We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place for locals and guests alike;”
Review of 247 Craven

247 Craven
Reserve with OpenTable
247 Craven is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 170 Restaurants in New Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$25
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Pollock
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Excellent place for locals and guests alike;”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Terrific food in a freindly atmosphere.. fun bar.... southern specialties were a hit. located right in the middle of town.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank bmwbillk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    83
    33
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, VA
Level 5 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great dinner in New Bern”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Ate here July 4th weekend. Great menu. I had beef, wife had shellfish, friends had the special which was sea bass. Everything was top notch, from the drink selections to the sides (the mac and cheese was fantastic) and the entrees and desserts. And the service was impeccable. I just don't understand the negative reviews here. next time we're in New Bern, we will definitely be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank awc88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bern, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Too much hype for me”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My girlfriend and I recently moved to New Bern, NC and we have been going out a lot to explore the town and finding local eateries and events has been a joy. A week ago (July 2014) we decided to try 247 Craven for brunch because we had heard they had a good one. So we decided to go since it was right next to Morgan's Tavern which is our favorite. Once we stepped inside, everything went downhill.

The front of house area is TINY and very crammed. Although 3 servers were working an average of 3-5 tables each, we waited at the door (no host) for a solid 5 minutes before one of the overworked servers was able to get to us. Once we sat down, the clustered layout did not allow for any type of conversation or romantic feel and if you don't know your order immediately, good luck doing meal this in a reasonable amount of time. The server took around another 5 minutes just to get two waters to the table but it was fine since we wanted to look over the menu closely.

The menu had basic brunch items and a couple off the wall things that were a little too out there for me but no points were taken off by me for that creative freedom. The problem was that they were out of so many items the already small menu was cut down to just a couple of items.

I wish the negative could end there but it doesn't. The meal took more than 30 minutes to get to our table and it was basic breakfast items like grits, toast, eggs and bacon. I couldn't tell you if something was wrong in the kitchen to cause this timing issue but the food itself came out how I expected it to. The final problem was getting the check, I worked in restaurants for years in high school and college and I understand things can happen, but it shouldn't take more than 10 minutes to get a check. We ended up just guessing what the price was, adding the tip and leaving cash on the table because we had been done for awhile and we were completely over the clustered, loud and unwelcoming space.

I'll give 247 Craven one last shot (at a time other than brunch) but I don't foresee it going better than my first trip.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jberretta7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorktown, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Unbelievable”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Server spilled a meal off the plate onto the table and then proceeded to place the food back on the plate and serve it to us. Really?! Unprofessional to say the least. .

Helpful?
2 Thank YorktownBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Eclectic”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Very interesting menu. Food very good. Service great. Went for lunch. Almost same menu as dinner. They were happy to make some changes to their special to accommodate my wishes.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Gourmey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 247 Craven also viewed

New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to 247 Craven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing