We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean Quiet Comfortable Room with a personnality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ziegler Hotel Rooms, Suites, Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New Bern
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Ziegler Hotel Rooms, Suites, Cottages
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean Quiet Comfortable Room with a personnality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2010

I am glad I stayed here. The staff was great. The rooms were clean and comfortable, in a nice quiet neighborhood close to downtown. The decor was different in all the rooms. The Elvis room, Marilynn Monroe, the 40's 50's 60's and the medievel room. The rates were comparable to staying at a national chain, the difference being the rooms had personnality and very very comfortable

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin48_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    14
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
22
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Great Falls, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

Traveled to New Bern with our 9 month old Golden Retriever. The Marilyn Monroe Suite was perfect for her; she was comfortable with the tile floor. My husband and I were comfortable coming back to relax after a long day of fun and sun. Enjoyed having the kitchen and laundry amenities. Everything nicely renovated. Ruthie and Buddyluv (her dog) were extremely friendly and helpful..... a nice change from the NoVA way of life! Only suggestions are 1)to offer secured internet connectivity; connectivity was not reliable, 2) to set up an outdoor/screened in patio area...... bugs and ants in grass were not friendly at all! 3) Move bed away from wall.... had to disturb my husband to get out of the bed and consider a firmer, less squeaky mattress. Thanks for everything. We'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eliana03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2010

We stayed at the Ziegler Suites in the Marilyn suite when we were in New Bern for the MS150 charity bike ride. This was our first time in New Bern and at the Zig. We really enjoyed both and would stay definitely stay again. The hotel is about 1.5 to 2 miles from downtown which worked out just fine for us. The suite had everything you would need to stay for an extended stay (stove/oven/microwave/washer/dryer/fullsize frig/free Wifi/futon). The only complaint we had was the bed frame was squeaky. One thing that was really nice was that the hotel was able to let us check out late so that we could finish the bike ride without having to check out prior to the ride. Thanks!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris87114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2010

We found The Zig by chance 3 years ago and we have returned every year for the same event since that time. We have been in the same room each year. From the outside the suites look very charming and from the inside the room is filled with lots of interesting 1950s memorabilia. The Zig is located in a quiet neighborhood area and the downtown area of New Bern is easily accessible. Landscape of the property is very nice with some running fountains and statues and is neatly manicured with mulch. Parking never been an issue. We found the room each year to be clean and with all basic amenities such as flat screen tv (we think it was a 37 inch), microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker and hair dryer. Also has free high speed internet. We were happy with the price of the room.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hugram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2010

It was nice to have a lot of psace for my husband's bike & related equipment. Having the full kitchen was a bonus. The Abbott cottage was like an older, wood paneled house. Dated, but clean & did not smell moldy or anything. I wish I had time to see the other suites- the themes seem fun. And I liked having Marilyn greet me as I turned into the complex.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redkimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2010

The service was most excellent. The room was fabulous w/alot of neat 1940's magazines, newspapers, pictures and more. The location was close enough to downtown New Bern for a nice stroll. It was very quiet and relaxing...just lovely. The room felt like being at home and the bed was VERY comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScrapperandScooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

My wife and I both agree, all the places we have stayed while vacationing, this one was the best. It's location from downtown was just right. It was in the quiet part of town, yet centrally located near shopping,restaurants,& local attractions. If everything goes as planned we are going back to NC. in Nov. , we wil not stay anywere else.

Thank you for the most pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Bern hotels
1.8 mi away
BridgePointe Hotel And Marina
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
1.9 mi away
No photo provided
Courtyard New Bern
#3 of 10 in New Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Comfort Suites New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
#6 of 10 in New Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn New Bern
Hampton Inn New Bern
#1 of 10 in New Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites New Bern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ziegler Hotel Rooms, Suites, Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ziegler Hotel Rooms, Suites, Cottages

Property: The Ziegler Hotel Rooms, Suites, Cottages
Address: 1914 Trent Blvd, Near Downtown New Bern, New Bern, NC 28560-4538
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in New Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Boutique-style New Bern NC lodging near downtown historic sites, shopping, restaurants, convention center, and more. Great theme rooms like The Elvis or Marilyn Monroe Suites with full kitchens and washer dryers or Sinatra/1940's or Beatles/1960's rooms with mini fridge and micro. Also 2 BR cottages for longer stays. Free Wifi, HDTV Flat Screens, VERY comfortable beds! Some Pet-Friendly Options. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing