We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Four Lovely Days at the Zig”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New Bern
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Ziegler Hotel Rooms, Suites, Cottages
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Four Lovely Days at the Zig”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Recently, we spent four nights at the Ziegler Hotel Suites in New Bern, NC. We'd heard about the Zig through friends and were particularly glad to see how unique this small hotel was. Having been built in the 1940's, it's still laid out just like what it was . . . an old motor court. Small buildings with just a couple of room each, a courtyard and parking lot, and an office in an old, refurbished house on the premises.

The landscaping was fresh and new, with a tropical, North Carolina feel, The exterior decor was also bright with welcoming red doors, chairs and benches and paved parking lot.

The rooms? Oh my! Each room has its own theme....we stayed in Room 5 with a Frank Sinatra-Rat Pack feel. Lots of black and white photos, movies posters and wood paneling. But, the amenities include everything one wants for an enjoyable stay. Fridge with a freezer, microwave, coffee maker...an HD TV...WiFi...comfortable bed...a couple of chairs and a desk. Everything was clean and fresh.

The Zig is pet-friendly, a real bonus these days. The cost is affordable although the unique, fun quality of the Zig cannot be compared to the standardized, cookie cutter aspects of the other hotels in town. (Nothing wrong with those hotels, it's just that the Ziegler was quite fun.)

Rodger and Ruthie make sure that your stay is fun and comfortable. If you need anything, just ask them...

I highly recommend the Ziegler as a fun addition to any New Bern stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Classicink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    14
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
22
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

While looking for pet-friendly hotels in the New Bern, NC area, I was directed to the Ziegler Hotel Suites and what a find! The motel (which is what it really is as it is a row of rooms, street-level, behind the house), is cozy and small and located right on the main street of town, but just beyond the busy, downtown part. I believe there are only 6 rooms and two 2-bedroom cottages and the small, 1950's feel is tranquil, friendly and well maintained. Our dog was welcome, and the room had good air conditioning (it was deadly hot while there) so we were able to leave the pup while we were out and he was comfortable. Did I mention the room was only $75 a night????? Fridge with freezer, good bedding and pillows, microwave, coffee maker, good shower and nice grounds made for a pleasant 3-night stay. Note: The room was paneled in knotty pine and the bathroom was huge with green tiles--very retro. If you don't like this, you might not want to stop here. We found it charming and pleasant and it was sparkling clean! We are looking at houses in the area and will definitely make the Ziegler our choice for all upcoming visits.

Room Tip: We had room 6, which had a double bed. I don't know what the other rooms look like but if you n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MPJ515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

My wife & I chose the Zig for a trip to New Bern to visit family. I was very pleased with how clean and comfortable our room was. There are other hotels in New Bern that you can spend a lot more for but I doubt if you will find them to be any better. This hotel is in a nice residential area, convenient to all New Bern attractions, and the staff is exceptionally friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabfourfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

This older property is a few miles from New Bern's historic area and although the motel is on a fairly busy thoroughfare, the rooms are set well back and noise is not a problem. We stayed in two rooms and both were quite large, fairly soundproof, very clean and nicely updated with good furniture. The grounds are nicely landscaped and the neighbourhood was good for dog walking. There doesn't seem to be anyplace nearby for breakfast but downtown is just a short drive. The host, Rodger, was most accommodating and very pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chasinchelsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Loop
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We read lots of great reviews for the Ziegler, so decided to give it a shot. We stayed in the "60's" room and spent a lot of time reading the books and checking out the various record albums and newspaper articles from the 60's. Since that was our generation, we really enjoyed the place. The manager was very helpful. My wife likes to walk and the area was ok, but not great in that regard. The location is close to town and the mall area, so there is plenty to do withing a short drive. It is not fancy, but the "old time" motel feel worked for us.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GreatLoopLoopers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

I live in New Bern, NC but I have friends that come & visit from out of town & they always stay at the Ziegler. They bring their 2 dogs plus my friends hubby brings his fishing boat so he can go fishing while he's here. They stayed in the "Elvis room" which had a full kitchen, table, washer/dryer, queen size bed, futon, & a nice shower in bathroom. He was able to park his boat right beside their room. Even tho the parking lot is not huge, he had plenty of room to back the boat up & keep his truck there too! The parking lot & outside of the rooms have good lighting...which I always think about being female. I don't know if the prices vary for different times of the year but they always say the prices are excellent...PLUS they only charge a "pet deposit", unlike some places that charge a fee or non-refundable deposit. My dog always travels w me too, so that's something I always look for but don't always find!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AlexisGarrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

This was by far the nicest place. Very pet friendly. Room decor was great. We stayed in the 60's room. Staff was friendly and helpful. I wish we had spent more time there and will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lisa p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Bern hotels
1.8 mi away
BridgePointe Hotel And Marina
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bern
Hampton Inn New Bern
#1 of 10 in New Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Courtyard New Bern
Courtyard New Bern
#3 of 10 in New Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites New Bern
2.8 mi away
Comfort Suites New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
#6 of 10 in New Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ziegler Hotel Rooms, Suites, Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ziegler Hotel Rooms, Suites, Cottages

Property: The Ziegler Hotel Rooms, Suites, Cottages
Address: 1914 Trent Blvd, Near Downtown New Bern, New Bern, NC 28560-4538
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Boutique-style New Bern NC lodging near downtown historic sites, shopping, restaurants, convention center, and more. Great theme rooms like The Elvis or Marilyn Monroe Suites with full kitchens and washer dryers or Sinatra/1940's or Beatles/1960's rooms with mini fridge and micro. Also 2 BR cottages for longer stays. Free Wifi, HDTV Flat Screens, VERY comfortable beds! Some Pet-Friendly Options. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing