We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best SpringHill Suite we've ever stayed at.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SpringHill Suites New Bern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
SpringHill Suites New Bern
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
Certificate of Excellence
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
318 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“The best SpringHill Suite we've ever stayed at.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

I have not stayed in a more CLEAN hotel ever. Just super !! All the staff were attentive and very courteous. Charlee at the front desk is a sweetheart.

The "eggs" in the morning could use some seasoning or something that would make them taste like eggs.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guhor1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    80
    26
    8
    2
See reviews for
151
53
19
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

This is the average Marriott Springhill Suites hotel; Perdictable with no suprises; Average lobby, average free breakfast food; It is tucked in behind several restuarants just off Hwy 17 next to a Hampton Inn.
Friendly staff;
The room was average; Bedding was OK however, their "fitted" sheet wouldn't stay in position and I woke up twice kind of wrapped up in the bottom sheet; I would suggest you ask for a room on the back of the building which is adjacent to a residential community not the front of the building which faces Hwy 17 as the road noise can be heard fairly easily.
Bath was Ok; Had a very large shower with heavy glass door - easy step over to enter. Towels were thick and fresh smelling.
The sitting area furniture tends to be low and a little soft -- you sink down in the corner chair. For some reason Marriott can't buy desk chairs which adjust high enough to allow for comfortable work levels at the desk -- I've stayed at all of their brands for years and this is a big gripe for me. To be advertised as build for business this is a glaring mistake.

All and all an OK hotel and an OK location.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the back of the hotel to avoid the highway traffic on the front side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Critic48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

Staff was very welcoming. Rooms clean, pool was great, and the free continental breakfast was excellent. We had a group of 12 that stayed for a few days and we all enjoyed our stay with not a single complaint! We WILL definately visit again!

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Laydeekaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Everything was top rate...the service, the room, the breakfast...you name it we had nothing to complain about. The checkin was excellent and we even got a bigger room because we had to wait a few minutes to get checked in. I would highly recommend a stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastal South Carolina, South Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

I usually stay at one of the competing brands but recently gave the SpringHill a try. This property is nicely designed with very comfortable rooms and amenities. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was good. If this location is indicative of all SpringHill's, I may be switching my allegiance to the Marriott Brand. I'll definitely be staying at this location on my future stops in New Bern.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

We recently spent four nights at the Springhill Suites by Marriott in New Bern, NC. With multiple family members living in New Bern, we've stayed in many different hotels, and while this one wasn't on the water like others we've visited, it had an indoor pool, which appealed to us in the winter. We would absolutely return!

The pros included an attentive staff who really took care of us, knowing we were there to take care of an ill family member who'd been hospitalized. Once she was released, they were very kind to her as she'd head up to our room for a nap.

We were initially assigned a two-queen bed suite with walk-in shower, but when I requested a room with a bath, we were immediately reassigned a new room despite the fact that it was the weekend that the Shriners had a huge convention in town. Our room was quiet, and we enjoyed the microwave, fridge, and view of the geese and ducks on the pond out front.

We're longtime Hilton Honors members, so we usually stay at that chain, but came here for the indoor pool. Our ONLY gripe is that given it was January, the pool was on the chilly side. We never saw anyone else use it. We were still able to swim, however, by standing under the hot shower in the pool area, then diving in. I'd highly recommend that the management heat the pool up by a few degrees, particularly as this is the only hotel in town with a pool.

Parking was free as was the workout room and business center, though the free Internet access in the room (very easy to hook into) was MUCH faster than that in the business center. The breakfast included with the room rate was actually superior to the Hampton chain's breakfast with more options. While there, the hotel instituted a new convection heating system for the hot entrees, which was really great!

The hotel was quiet, and the staff was wonderful. I'd absolutely return, and would only recommend a warmer pool in the winter months. The only other problem we encountered was that our door (room #401) didn't automatically lock when we closed it, so we had to repeatedly check it when we left the room. Before we knew this, we went out for several hours one day, leaving two computers and some jewelry in the room with an unlocked door. I think though, that was an isolated incident, and staff was sent to our room upon our check-out to insure the problem was solved.

We had a great room at a great price with a kind, caring staff. I would (and probably WILL) return despite my longtime affiliation with the Hilton / Hampton chain. While not on the water, you can be there within about a five minute drive, and you can enjoy all this hotel has to offer.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LoveABeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

Hotel is clean and friendly with small indoor pool. Staff is excellent and attentive to requests. Stayed here twice now with a youth soccer team and have been pleased. It's convenient to a number of chain restaurants and fast food. Located minutes to the waterfront for walking/dining.

We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Bern hotels
2.5 mi away
Courtyard New Bern
Courtyard New Bern
#3 of 10 in New Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bern
Hampton Inn New Bern
#1 of 10 in New Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
BridgePointe Hotel And Marina
3.2 mi away
Comfort Suites New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
#6 of 10 in New Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
1.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites New Bern
Candlewood Suites New Bern
#7 of 10 in New Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites New Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites New Bern

Property: SpringHill Suites New Bern
Address: 300 Hotel Dr, New Bern, NC 28562-5313
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New Bern
#2 Family Hotel in New Bern
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites New Bern 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience our Southern hospitality, where everything old is new again! Travel in style at SpringHill Suites by Marriott in New Bern, NC, the all-suite hotel that seamlessly blends design and functionality offering the modern amenities you need to stay refreshed and focused - all at an affordable price. Spacious suites and vibrant lobbies offer flexible spaces perfect for working, meeting or relaxing in New Bern. Take the stress out of travel and dive into our relaxing pool, work out in our fitness center or take advantage of our free Wi-Fi. Our Market is open 24/7 for snacks and necessities. Enjoy our complimentary new breakfast with fresh choices for a customized start to your day-like eggs with local salsa or Greek yogurt and oatmeal complete with a toppings bar for a variety of options. Discover SpringHill Suites on your next visit to New Bern and leave feeling relaxed and refreshed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites New Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites By Marriott New Bern Hotel New Bern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing