Bern hotels
2.6 mi away
Courtyard New Bern
Courtyard New Bern
#3 of 10 in New Bern
301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bern
Hampton Inn New Bern
#1 of 10 in New Bern
591 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bridgepointe Hotel and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
3.3 mi away
Comfort Suites New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
#6 of 10 in New Bern
213 reviews
1.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites New Bern
Candlewood Suites New Bern
#7 of 10 in New Bern
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites New Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites New Bern

Property: SpringHill Suites New Bern
Address: 300 Hotel Dr, New Bern, NC 28562-5313
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New Bern
#2 Family Hotel in New Bern
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites New Bern 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience our Southern hospitality, where everything old is new again! Travel in style at SpringHill Suites by Marriott in New Bern, NC, the all-suite hotel that seamlessly blends design and functionality offering the modern amenities you need to stay refreshed and focused - all at an affordable price. Spacious suites and vibrant lobbies offer flexible spaces perfect for working, meeting or relaxing in New Bern. Take the stress out of travel and dive into our relaxing pool, work out in our fitness center or take advantage of our free Wi-Fi. Our Market is open 24/7 for snacks and necessities. Enjoy our complimentary new breakfast with fresh choices for a customized start to your day-like eggs with local salsa or Greek yogurt and oatmeal complete with a toppings bar for a variety of options. Discover SpringHill Suites on your next visit to New Bern and leave feeling relaxed and refreshed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your SpringHill Suites New Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites By Marriott New Bern Hotel New Bern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing