We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good but lacking a little flavor”
Review of Thai Thai

Thai Thai
Ranked #20 of 171 Restaurants in New Bern
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
New Bern, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“good but lacking a little flavor”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The restaurant is very pretty, staff is excellent. I had the special of a seafood platter for $26.00 and although it was a generous helping, it lacked favor. They offer a tray of 4 dipping sauces and that helped. My husband had shrimp pad thai and loved it but was a small helping, Overall we would try it again but would stick with the specialties. It is definitely worth a try. Would make a great date night for anyone looking for quiet and quaint atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grrrlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    20
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Bern, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not the best Thai food”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

After having a great Thai restaurant in Statesville, NC, we were hoping Thai Thai would be similar. It wasn't. We went for the lunch buffet. The setup of the restaurant is a bit odd -- the buffet line is back in the kitchen. The food was okay, not fabulous. Mostly, all the shrine-type things in the restaurant, and all the political stuff hanging around, was a bit off-putting. Not a bad place, but we haven't been back. I didn't find that much in the buffet line that looked great to me.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MK C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bern, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The only restaurant we really like in New Bern”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Thai Thai is a pleasant, quiet, sparkling restaurant that serves very good Thai food at reasonable prices.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Peds007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bern, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Consistantly excellent food and service"”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My friends and I love eating at Thai Thai. We meet there often to enjoy wonderful Thai food in a friendly relaxed atmosphere. The white table cloths and red cloth napkins add a special touch that we enjoy. All the entrees I have had are very good. I especially like the fried shrimp appetizer and occasionally order it as an entrée with steamed vegetables. The owner and the wait staff are always smiling and ready to make your experience a very enjoyable one. This restaurant is one of New Bern's hidden treasures.

Doris Johnson

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Doris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bern, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful food prepared by wonderful folks”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Thai Thai Restaurant has wide variety of excellent food entrees and you will find favorites even if you're new to Thai food. You will also learn what good food service is like where you are treated with the kind of sincere respect you will appreciate. This family owned and operated restaurant is one we go to on a regular basis and have looked forward to our meals there from our first visit there some years back. They also have a great lunch buffet.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Thai also viewed

New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
New Bern, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Thai Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing